Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Enlightenment Now Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc August Greene All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18_gno

Piece Of Mind [Enhanced]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on May 28, 2004
This album I feel is the second step in creating a perfect Maiden album. They finally have the line-up and the song craftwork is coming. This album would be up there but I feel POWERSLAVE is just too good.
1. WHERE EAGLES DARE
Great opening! Not as fast as I'd expect, it seems Maiden is trying to mainstream it up a little. 5/5.
2. REVELATIONS (5/5)
3. FLIGHT OF ICARUS
Catchy, well-written both lyrically and instrumentally. 5/5
4. DIE WITH YOUR BOOTS ON
Iron Maiden gets carried on with their choruses and this song is no exception, but it is not a bad song once a chance is given. 5/5
5. THE TROOPER
Classic guitar riff. Ohhh I get so pumped up listening to this song. One of the best Maiden songs ever! 5/5
6. STILL LIFE
Very different but very good. A little less technically and a little more poppy on this one. 5/5
7. QUEST FOR FIRE (2/5)
Skip.
8. SUN AND STEEL
Ehhh... Can ayone say B-Side Filler? (3/5)
9. TO TAME A LAND
Great finishing track, a lot of people are down on this one but c'mon take a listen! 5/5
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 19, 2010
Everything that Maiden did between "Number" and "Somewhere" was amazing! "Where Eagles Dare", "Revelations", "The Trooper", and "Still Life" are phenomenal. "Sun and Steel" is a fantastic song that was highly underrated, while "Die with your Boots on" is probably one of the more overrated. There is one absolute dud on this album and that's "Quest for Fire", but the strength of the rest of the album makes up for it. The tandem of Adrian Smith and Dave Murray equate to excellent music, and Nicko comes out with guns blazing in his first album, and great work as always by Bruce and Steve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 8, 1999
It took awhile for me to get into Piece of Mind: I have to listen to albums at least 6 times through before I can "break them in" and start to enjoy them. Piece of Mind took awhile, but I now see why a lot of people cite this as Maiden's best. Strong songs, all of them. "Where Eagles Dare","Revelations","Flight of Icarus", etc. For some disturbing reason I even like "Quest for Fire", though the cheese-meter is going off the scale on that one. And the songs sound fantastic live, a major plus. I didn't give it five stars because other maiden albums grab me more with more powerful song-writing, such as Number of the Beast and Powerslave, but Piece of Mind does metal, and does metal very well, thank you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 7, 1999
As a big Iron Maiden fan, I would have to say that this is my all time favorite album of theirs. This album, like the Seventh Son of a Seventh Son album is so unified and it fits perfectly together. This to me is the highest level of talent I have ever seen by them. The drumming on this album by Nicko McBrain on Where Eagles Dare is phenomenal. He really knows his stuff, and this was his 1st album with them! Other great well thought out songs would be Revelations, Flight of Icarus-one of my all time favorite Maiden songs, and Quest For Fire. I must say they really put their minds together for Piece of Mind, which is their #1 album hands down. Out of this World!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 7, 2001
Following the success of "The Number Of The Beast", Iron Maiden hired Nicko McBrain as their new drummer and their classic line-up was formed. With songs like "The Trooper", "Flight Of Icarus", "Where Eagles Dare", and "Revelations" this is a Maiden classic. "Revelations" starts with nice guitar but transforms into a great riff. "Flight Of Icarus" is a fabulous epic that could not be improved. "Where Eagles Dare" is also a favorite that has a great opening percussion. "The Trooper" is the best song and is a classic. "The Trooper" is about going to war. In conclusion, this is a great Maiden album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 9, 2008
by all means ignore the clown who said "Kid Rock, Milli Vanilli, and Madonna have more talent than these losers". Wasn't Milli those guys that were caught lip synching? Hmmm...now there's a 'talent'. And Madonna? Please...that's girly music. Oh yeah, I think she needs one more dancer too!
Maiden is one of the all time great metal bands and this CD is a highlight.
Music for men...by men!! Just listen to the classic metal riffage going on in Where Eagles Dare. This CD belongs in any serious metal collection.
Anybody familiar with Maiden knows they have come up with some of metal's most classic riffs. Up The Irons baby!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 1, 2003
"Piece Of Mind" is a wonderful Maiden album filled with good music! Such songs as "The Trooper", "Flight Of Icarus", and "Die With Your Boots On" are well-known and classics. But such gems as "Where Eagles Dare" and "Quest For Fire" are lesser known yet still as awesome. Bruce Dickinson sounds really great here, especially on "Revelations" where he just wails. This album was the start of the classic line-up, which would follow for many years. Adrian Smith's solo on "Flight Of Icarus" is just awesome. The reason it didn't get 5 stars is because it gets a little slow later in the album. This album is very good and is very recommended. It's heavy metal essential and a rock classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 19, 2000
It's difficult to pick a BEST Iron Maiden album, as each studio album from "Number of the Beast" to "Seventh Son..." has some special merit. However, I feel that this album (the first with the DEFINITIVE line up offers the most of what makes IM great. Sing-a-longs like "The Trooper" and "Die With Your Boots On" as well as epics "Revelations" and "To Tame a Land" offers a listener the range of Maidens abilities. The production may not be as sharp as "Powerslave" and "Number of the Beast" may have more notable tunes but for my money this is what Maiden is all about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 1, 2008
A great offering from Iron Maiden, Piece of Mind has great instrumental work, strong melodies and harmonies, solid songwriting, and, for the most part, just kicks some serious a$$. These are some classic metal tunes!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 25, 2003
Piece of Mind is one of the best metal recordings ever released. Intricate songwriting, superb musicianship, and intelligent lyrics combine to result in a timeless album that I still enjoy listening to twenty years after I first purchased it so long ago on cassette tape.
'Revelations' is the best vocal performance of Bruce's career and shows the full range of his abilities in one song.
You can practically hear Icarus flying through the air to "touch the sun" during Dave Murray's guitar solo on the 'Flight of Icarus'.
You almost feel as if you are horseback riding into battle with the galloping rhythm of 'The Trooper'.
If you lke metal, your collection is not complete without Piece of Mind.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse