Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Book House Cleaning westworld westworld westworld  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on March 30, 2014
I think the series is a great idea, it demonstrates where so much of today's SF books and movies owe their roots. I did find the section on Issac Asimov only gives him credit for the three laws of Robotics. Never mentions the Foundation Series or other books he authored Fiction or Science Fiction to me this is the glaring flaw in the series and insult to the man and his fans.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2012
What the heck! No mention of Foundation or that whole series in the video on Asimov. The video on Asimov concentrated on robotics and just barely touched on his social ideas.
The videos are an okay into to science fiction writers. If you are a big fan of the master's you may be disappointed. I also wonder why George Lucas was included instead of some of the more important writers like Ellison or Leiber.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2014
This short documentary, only 37 minutes long, wastes valuable minutes with at least four digressive segments about new robots R&D, instead of concentrating on its subject matter, which was supposed to be Isaac Asimov, his life and his books. The film seems only interested in robots and in Asimov's robot novels and stories, which is a very narrow approach and a serious limitation. His most famous series of books, the Foundation series, is not even mentioned. There is no analysis of most of his novels and short stories, except the ones directly dealing with robots. There is only a brief reference in passing to the many non-fiction books that Asimov wrote.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2012
All the episodes of this series I have seen so far have been an very good overview of each author from multiple perspectives. Published works, personality, philosophy, and their major predictions with real world comparisons. Recommended for both dedicated Sci-Fi fans, and new arrivals to the genre.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2014
I first stumbled across this series online. As a college English teacher, I find the series fascinating! I especially love the way it connects to science and technology today. I was thrilled to have the chance to purchase the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2012
I thought the profile was pretty superficial, and didn't tell me all that much about Heinlein's vision. Again and again, the narrative would choose a book by Heinlein, introduce it, and then veer off into a digression about some relevant technological area, such as cryogenics. This is the old-fashioned idea of science fiction as being oh-so-prophetic in a literal sense. "He predicted the waterbed!" All of this misses so much of the point of his work as a writer of SPECULATIVE fiction.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2015
Okay I'm biased because I'm in the series, but this was a fun smart show that does a great job introducing classic sci-fi writers to educate an audience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2017
Utterly phenomenal. There is so much that we wouldn't have now if not for the brilliant minds that contributed to science fiction!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2015
Pretty superficial and repetitive. This would be of interest only to someone who was not familiar with Philip K. Dick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2015
finally someone who loves traditional science fiction and the classics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse