Industrial Deals Beauty Silent Corner STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Assassins Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 28 reviews
on November 8, 2013
Terrific formulation(s) for pan pizza dough that will bake correctly in any home oven. No stones or baking steel required. He states that the dough works well in cheap pans. I baked mine in a PSTK coated pan by Lloyd Pans with very good results. The recommended temperature is 475 degrees and the bake time is about 25 minutes. This is the polar opposite of most other types of pizza which generally benefit from ovens capable of high temperatures and short bake times.

The recipes are given by weights (!!!), which is a MUST if you want to have any chance of duplicating your success the next time or make adjustments the next time to improve it.

The basic bread flour dough translates into baker's percents as follows: Flour (100%), Water (70%), IDY (.7%), Salt (2%), Oil (4%). Thickness Factor=.103. I post this because if you need to scale the recipe to a particular size pan or if you just want to make dough for a single pizza, these figures makes it easy. There are terrific scaling tools available at pizza making dot com that where you can plug in these numbers and enter any size rectangular or round pan and you'll be given the ingredient amounts in grams and/or ounces.

He also has other formulations that use Buratto, light spelt and whole spelt flours. You're not going to find these at your local big-box store, but I appreciate the fact that he's sharing his real formulation instead of a dumbed-down recipe.

He discusses making your our sourdough starter. Unlike "legit" Neapolitan dough which is generally fermented at around 65 degrees (which means you need a wine fridge set at that temp or something similar), his sourdough formula can be refrigerated overnight in a standard fridge.
review image
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2014
I made the Tomato pizza, like the one I had when visiting his place in Rome......Follow the directions and get almost an identical product!! He also has a video on you tube if you want to see the "dough" process. It takes 1+ days from start to finish... but well worth it.

My pizza on the right...His on the Left in the picture.
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2017
Both dough techniques and recipes are outstanding. Recipes are creative and thoughtful.
I wish there were better flour substitution options, as the Italian flours recommended are difficult to source, and I believe there are american equivalents that are not considered, and its tough to know what those are without a better knowledge of desired outcomes. Since the book was clearly translated to target an American market, I would love to see him encourage what he clearly does in Italy, the use of locally, ethically sourced ingredients.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2015
I lived in Rome for 17 years and came to love Roman pizza. In the thirty years I have been away, people like Bonci have raised Roman Pizza to new heights. Highly recommended for anyone who is serious about pizza "come si deve."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2013
We went to Pizzarium in Rome this summer and we just fell in love with the pizza. I heard that this book was coming out in the US and I bought it right away. The recipes are beautiful and meticulous. If you like pizza at all, this is a must for your kitchen library.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2015
The best parts of the book are about making the dough. This is detailed information about the flours, yeast and fermentation methods. I would prefer a few more topping suggestions, however that has never been a challenge like getting fantastic bases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
Love it! If you have ever been to Pizzarium in Rome you know this recipe book is a real treasure!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2013
Amazing book by the amazing Gabrielle Bonci! After eating the best pizza I have ever had at Bonci's Pizzarium in Rome, I had to have this book! And, the recipes are wonderful! I have made fabulous Roman pizzas with his easy to follow doughs and pizza recipes! A must for serious pizza lovers!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2015
Beautiful book, and more importantly it has the dough formula!!! The dough is the most important part of this style of pizza. Pictures are beautiful and information is very in depth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2014
I've been looking around...a lot. Finally found a pretty good one. Noone really talks about having a second rising and actually spending like 24 hrs on making 1 batch of dough. I like the level of detail and the way this guys teaches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse