List Price: $24.95 Details
Save: $12.96 (52%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime & FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
How to return the item?
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items shipped by Amazon.
Or get faster shipping on this item starting at $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Friday, Aug 6 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Fastest delivery: Wednesday, Aug 4
Order within 1 hr and 16 mins
Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
$$11.99 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$11.99
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon.com
Sold by Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: This item is returnable
In most cases, items shipped from Amazon.com may be returned for a full refund.
Pizza Girl: A Novel has been added to your Cart
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items shipped by Amazon.
Or get faster shipping on this item starting at $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Monday, Aug 9 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Minimaalist
Condition: Used: Good
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$7.39
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: bestcdhead
Sold by: bestcdhead
(116287 ratings)
95% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
$11.90
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items shipped by Amazon.
Or get faster shipping on this item starting at $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon.
Sold by: SUCCESS8
Sold by: SUCCESS8
(192 ratings)
97% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
$15.80
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items shipped by Amazon.
Or get faster shipping on this item starting at $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon.
Sold by: Thunderboltusa
Sold by: Thunderboltusa
(176 ratings)
98% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Pizza Girl: A Novel Hardcover – June 9, 2020

3.8 out of 5 stars 588 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$11.99
$7.39 $2.60

The Sandman Act 1
The Sandman offers a dark, literary world of fantasy and horror. Listen free

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Pizza Girl: A Novel
  • +
  • The Vanishing Half: A Novel
  • +
  • A Children's Bible: A Novel
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up—Eighteen and pregnant, Jane struggles under the realizations that she's too much like her recently deceased alcoholic father, her former classmates refuse to recognize her, her boyfriend has thrown away his future for the sake of the baby, and she is largely ambivalent about the upcoming child. She looks at the lives of the customers she delivers pizza to, imaging what the rest of their days are like. She thinks she finds a kindred spirit in frazzled mother Jenny, who quickly realizes Jane is not excited about the baby. Finally seen, Jane becomes obsessed with Jenny and projects too much of herself onto her, leading to a series of very bad decisions. Jane's first-person narration immediately draws readers in, connecting with her disconnectedness, even as they wish she would pull herself together. Her lack of preciousness and wry sense of humor keep Jane's loneliness and resulting actions from veering into maudlin tragedy. Instead, the end reveals that people's lives are rarely as Jane imagines, whether they be one of her favorite pizza customers or her Korean immigrant mother. VERDICT Jane's strong voice and lack of post–high school direction will resonate with teens. A strong choice for browsing collections.—Jennifer Rothschild, Arlington County Public Libraries, VA

Review

"Explosive...[Pizza Girl] bristles with biting wit and optimism, each page a feast of Cheeto-fingered heart, humor, and lyricism."
Esquire

"This quirky, moody novel delivers in unexpected ways."
People

"Sharp and surprising, Pizza Girl shows us how obsession can fill the empty spaces in a young woman's life. Jean Kyoung Frazier will make you laugh with one sentence and break your heart with the next. A delicious debut."
Julia Phillips, author of Disappearing Earth

"In fearless, propulsive prose, Jean Kyoung Frazier perfectly captures the listless ache of a grieving, aimless teen on the cusp of terrifying responsibility. A sublime ode to obsessive outcasts and lovable screw-ups everywhere, Pizza Girl is irresistible and bold, brutal and sweet, with an ending that will thrash your heart."
Kimberly King Parsons, author of Black Light

"Pizza Girl is luminous, brooding, and, frankly, awe-inspiring. It's a joy to spend time in Frazier's world, an experience that only illuminates our own. The novel that teaches you something about yourself is a rare thing, and Frazier has given us a gift."
Bryan Washington, author of Lot

"Jean Kyoung Frazier, a blazing new voice in fiction, has given us a sly, poignant glimpse into the wilds of suburbia, where intergenerational queer love and alienation from labor go hand  in hand. And who doesn't want to read about that?"
Andrea Lawlor, author of Paul Takes the Form of a Mortal Girl

"To Pizza Girl, Jean Kyoung Frazier brings a flawless ear for language, great inventiveness, unfailing intelligence and empathy, and best of all a rare and shimmering wit. This novel has immense appeal."
—Richard Ford

"Pizza Girl is a funny and moving debut, full of wry observation and deep humanity. Jean Kyoung Frazier’s incredibly winning protagonist delivers laughter and grief with all the toppings. A wonderful novel from a new writer with talent and heart."
Sam Lipsyte, author of Hark

"Frazier’s darkly comic, unsentimental, subversive debut novel, Pizza Girl, heralds the debut of a wholly-original new kind of American hero, a pregnant, teetering-on-alcoholic Korean-American teenager, as well as the arrival of a wildly gifted writer."
Elissa Schappell, author of Blueprints for Building Better Girls

“[A] playful and unflinching debut…This infectious evocation of a young woman’s slackerdom will appeal to fans of Halle Butler and Ottessa Moshfegh, and will make it difficult not to root for the troubled and spirited pizza girl.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“[A] quirky and emotionally resonant L.A.-set debut…Offbeat, polished, and heartfelt.”
Booklist

The Sandman Act 1
The Sandman offers a dark, literary world of fantasy and horror. Listen free

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Doubleday (June 9, 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 208 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 038554572X
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0385545723
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 12.8 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.8 x 0.88 x 8.6 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.8 out of 5 stars 588 ratings

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5
588 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on June 9, 2020
Verified Purchase
24 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 16, 2020
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 16, 2020
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 15, 2020
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Young woman coming of age and finding herself while life is pressed on her.
By LaLePro on August 15, 2020
I'm not one to get sucked into a book but when I do, I love reading! I heard about this book on NPR and decided to give it a try. I definitely found myself attracted to the writing style and overall plot. I really enjoyed the book pulling my emotions into a very uncomfortable space. The main character is so well developed through the book but has lots of mystery. The main character will make you feel more her, want to yell at her, but you are her best friend and the reader is the only one who gets to know most of her secrets. It is about a 18 year old with 18 year old issues so there's only but so much complexity a 18yr old character can have but this 18 year old has some issues that will a captivate any audience. I think the obsession with the middle aged Mom will leave you uncomfortable unless you ask yourself questions to wonder if maybe all of this is okay and why am I uncomfortable?
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 31, 2020
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 15, 2020
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 5, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 24, 2020
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

bagulparth
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read
Reviewed in Canada on November 29, 2020
Verified Purchase
Mrs Olga Muville
5.0 out of 5 stars Vielen Dank!
Reviewed in Germany on December 29, 2020
Verified Purchase