Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Fall Reading Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 19 reviews
on August 21, 2017
Great book, though not a pianist I enjoy learning basic bass lines an 7th chords (especially the Latin exercises) have other books by John Valerio and find them helpful also, would recommend this book for any student because the exercises Sound good, and makes one want too learn more about this very versatile form of playing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
This is a great tool for those of us with weak left hands, especially traditional Hammond organists. I grew up in church playing traditional hymns that mostly required only chording with the left hand, and thus developed bad habits. This book is just the thing to help others like me grow out of lazy left-hand playing habits. Great tool for jazz and Black Gospel players.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2016
I love this book. I have been re-teaching myself piano in the last five years. This book has been helpful not only for getting my left hand more comfortable in juxtaposition with the right, but in understanding chord shapes and positions. I love that it's written for a shuffle feel all through the book. It may be a bit too advanced for me, but it's not daunting. I haven't listened to the audio at this point but might give it a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2017
This book is written for advanced students. Not easy to read for the beginner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2006
Sets a foundation for the pianist to begin playing bass lines.

I have been playing for a long time, but have been unable to

get it together with my left hand for a walking bass.

This book gives the fundamentals and just enough

interesting variations to give you a standard repertoire,

and a springboard to exploring more.

It is also helpful for any aspiring jazz musician on any

instrument. The scales and leading notes used can be applied to

playing smooth flowing improvization.

Most samples are presented in two or three different keys,

but it is still up the the student to everything them in all keys.

Well worth the price - a fraction of the cost of a piano lesson

for a life's changing technique, even if it's not a ton of material.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2014
This is actually quite useful for bass practices in general. The turnarounds are solid, albeit standard & every keyboard player should know them if they plan on backing up the bass.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2015
No time to sit down and practice this, complicated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2015
Lots of work....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2015
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse