Kindle Price: $7.99

Save $8.00 (50%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Pocket Wife: A Novel by [Crawford, Susan]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Pocket Wife: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 337 customer reviews

See all 17 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$7.99

Length: 323 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

“Not a word is wasted in Susan Crawford’s fast-paced, thrilling debut. As Crawford explores the boundaries of memory and sanity, the suspense steadily gathers, and in her skilled hands, readers will be left guessing until the very end.” (Lori Roy, Edgar Award winning author of BENT ROAD and LET ME DIE IN HIS FOOTSTEPS)

“The Pocket Wife is an exceptional literary thriller debut that sensitively portrays a woman struggling with Bipolar Disorder, and the horrific possibility that she’s a murderer. Engrossing, thrilling, and page turning all the way through, this is one you won’t want to miss!” (Chevy Stevens, New York Times bestselling author)

“The Pocket Wife is haunting, gripping, and lyrical--a book you won’t want to put down. Susan Crawford is a bright new star.” (Deborah Crombie, New York Times bestselling author)

“Because the tale is told primarily from Dana’s sharp but manic perspective, suspense develops around her possibly unreliable interpretation of events. This is a gripping, character-driven mystery that would pair well with Sophie Hannah’s The Truth-Teller’s Lie.” (Booklist)

“This intriguing thriller will leave readers guessing till the last minute. Dana Cantrell is a dynamic, well-written character whose bipolar disorder makes her both maddening and endearing. Tightly moving, fast-paced and suspenseful, Crawford’s debut novel puts her on the map of writers to watch.” (RT Book Reviews (4 1/2 STARS))

“Descriptive, lyrical prose creates an intimate and visceral read that is both a solid mystery and a fast-paced psychological thriller. Try this first novel as a read-alike for Alice LaPlante’s Turn of Mind.” (Library Journal)

“Great premise, and characters, and a wonderfully evocative setting, heavy with heat and suburban boredom, and the uneasy threat of not quite knowing what is going on. Really great.” (Sabine Durrant, author of Under Your Skin)

From the Back Cover

Dana Catrell's life is in chaos. She's married to a lawyer who makes her feel trivial, sticking her inside his pocket like loose change. She's also sliding towards the brink of insanity. Devastated by mania, a result of her bipolar disorder, Dana finds that there are troubling holes in her memory, including what happened on the afternoon of her friend Celia's death. She's horrified to learn she was the last person to see her alive.

Is murder on her mind—or is it all in her head?

Closing her eyes, Dana can see images, loose pieces of a hazy puzzle. Sangria in a glass, a tiny rip in Celia's screen door, Celia lying in a pool of blood, the broken vase beside her head, the kitchen knife just so above her hand. But there are infuriating, terrifying gaps.

Is there a killer lurking inside her . . . or is there one out there in the shadows of reality, waiting to strike again?


Product details

  • File Size: 1144 KB
  • Print Length: 323 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0062362860
  • Publisher: William Morrow; Reprint edition (March 17, 2015)
  • Publication Date: March 17, 2015
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00L7X6ZQC
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #183,049 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Mystery Books
4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Thriller Books
3.7 out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on September 28, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2015
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2015
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Pocket Wife: A Novel
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Pocket Wife: A Novel