Industrial Deals Beauty Silent Corner STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Final Fantasy XIV Shop Now toystl17_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
32
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on February 24, 2017
The second volume of planetary continues what the first volume did best: boil down famous story genres and characters to their essence and retell their stories with aplomb. I loved this volume from beginning to end, and I have faith that the quality level will not fade.

This volume contains a broad overview of the classic comics from Vertigo, a retelling of three of comics biggest heroes, and a throwback to 60's spy films, and the escalation of the central mystery of this series. What do the 4 want? What does planetary want? Find out inside.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2012
Collects issues 7-12 of Planetary

Issue 7: There's a funeral for Jack Carter (rather similar to John Constantine.) This is used to comment on comics of the 1980's.
Issue 8: Back in the Atomic Age, nasty experiments were performed on human beings. Anna Hark (daughter of this universe's Fu Manchu) and Dowling (one of the Four) are involved.
Issue 9: Back in 1997, Planetary consisted of Jakita, the Drummer, a man called Ambrose who could warp physics, and a mysterious "Fourth Man." On a mission, Ambrose is critically wounded, and then disappears.
Issue 10: We see the Planetary universe's versions of Superman, Green Lantern, and Wonder Woman. But not for long.
Issue 11: A flashback to 1969, where Elijah Snow met a man by the name of John Stone (James Bond?) agent of S.T.O.R.M. (later to become Stormwatch.) Back in present time, John Stone helps Elijah recover some of his memories.
Issue 12: Elijah decides to fight the Four.

Maintains the outstanding quality of Volume 1. Read that one first!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2016
While this does have a few flaws, Planetary's commentary on the fiction universe of comics--Marvel and Vertigo's effects on the nature of the narrative--as well as the paranoid world that Planetary exists in continues to develop in interesting ways. Often issues jump back for context and leave the main narrative behind but even things that seem arbitrary are beginning to add up. Ellis and Cassidy are really at top game with Planetary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 11, 2014
Planetary was twice nominated for Eisner awards best continuing series in 2000 and 2002 but never won. Probably a good thing because if Planetary was the best series for any given year that would be a pretty weak year. Let me go through my issues with the story.

Characterization - Elijah Snow is the main character but he’s an unlikable grump. I think Ellis intended him to be a hard edge cynic that we can root for but instead he’s just a jerk. The Drummer is a smart ass but of the main three he’s the one I like the most and yet he’s continually verbally attacked by Snow and physically threatened. Jakita Wagner also seems to take pleasure in tormenting The Drummer.

Storytelling - It feels as if Ellis studied the writing of Grant Morrison and I mean the BAD Morrison not the Morrison who wrote All-Star Superman and Batman and Robin. I have no idea what’s going on as if the book left out half the pages. Things just happen randomly with seemingly no rhyme of reason. In the first story the three main characters are on a street corner looking for the spot where some guy named Jack Carter died. They find an after image of his corpse, or something, and Snow shouts, “the sneaky bastard faked his own death” Huh? Where did he come up with THAT? Then a over muscled superhero jumps from out of no where screaming about Hitler’s sex midgets and suddenly gets a shotgun blast through his belly from, I guess, Jack Carter who now looks like Grant Morrison himself with a bald head and trenchcoat. And this was only a few pages from the first issue. The rest of the issue didn’t make much more sense than that sequence.

Plot - There is no flow to the story. For a story about investigating the secret history of the 20th Century there is no investigation. Planetary simply arrive on the scene with no explanation. Mostly they stand around posing, trying to look cooler than the room then it’s story over. Everything is supposed to be secret and mysterious but weirdness seems to be everywhere and and we never see Planetary putting in any effort trying to track down leads. It’s like Ellis thought, ‘wouldn’t it be cool if Planetary was on Godzilla’s monster island’ and poof there they are as if Ellis couldn’t be bothered with any of the details. Whereas Ellis is clearly trying to go for writing that feels deep and poetic it often feels smug and pretentious and often lazy.

Creativity - I’d already pegged this series as inspired by Alan Moore’s League of Extraordinary Gentlemen in volume 1 but here the emulation only increases. We have secret super teams of famous characters or parodies of famous characters from the past. Ellis broadens it somewhat by including super hero parodies like the JLA and The Hulk in volume 1. Here we get additional DC parodies and what looks like a John Constantine ripoff as well as the Fantastic Four. But to get back to Moore’s League there are also appearances by Sherlock Holmes and Captain Nemo’s Nautilus and the emulation only increases in volume 3.

I read this book several a few years back and I certainly didn’t hate it or I wouldn’t have bought the next two volumes but I didn’t love it and clearly it didn’t make a huge impact on me. There is a big reveal at the end of volume 2 solving a mystery established at the beginning of volume 1 and it made so little impact on me the first time I read it that I forget the reveal until I read the book again yesterday. I am mildly curious to see where the series is going but repeated readings have not improved my experience. Maybe volume 3 will start tying things together and this is coming from someone who already READ volume 3. I just don’t remember what happened.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2016
Unusual somewhat unique story in graphic art about super powered archeologists searching for objects of power and cleaning up messes in the world while trying to do all that without anyone finding out- fine art and engaging plot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2016
Vol. 1 left me feeling dumb and out of place. Vol. 2 has fixed that. There were less great shots in this volume, but the story is coming together better. We find out who Snow really is and that is a sigh of relief. Looks like Vol. 3 will start the true excitement of what Planetary is known for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2004
The other reviewers on this page are right. This is a great collection of stories that just bubble over with imagination and originality. It goes without saying that you must read the first volume before reading this one, but it is here that you start to see a much larger tapestry being woven from the stories in the first set. These tales continue to fascinate the reader with pop culture references (comic super heroes, 50's science fiction, many more), and the way in which art imitates life, and vice versa. After reading the fourth man, I am also excited to get my hands on the third volume, and continue travelling all over the world with Planetary. If you liked Grant Morrison's The Invisibles, then these stories will also entertain you. If you like to be introduced to something completely new when reading a graphic novel, then this is for you. I cannot praise this enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2011
This held up to the earlier Planetary episodes but was sometimes frustrating in it's "mysteriousness". There's a great issue which is a kind of what-if homage to a couple DC heroes who are not actually named. It's so creepy that I can't stop thinking about it. It's rare that I read something that powerful. I'm very interested in where this is story is going and can't wait to get the 3rd installment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2014
The story of the planetary organisation and its actions to keep the world safe (or strange!), is a journey through the unique imagination of Warren Ellis and the sublime art of John Cassaday. You just have to buy this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
Thanks very much, A pleasure doing busim
ness with you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse