Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Planet Drum
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Gemini Syndrome Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon April 30, 2000
This is Mickey Hart's finest solo effort. Aside from having great percussionary compositions this cd has the best "recording quality". Newer Hart cds like SUPRALINGUA sound rather dry and artificial and don't have nearly the emotional and trance-like impact that this cd has. The song THE DANCING SORCERER (on this cd) for instance has an ethereal aura around the tones of some of the instruments that add's greatly to the effect of the song. JEWE is played entirely on the human body. Hands and chests and voices are the only instruments and it is a positively thunderous song with great vocals.

If you don't have a fantastic stereo system but you know someone who does, listen to this cd at their house. The song TEMPLE CAVES has a certain thing (I don't want to give it away so I'm not going to say exactly what) that you will not hear on boom-boxes or other lo-fi stereo systems. You can hear the song itself on anything, but on really nice stereo systems there is something fantastic revealed about TEMPLE CAVES. This is music you will feel at the very core of your being.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2000
In this concept album, Hart brings great drummers from around the world to participate. The result is wholly new works that are without question novel, but this record has not fared well in my collection since I bought it four years ago. I find myself choosing traditional Brazilian or Latin American or Indian or Middle Eastern performances rather than Planet Drum. I would especially warn potential buyers that Planet Drum is not a survey of percussion styles that will help you decide what you do and do not like. It is instead outside all the mainstream styles and I would consider it the kind of album that would augment a percussion collection rather than start one.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2000
I have owned this CD since it first came out and saw Mickey Hart/Planet Drum perform revently here in Seattle. They are amazing and this is probably one of the best percussion jam sessions ever recorded onto CD
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2007
If you are interested in music that defies categories, the is the record for you. Micky Hart and nine other great percussionists from around the globe contribute to this exploration of percussive expression. Normally I would not be interested in hearing an assembly of tracks of mostly drums. But this is not a normal assembly. Utilizing a vast collection of instruments, some ancient, some conventional and some invented with 21st century technology, these world masters from Asia, Africa, the Americas and Europe create a listening experience that will extend your awareness of the range of music possible through percussion. Tracks based on chants, ritual and ceremonies, dripping water, body slapping,surf and the sounds of human bones create an incredible range of emotional sounds and moving rhythms. But ignore all that if you want: This CD contains beautiful music.

-
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2012
Mickey Hart. Planet Drum.
The "Planet Drum" album came out in 1991 and won a Grammy in the World Music category. This well done percussion music using primitive instruments from around the world is not really dance music (belly dance maybe?), but is more like a novelty item, -something you listen to once or twice and say "OK, that was different", and then file away in a distant corner of your cd collection, lost and forgotten, -not quite bad enough to get rid of, and not quite good enough to listen to again later on. The included songs are a mixed bag. Some songs like "Temple Caves" are great, others are not as great, more like the background music in a Polynesian or Middle Eastern restaurant. "Temple Caves" will produce room filling sound, if your stereo system is powerful enough. A desktop micro system will run out of amplifier power as soon as you crank it up, and will produce distortion (go into clipping). A more powerful amplifier is needed, more like 70WATTS RMS per channel, and large three way speakers, or two way speakers with a subwoofer, -to produce a totally different listening experience.
You really have to be a percussion collector or simply in the right mood for this album. Even the contributions of the great Babatunde Olatunji can't bring me to give it any more than four stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2013
Whether you are a drummer, or just have the rhythm of the Universe pounding in your soul, you need to have this album in your collection. Listen to the samples and judge for yourself. I have been listening to this album since the day I bought it (and that's a long time ago). Now, I have it on my computer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2000
The beauty of Planet Drum is that it is wakeful to the spirit. It (the drum) being primordial and a basic instrument moves your mind and spirit to something that is everpresent in our lives: rhythm.
Though not exactly a mellowing CD, it is beautiful and will be a sure relaxer if played in the background.
The more upbeat sounds also moves the body into action.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2013
I saw a show about Mickey Hart on, I think, Biography channel. Of course this set me off on getting some of his solo work. I don't listen to it daily, but I'm glad I got this. It's intresting music to say the least.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2014
I originally had this on a cassetter and loved it. When I found it on CD, I knew it was time to update. I love the music on this album. If you like drums and "earthy" music, you should check it out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2011
I consider this, At the Edge of Magic's brother or sister book. Another must for every drummer. A celebration of percussion and rhythm explores the very essence of our being. Great pictures and stories and colorful cover it is a wonderful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse