Shop Auto Winter Products Beauty Get $5 off book purchases over $20* Use promo code GIFTBOOK17 Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New album by Tim and Faith STEM $24.99 for a limited time only Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo Show Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Just Dance 2018 Shop Now HTL17_gno



on January 8, 2014
This was a very lovely Regency Romance. The principles are already married but they hardly know each other and several key misunderstandings stand in the way of their HEA. The Hero has a half-sister who is a bold little piece who delights in causing trouble and somewhat shocking the ton. She is in love with a young man of worthy manner, but very little breeding and no fortune. An odd couple to be sure. There are two main side characters who were excellent, especially Felix. While this is a Big Misunderstanding plot, Heyer carries it off with a deft hand. The reasons for the principles not to confide in each other are understandable and fit in with what we see of their personalities. Things are more complicated by their siblings who in different ways are a complete trial to the married couple. This is a story of what comes after the HEA. When two people put too much faith in their own feelings and fail to talk to their beloved about them, doubts are easy to fall prey to. In this case, the heroine is convinced by her mother that her love match is merely a marriage of convenience. This causes her to hide her true feelings behind a distant civility. Her husband then falls prey to all the warnings that he received prior to the marriage that his bride was a lovely, but empty-headed fortune Hunter. The Hero was too proud to discuss these emotions and the heroine too afraid of giving her husband a complete disgust of her to tell him of her own. A very realistic take on marriage and a very excellent book. Very very highly recommended for all Regency Romance lovers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2014
A spectacularly superb novel! This book was such fun, but the ending was extremely sudden. If I remember correctly, this was Heyer' s final work before her death and some fans have speculated that it was not quite finished. If that is true, it is unfortunate, for while it did settle the hero and heroine satisfactorily, it left Maria and Lucilla somewhat hanging. Oliver was a fantastic hero! I loved him excessively. His wit, his humor, his rudeness! But most endearingly, his immediate and unshakeable feelings for Annis. I do like some tension in my romances, but it was refreshing for the heroine to be the one waffling about the match and to have the hero in firm understanding of his feelings. This was a warmer romance for Heyer. Not to say that it was risque, because it was not, the book was squeaky clean, but the hero is much more vocal in his sentiments regarding our heroine than many of Heyer' s others. It gave the book a much more romantic feel. It was wonderful! I found the younger set to be a great deal of fun and I feel like Heyer was setting up a sequel for Lucille, but sadly it cannot be. It is fun to wonder if Ninian would have won out in the end or not. Some readers have disliked this book for the mature heroine and the somewhat staidness of the story. I can sympathize with folks who first read Heyer' s Alistair trilogy. That epic tale is so utterly fantastic that it nearly casts into the shade her other works. I would suggest those folks read Cotillion and then reread Lady of Quality. The Alistair trilogy is awesome, but this is not the same type of book and needs to be taken in context. It is not meant to be high adventure, just a lovely romance and it certainly is that. The wit is there, but perhaps not the sarcasm that many people have come to expect. It is lively, but restful. I strongly recommend it. Very very highly recommended for all Regency Romance lovers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2013
Georgette Heyer was a master of Regency Period novels. In Pistols for Two, she has assembled a collection of short stories- all delightful. There is no time for character development, however, each character is intriguing in his or her own way despite the fact that each story has only room to describe a short period of time in these character's lives, usually only a day in the life of the h/H. As always, her stories are worthwhile reading.

Heyer was late with the delivery of her novel, A Civil Contract, to her publisher due to family issues, and while continuing to work on A Civil Contract, had these short stories published in its stead. Thank goodness for that! A Civil Contract remains the only Heyer novel in which I felt compelled to skip entire pages (or entire chapters) in order to just get to the end (hopefully, I will go back and read it one day in its entirely). While I found A Civil Contract rather depressing and just overly long, I felt just the opposite about Pistols for Two. These stories are perfect if you just want a quick read before going to bed. Nothing profound, or upsetting here- just short and sweet stories to enjoy before turning off the light.

I recommend all of Heyer's works- even A Civil Contract. All of her novels and short stories are classics IMO. Her research and talent sets her apart from other writers. A true master.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2016
I've read almost all of Heyer's books and this one was in many ways the consummate Heyer. Regency time frame, loaded with the manners and mores of the period, an unlikely romance with nice tension, and a heroine who is as lovely as she is spirited. I like the Heyer novels in which the leading lady truly leads, and this is one of them. I just can't say enough positive things about this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon August 13, 2014
When Miss Lucilla Carleton runs away from home, she is befriended by the lovely, independent Annis Wychwood who has her own home and enough of life's experience to stand up to Lucilla's tyrannical guardian, Mr. Oliver Carleton.

For Carleton's part, he has never, absolutely never run into anyone like Miss Wychwood. Although continuing his rudesby ways, he is soon in over his head and wants more from Annis than her assistance with his ward. Having never been one to have a serious relationship with any lady and in fact has quite a reputation as a rake, he soon makes plans to have Miss Wychwood as his own. He may be able to promise faithfulness but he knows better than to promise that he will be able to govern his sharp manners. Very enjoyable storyline.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a shorter read than many of Heyer's other books. But it contains all of the classic details that Heyer loves to put in a story.

The gist of the story is that a Miss Wychwood befriends a young girl, Lucilla, who is running away from home. Lucilla has lost both of her parents and has been living with relatives. Bottom line, the relatives have protected her from society and refuse to let her "come out". They are trying to arrange her marriage and she is fleeing from that.

Miss Wychwood turns out to be a very strong willed young woman who is independent, secure in who she is and unafraid of what others think of her. At the age of nine and twenty she is becoming "old". She has turned down many offers of marriage because she has yet to be "in love" with any of those men.

The story is somewhat predictable, Miss Wychwood meets a man who is rude, strong willed, controlling and a womanizer. But still she falls in love. The question is, will he fall in love with her. The suspense comes from the twists and turns that fate brings their way. The man, Mr. Carleton, is Lucilla's uncle. He is also her guardian. So, he is frustrated that Miss Wychwood has taken Lucilla into her care.

Heyer does a great job of weaving many characters together in a way that makes you either love them or hate them. You find yourself cheering for the underdog and desiring the best for people whom life seems to have dealt a hard blow. Finally, the cast of characters is so well developed that you even learn to like the servants who show that they are not just backdrop, but vital to the story line.

I highly recommend this book to all Regency fans. BUT, I must say that Regency Buck by Georgette Heyer is still my favorite.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2017
This is one of those books that is worth taking the time to read. It is about history and complex issues of the people in their contexts. These topics are always enjoyable when properly handled. A great writer with love for his topic can capture elegantly the difficult nuances with grace and ease. This is one of those books.

Whether you are a history buff, a spiritual scholar or merely curious to know more about the 20th century great minds, you will enjoy this book. If you are a writer who needs to read good stuff to know the art of writing elegant and sensitive non-fiction, this is a book for you.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2013
I'm in the habit of thinking that the earlier a book was written, the better it will be--because this is the case in most writers who publish once or twice a year. Naturally, they spend more time exploring and being inventive when they are first refining the formula of their novels. This means that the later novels will be more predictable. Lady of Quality was written in 1972 by an author who had been working the form since 1924, but it is excellent. As always, the characters correspond to standard definitions--Flight Young Miss, Hysterical Middle-Aged Spinster, etc.--but are made individuals by Heyer's imagination and artistry. As always, the hero and heroine find each other at last--but, as predictable as this is, the reader always wonders how this particulr pair will overcome these particular difficulties. Well worth reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. There is a good amount of interaction between hero and heroin and a lot of comical points in this book. The book is about an "older" (29) woman who sees a couple stranded on the side of the road and decides to help them. As it turns out there is more to their story and the 29 year old woman tries to guide them into growing up. Weather this was appropriate or not gets asked by many people including the younger girls guardian. Here we meet our hero to our heroin, with much banter and parts that make you laugh out loud.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2017
While her writing continues to be nearly flawless in this book, her character development and plot are less interesting and more repetitive than the other books of hers I have read. Rather than focus on Nell, the protagonist, much is taken up with secondary characters and avoids developing the central relationship of Nell and Giles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse