Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals HPC Enlightenment Now Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon counterpart counterpart counterpart  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
Pick Yourself Up
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$21.80+ $4.54 shipping

on November 20, 2014
The lady is tops
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 27, 2015
anita o'day is always good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 25, 2016
Outstanding
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 12, 2011
SHE WAS A TRUE ORIGINAL. AND I ALSO READ HER AUTO BIO. AND THERE WERE A LOT OF INTERESTING FACTS IN HER BOOK AS WELL.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
This album contains the twelve original tracks from the 1956 release, plus an additional nine bonus tracks that are alternate versions from the session.

What I love is the song selection, which includes swing standards like Benny Goodman's Don't Be That Way and Chick Webb's Stomping at the Savoy. In fact, every one of the original tracks on this album is a gem, as are the bonus tracks. Give the track samples a listen and I am betting that the majority - if not all - of them will bring a smile.

Another thing I love about this album is the line-up backing Anita. Buddy Bregman's band, plus Harry 'Sweets' Edison on trumpet, Paul Smith on piano, Joe Mondragon on bass, the very underrated, but much in demand during this period drummer, Alvin Stoller is a treat for me since I am a drummer. Also, Larry Bunker is on vibraphone and Barney Kessel - a charter member of the Oscar Peterson Trio - is on guitar.

That I am an Anita O'Day fan is an understatement. She ranks up there in my personal pantheon of vocalists alongside Billie, Sarah and Ella. For those who want to greatly expand their Anita O'Day album collection, I recommend that you look at 8 Classic Albums before making a final purchase decision. The pros include seven of her other albums from the Verve years, (all are 'A' list in my opinion), and a price that cannot be beat. The con is this album in that set only contains the original twelve tracks (tracks 1-12 in the tracklist above.) Either way you cannot lose.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 8, 2000
This is my all time favorite Anita O'day Album. Anita O'day is five steps beyond amazing. Her vocal style can't be beat. Every song she sings gets the special O'day treatment and is forever more her own. The track listing of this album is just chocked full of winners! My favorite is Anita's rendition of 'Stars Fell On Alabama'. Its beautiful and moving. You can just feel the magic of the moment she is describing. Other super hits include the slinky 'Sweet Georgia Brown', the peppy 'Pick Yourself Up' and the bittersweet 'There's A Lull In My Life'. Also, this Cd gives you alternative takes on songs and the rockin bonus tracks 'Getaway and The Chase' and the classic 'Rock and Roll Waltz'. This is one of the records I play when I want to get into a good mood. It always makes me smile. Bottom line, Its a FANTASTIC album at a SUPER price. Don't miss it!
11 comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon September 9, 2002
I have a cat who runs out to greet me every night, then insists on walking me around the block (more than one neighbor has done a double take at discovering Emmy is not a dog). At bedtime she waits til the light's out, then shoos my other two cats out of the bed before depositing herself opposite my face, exactly an arm's length away. If I try to lessen the space, her paw is immediately on my nose, maintaining the crucial distance that marks her difference from her human counterparts.
For anyone who's allergic to cats, Anita O'Day has to be the closest surrogate--more companionable than Andrew Lloyd Weber's version, yet more detached than Peggy Lee's (thinking of her dubbed voice on "Lady and the Tramp"). In fact, like Peggy Lee--not to mention Dinah Shore, Doris Day, Rosemary Clooney, Ella, Sarah--Anita is very much a product of the swing era and the big bands, perhaps epitomizing its hot sounds more effectively than any other female singer, most notably on her recorded duet with Roy Eldridge, "Let Me Off Up town."
But the difference between this survivor and her peers is the unmistakable ethos of "cool" that insures you and Anita will always remain strangers to each other. She purrs "Stars Fall on Alabama" and embraces you with buttery vibrations on "Young Man a Horn," yet she remains as autonomous and inscrutable as the "Sweet Georgia Brown" who appears no less dangerous than Circe or Medusa in Anita's singular portrayal of her (she does so visually in the remarkable film documentary, "Jazz on a Summer's Day"). And when Anita sings "I Won't Dance," you'd better believe it--don't ask her!
If vulnerability, innocense, and charisma are not high on your list of criteria for jazz singers, this recording belongs in the pantheon of great recorded examples of the Great American Songbook. One caveat: Anita's singing may "too much" in the most positive sense, but the "muchness" of this remastered collection seems counterproductive, as at least 5 of the 9 bonus tracks merely serve to detract from the focused excellence of Anita's singing on the main program. The producers should have known what cat lovers have long since discovered: the strongest relationships are not based on the expectation of reciprocated generosity.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 9, 2009
Very good mid-1950s album from fantastic Anita O'Day who had singing along Gene Krupa and Stan Kenton in previous decade but after she left her big band canary years behind,she turned out some really great solo albums for "Verve".
Music - Benny Goodman,Irving Berlin for example - melted out of the shape when O'Day approaches it and she plays with it like snake charmer,her take on "Sweet Georgia Brown" is truly must-hear,its actually variations on what she would perform on Newport Jazz festival later.
She starts slowly,with drumms only than swings it and finally almost turns it into rock'n'roll,this is masterpiece of the album.
O'Day has very particular coulour of voice - its not girlish or specially feminine,its best described as whiskey-soaked and you can tell she was a colourful character and had her own will & way with things. God knows she probably paid for it,but I like her anyway and always respect eccentric outsiders.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 1, 2000
Anita O'Day is one of the greatest jazz singers to emerge from the 40's, and was and is the best bebop singer from the 50's till present. This re-issue of the lp PICK YOUSELF UP WITH ANITA is one of her best lp's and is highly reccomended as are all of her verves. HIGHLY RECOMENDED.
Also see Anita O'DAy live next time you're in Los Angeles, she often performs at the Atlas, the Chaya Brassarie, and The Grape Vine.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 9, 2001
It's a solid gas (if you can imagine such a state) to bump into this album again! I owned it on vinyl when it came out around 1960, and lost it to a jazz drummer on Mountain Drive in Santa Barbara. He also copped my girl friend, but that's another story. I almost played the grooves off that platter while I had it, and can pretty much remember the whole thing still. Very glad to find it again, and to recommend it to you.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Anita Sings The Most
$10.42

Need customer service? Click here