Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 587 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,692 reviews
on October 7, 2016
I hadn't seen this in decades. The is the original 1968 movie. Considering they didn't
have the "digital magic" back then, this movie is well crafted and has a good and
interesting story line.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2017
All perfect!
review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2015
Very Good movie! Just saw this for the first time and I got to say I'm impressed. I saw the terrible remake by Tim Burton and it made me not want to see this movie but then after the new reboot of Dawn and Rise of the Planet of the Apes I finally was thinking if the old one is anything as awesome I'll watch it and i was not disappointed. It was cool to see all the little easter eggs they show in the new ape movies about this film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2016
This is fantasy, but really good fantasy. Lots of hardcore action and a few plot twists. Thoroughly entertaining - although the blood packs were a little excessive and timed poorly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2017
I remember first seeing this flick some 100 years or so ago (so it seems.....)......great.....world sure has changed, and not for the better.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2016
When this movie first came out it was ahead I was excited to see it. The series has been great but they don't have the same awe factor for me. I had to buy this so I can relive the mystery and excitement only an original can give you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2012
1968 version of Planet of the Apes, this is the one that started it all. Received the DVD in a prompt manner. Enjoyed watching it again after seeing it for the first time when it came out and I was in high school. Quality of the picture is very good as is the sound. It's the best of the Planet of the Apes movies, though I really enjoyed Rise of the Planet of the Apes which came out recently. Charleton Heston is excellent and, for its time, the special effects are outstanding. If you never saw the movie and want to see it again, this is a very worthwhile buy.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2015
hello,
back in the day, this movie was a marvel in technology. all of these years later, thinking about all of the advances, it still was ahead of its time. it is hard to compare the minute movements that make expressions so important from this older movie to the new ones. the characters were excellent, the plot was good and the unveiling story led to the surprise ending. what more could you ask of a 60's movie? great show and costumes. yrmv
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2002
I have very fond memories of watching Planet of the Apes when it was originally released in the cinema back in Dear Old Blighty, and watching the "Original and Best" again, I couldn't help but make comparisons with the latest "reimagining" from Tim Burton.

Don't get me wrong, I'm a big fan of Burton's, and wasn't expecting much of POTA 2001, but even so, I was desperately disappointed. Whereas in the original we had Charlton Heston's magnificent chigar-chomping, square-jawed nihilism, in the remake we were given "Marky Mark's" bland cardboard cutout `hero', eager to kick some Simian butt. And did anyone else think that Helena Bonham Carter's makeup looked like some bizarre Simian morphing of Oprah and Michael Jackson?!?!?! Creepy. POTA 2001 is 5 Star eye-candy to be sure - makeup, effects blah blah blah - but in my humble opinion, it's a bloated, gutted, and soulless "reimagining" of the original source material.

Oh well, at least we have the original, and watching it on DVD was almost like watching it again for the first time, indeed it was the first time I'd seen it in widescreen since it's original theatrical release. For it's time the makeup effects were groundbreaking, indeed, the source novel by Pierre Boulle, "La Planète des Singes," - "Monkey Planet" - was considered unfilmable because of the makeup that would be required to make the characters believable on the big screen.

But it takes more than makeup, special effects, and squillions of $'s spent on CGI goodies, to make a cinema classic - something Hollywood seems to have forgotten these days! - you need a story, with some depth, with something to say, characters you can believe in, and, to a degree, identify with. With the original Planet of the Apes they got the fundamentals bang to rights, throw in a cast pitch-perfect for their roles, the aforementioned makeup to make it at least believable, and you have a classic in the making.

Although I've been an avid reader of Sci Fi all my life, I'd never read Pierre Boulle's novel `til after I'd seen POTA 2001, and I have to admit I was surprised at the liberties the original film took with the book. I can't read French, so read the English translation of the book, and I have to say it was a pretty stodgy tale... maybe something was lost in the translation?

But - yes, there's always a "but" - to borrow that awful word, the film "reimagined" the book in breathtaking fashion! It became an allegorical tale of America, and to an extent, the rest of the World, caught up in the social revolution of the late 60's; racial discord, the battle of the sexes, politics against religion against science, and three guys from our World who find themselves on a one-way-trip into the unknown... the Planet of the Apes.

The world of POTA is superbly created in the film, everything works; the faintly "primitive" musical soundtrack, the architecture, the costumes, the makeup of course, the hierarchy of Ape society, Orangutans, Chimpanzee's, and Gorillas, representing, broadly speaking, Religion/Government, the Sciences, and the Military. But the most daring representation in the film is in the Humans of this strange World; mute and brutish, something that the short-lived TV series, and the 2001 version shied away from.

Into this crazy upside-down world is pitched astronaut George Taylor - a stunning portrayal by Charlton Heston - after his two colleagues are killed in the initial contact with the Apes... out huntin' `n' shootin' the human vermin, no doubt on a sunny Sunday afternoon! Taylor is driven, cynical, and introspective, sickened by the excesses of his own kind, he looks for meaning in exploring the stars, and finds himself struggling to convince his Ape captors of his intelligence, and his worth as a Human Being. "Adopted" by two `liberal' Chimpanzee's - again, definitive performances by Roddy McDowall and Kim Hunter - Taylor is smuggled out of "Ape City," along with a female companion, Nova, and heads into the "Forbidden Zone," where he hopes he might find answers to how this society evolved, and to live out his life in some kind of peace and quiet with Nova.

What he finds is the "truth" about evolution on the planet - something suspected by his kindly Chimpanzee protectors, and known but kept secret by the ruling Orangutan elite - that in ages past, Man was the dominant species on the planet... but a larger truth is presented as one of the most stunning climaxes in cinema history.

*SPOILER ALERT!*SPOILER ALERT!*SPOILER ALERT!*

I still remember the sledgehammer-in-the-gut force of this scene. This was in the days when you went to the cinema without knowing the end of a film, unless someone actually told you, no endless theatrical trailers showing you the whole damn film, and "Making Of" features that would air on TV before you got to the cinema, or critics who would give the end away just for the hell of it!

Taylor and Nova riding along a beach, the camera looking at them from on high, passing behind something "artificial," Taylor looks up in stunned disbelief, falls from his horse into the surf, howling out his despair at his own kind, "... damn them all to HELL!!!" Nova's look of uncomprehending fear and confusion, and finally we are allowed to see what they see, the Statue Of Liberty, blasted and broken, reaching up from an alien beach; after travelling so far, Taylor had finally come home.

*SPOILER ENDS!*SPOILER ENDS!*SPLOIER ENDS!*

This ending alone makes Planet of the Apes one of the greatest Science Fiction films of all time, up there with Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey [Blu-ray]! Of all the sequels, only Beneath the Planet of the Apes [Blu-ray] is worth watching, and actually finishes off the story in spectacular fashion.

Blu-ray Update...

I recently purchased the "breakthrough classic that started it all" Planet of the Apes [Blu-ray] release and have to say it was very, VERY worthwhile, especially as the price was pretty much what I payed for my original DVD! The clarity and detail in the image is much improved, and while not up to the best of todays "Reference" standards makes it, IMHO, a good reason to buy. The sound mix has been criticised by others, and while everything is pretty much all "up-front," I think it's fair to say the film has never looked, or sounded, better!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2013
This is a science fiction classic.

Charlton Heston finds his melodramatic sweet spot rebelling against his ape overlords in this late 60's movie that pits man against ape, science against religion, fearful authority against the truth-seeking minority, and turns the natural order of things on its hairy ear.

It keeps you entertained throughout by using the ape hordes to parody man in a way that reveals both the low of man's insecurities and the highs of man being top dog, or in this case, top ape.

Pretty fun stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse