Industrial Deals HPC Amazon First Reads Casual Friday Style nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Only: $44.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon marchmadness marchmadness marchmadness  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment. Kindle Oasis GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno

on October 6, 2008
Very well written information on origins of Dianetics & Scientology.
Jon Atack was one of CofS most central people who started to write an biography about Ron but became more and more disillusioned with the lies. A must read about the true history of Hubbard. In the last couple of years the vast majority of Scientologist have quit the 'Church' and are writing books about their experience.

Available as a PDF on the internet.

Blown for Good: Behind the Iron Curtain of Scientology
My Billion Year Contract: Memoir of a Former Scientologist
Scientology - Abuse At the Top
Counterfeit Dreams: One Man's Journey Into and Out of the World of Scientology
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 12, 2017
I got this book yesterday and am having trouble putting it down. Very well written and informative. This book shows how the historical facts of LR Hubbard's life as portrayed by the church of Scientology is so different from his actual past history in the Navy etc.....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 7, 2009
Author Jon Attack had citied the classic, The Scandal of Scientology, as one reason he had to write this 398-page opus of a book. A Piece of Blue Sky was published in 1990, but despite its age, it is a very revealing, albeit exhaustively jumbled, handbook on the inner workings of Scientology.

Mr. Atack had acquired quite an archive of information at his disposal to present this information to the public. Atack himself had been in Scientology when he was 19 years old. The book starts with him and his beginnings through Scientology, up until his drifting away from the cult in 1984.

He continues by giving you a history of - and a very meticulous one at that - L. Ron Hubbard's beginnings, including the start of Dianetics. We journey along to Hubbard's beginning from birth and childhood, which is very difficult to follow as it becomes clear that Hubbard was a pathological liar. Where his "imagination" begins and the truth ends is truly pondering to follow. We continue to get taken through Scientology itself, and what kind of movement it was and still is.

We can take a gander that Hubbard was not all he had portrayed himself to be. As a science-fiction pulp writer, he was clearly imaginative. He was also very savvy and appeared to create Scientology to make money and to be worshiped.

There is so much information in this book that I needed to take breaks in between. My only complaint would be that it was difficult to follow on occasion as it was sometimes jumbled, but for the most part it was a very informative read. Many of these things have been written in earlier books, but its cohesiveness makes it a needed handbook to guide you through the maze of Scientology.

It is necessary to mention that Scientology had also tried to stop this book from being published. They tried to argue that the book could not be published as it would discourage people from buying the original texts and that it was subject to copyright violation. Scientology did not win this fight however, and it was published with full quotations and all. had de-listed this book for a bit in 1999, but due to public outcry, had then reversed the decision. I ask you, why, if Scientology is such a pure religion, do they try to ban anything that is written about them? What do they have to hide? Reading books such as this makes it very apparent why.

© Diane Trautweiler. 9/7/2009.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 15, 2011
Very well-researched. A vast majority of what he said I knew from other sources. In other words, his information is independently verifiable and backed up by others, including FOIA-released FBI files. It is stunning that an obvious criminal enterprise has been allowed to flourish in our country. Many other countries have declared it an organized crime syndicate. Appropriately.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 29, 2009
This is a great book, but the early portion reads very much like a textbook. Lots of background on scientology, including terms and definitions. The latter portions are more story-like, though more like several short stories strung together than a novel. I found the book fascinating and very informative (and ultimately frightening). Great read for anyone interested in scientology or L. Ron Hubbard. VERY well notated with lots of other resources for research.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 27, 2017
Another classic book by Jon Atack on Scientology who is an expert in research in this subject. Easy to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 11, 1999
Very compelling piece of literature.
Other good places to look for info on the criminal syndicate called the "Church" (for tax purposes) of $cientology:
(by the way, the Co$ has tried to sue some of these sites out of existence; unlike their success with the Cult Awareness Network, these worthies still stand!)
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 13, 2016
I have read at least a dozen books that look at Scientology. In the last couple of years they have been coming fast and each one is furious. This is the best researched one. I recommend it ahead of all the other commentaries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 7, 2017
Good book! Very informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 22, 2015
Fascinating insight into the mind of LRH and the legacy of damage and cruelty he created. A must read for those interested in the history of the "church."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse