Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 261 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 307 reviews
on March 21, 2017
If it weren't for the fact Apple Annie is basically the ringleader of a group of harmless pickpockets, I would admire her character more but as she is the apple seller of the group, the role renders her virtually a saint. Bette Davis was one of the few old Hollywood's that was willing to act when youth and beauty fled. There is a remarkable steadiness and patience in this role that replaces her youthful exuberance and hardline character portrayals when younger. You cannot help but love her and love her you will before this film ends. She plays the part of a sort of fallen woman, a single mother in another era whose lack of public acceptance led her to give up her only daughter by sending her off to boarding school in Europe. She pays for this single extravagance by selling apples in the streets and lives in abject squalor herself. This life has led her to a habit of drinking that is killing her, day by day but she maintains a nonstop correspondence with her daughter, leading her to believe she is a socialite living in a hotel suite. Glenn Ford plays her opposite leading man role and although he does not quite convince anyone he is a thug, that is his part. You will note many prominent character actors in unusual roles, which is fun if you are a baby boomer or older. This is Ann Margret's debut role and she plays it, if not entirely convincingly, very charmingly as the daughter. The storyline moves along at such a pace you will not grow bored, it is long as a movie but worth your wait. The end will leave you in tears of joy, refreshed that, despite all the frantic antics everything works out so beautifully and miraculously. Fine family movie with a small amount of violence and no sexual content to speak of, language throughout is family safe.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
They do not make movies like this any more! I was delighted to discover that this movie was on Amazon Digital Movies. I saw this as a kid after renting it from our local library and fell in love with this Cinderella-type, feel-good story. Re-watching it as an adult, I laughed even harder. Peter Falk steals all the scenes, although Glenn Ford holds his own, too.

This movie has charm, wit, and a phenomenal cast (this is Ann-Margaret's film debut). The indomitable Bette Davis is phenomenal as always. Rent or buy this film. You will not regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2015
POCKETFUL OF MIRACLES [1961] [Blu-ray] Frank Capra's Wild and Wonderful Miracle! You Have To See It To Believe It!

Capricious, winsome, whimsical, and all together delightful! Superbly directed by the peerless Frank Capra [`It's a Wonderful Life'], this remake of `Lady For A Day' is pure Hollywood magic and an unforgettable combination of comedy, whimsy and romance that was nominated for three Oscars including Supporting Actor Peter Falk [TV's `Columbo']. Impoverished Broadway peddler "Apple Annie" Bette Davis [`All About Eve'] has a problem, her daughter Louise [Ann-Margret `Tommy'], educated abroad since infancy, is coming for a visit and bringing her wealthy fiancé with her. The problem is that Louise has believed all her life that Annie's a wealthy dowager, and the poor old women who doesn't know what to do. Enter "Dave the Dude" [Glenn Ford `3:10 to Yuma'], a kind-hearted racketeer who enlists the aid to pass Annie off as a high-society granddame so Louise can marry her fairy-tale prince and everyone can live happily ever after! This Christmas classic was the final film in Frank Capra's glorious career and featured a great supporting cast that included Hope Lange, Arthur O Connell, Thomas Mitchell, Edward Everett Horton and Barton MacLane.

FILM FACT: Awards: Glenn Ford Won for Golden Globe® Award for Best Actor for Motion Picture Musical or Comedy. Nominations: Peter Falk for Academy Award® for Best Supporting Actor. Edith Head and Walter Plunkett for Academy Award® for Best Costume Design. Jimmy Van Heusen and Sammy Cahn for Academy Award® for Best Original Song. Golden Globe Award® for Best Motion Picture for Musical or Comedy. Bette Davis for Golden Globe® Award for Best Actress in a Motion Picture for Comedy or Musical and Frank Capra for Directors Guild of America Award for Outstanding Directing for Feature Film.

Cast: Bette Davis, Glenn Ford, Hope Lange, Arthur O'Connell, Peter Falk, Thomas Mitchell, Edward Everett Horton, Ann-Margret, Mickey Shaughnessy, David Brian, Jerome Cowan, Sheldon Leonard, Peter Mann, Ellen Corby, Jack Elam, Doodles Weaver, Barton MacLane, John Litel, Jay Novello, Frank Ferguson, Willis Bouchey, Fritz Feld, Gavin Gordon, Benny Rubin, Mike Mazurki, Hayden Rorke

Director: Frank Capra

Producers: Frank Capra, Glenn Ford and Joseph Sistrom

Screenplay: Hal Kanter, Harry Tugend and based on a screenplay by Robert Riskin

Composer: Walter Scharf

Cinematography: Robert J. Bronner

Video Resolution: 1080p [Technicolor]

Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1 [Panavision]

Audio: English: 2.0 DTS-HD Master Audio Stereo

Subtitles: English SDH

Running Time: 136 minutes

Region: Region A/1

Number of discs: 1

Studio: KINO LORBER / United Artists

Andrew's Blu-ray Review: Legendary director Frank Capra, whose films include `It Happened One Night' [1934] and `It's a Wonderful Life' [1946], championed the dreams of the "little person." `Pocketful of Miracles' [1961] was the last feature film he ever made, but it is no exception to the pervading sense of optimism and sentiment that were his signature. It was a remake of one of his earlier film `Lady for a Day' [1933], which itself was based on the Damon Runyon short story Madame La Gimp. `Pocketful of Miracles' is set in the early thirties, and tells the heart-warming story of "Apple Annie" [Bette Davis], a boozy New York bag lady who is transformed into high society by gangster Dave the Dude [Glenn Ford] to impress her long-lost daughter Louise [Ann-Margret].

Apple Annie [Bette Davis] peddles apples that supposedly bring good luck to the buyer. Her best customer is Dave the Dude (Glenn Ford) a big-time racketeer trying to clinch a deal with a mobster from Chicago that will make him king of the New York underworld. Meanwhile Annie gets a letter from her daughter who was raised and educated in Spain and stating that she will be arriving for a visit along with the very rich Count Alfonso Romero and his handsome son Carlos, to whom she is engaged. The only problem is that Louise (the daughter) thinks her mother is a wealthy dowager. In order to keep his luck from failing (and because of his big-heart) Dave the Dude concocts a scheme to pass Apple Annie off as a grand dame of New York high society.

The plot works in the talented hands of the brilliant cast. Bette Davis has one of her most famous make-overs, from boozy-old-broad to elegant lady. Although she clearly has more fun in the scenes before the change. Glenn Ford also shines as the ambitious Dave the Dude and Hope Lange is good as his ex-chorus-girl moll who pines for a traditional home life in Silver Springs, Maryland. Peter Falk received a supporting actor Oscar nomination for his hilarious portrayal of the Dave the Dude's right-hand man, Joy Boy. Veteran character actor Edward Everett Horton steals nearly every scene he appears in as Hutchins, the butler at the fancy hotel suite where Apple Annie stays after her transformation. Thomas Mitchell (in his last screen role) is perfect as the Judge, an old conman and pool shark with a florid tongue and gracious manners, chosen to play Annie's husband. Ann-Margret (in her film debut) rounds out the cast as the beautiful Louise.

Ann-Margret, who made her screen debut in `Pocketful of Miracles' at age 20, recalled a more pleasant experience with Bette Davis in her 1994 autobiography "My Story" where Ann-Margret says, "It was quite something to be getting my screen baptism playing opposite this film legend," she wrote. "It would've been intimidating had she not been such a generous, patient teacher! I now know how difficult she was sometimes said to be," she continued, "but to me, she was wonderful." As an example, Ann-Margret described how Bette Davis stopped the action when Frank Capra was filming her first close-up. Bette Davis wanted her own hair and makeup people to work their magic on the redheaded ingénue so she would look her very best.

A big push from the studio hailed the 1961 Christmas release of `Pocketful of Miracles,' followed by many positive reviews. There was special praise for Bette Davis's return to the screen in a fine and often moving performance. Frank Capra, who had suffered such blinding headaches throughout the filming that he hid from the cast and crew, stopped making feature films after `Pocketful of Miracles.' When asked why, he said simply, "Because I did it all. Now let the younger ones do it." The film's box office profits fell short of expectations, but its warm sentiment won many fans. It garnered Academy Award® nominations. According to Frank Capra, Peter Falk was the only main actor in `Pocketful of Miracles' who didn't cause any trouble during the shoot and Frank Capra called him "a joy."

Blu-ray Video Quality – Though Kino Lorber has ill-advisedly put this highly detailed, widescreen, two-hours-plus film on a basic Blu-ray disc, I actually thought the encoded 1080p image and the aspect ratio 2.35:1 transfer looked pretty good overall. The image had a better-than-average film grain structure with minimal digital compression issues. I caught some minor colour fluctuations, but mostly the colours were vibrant and rich, with no unusual-looking skin tones aberrations. Frank Capra lets a lot of scenes play in long-take wide shots and the amount of detail in these shots is above average but not quite top-notch.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – Kino Lorber has encoded the film's original mono track as 2.0 DTS-HD Master Audio Stereo with identical left and right front channels. It's a solid but unremarkable track with clearly rendered dialogue, decent dynamic range and good fidelity for the musical score credited to Walter Scharf, although Tchaikovsky's "The Nutcracker Suite" is the most memorable of the instrumentals on the soundtrack. The title song by Sammy Cahn and Jimmy Van Heusen plays over the credits, and Ann-Margret does her first onscreen singing in an a Capella rendition of "The Riddle Song." One thing I am very angry about, is the fact of all the Blu-ray Reviews I have read, none have pointed out that throughout the film, now and again, the sound goes out of sync, and I have complained to Kino Lorber that they are doing a very unprofessional job, which I have pointed out with my other review of the Blu-ray `The Missouri Break' which also has the bad out of sync sound and Kino Lorber ought to be ashamed of producing very unprofessional Blu-ray discs. So that is why now if I see a film that is released by Kino Lorber that I would like to purchase, I will not do so, but sometimes the same film is released on a Region B/2 Blu-ray, so I will buy that Blu-ray instead, as Kino Lorber is doing a really bad atrocious job and should be barred 100% from releasing anymore Blu-ray discs, as they are totally unprofessional in their outlook.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Theatrical Trailer [1961] [480i] [16:9] [3:00] The only extra is the trailer that is narrated by legendary variety show host Ed Sullivan, who is introducing the film and singing its praises. Sadly the image quality is really of bad rough quality.

Finally, `A Pocketful of Miracles' often nails its serious, sentimental moments more expertly than it executes its comedy. Unfortunately, the film is mostly supposed to be a comedy. Frank Capra does his best to keep it real, juxtaposing plenty of honest emotion against the broad comedy and colourful characters that fuel the film. In the end, sentiment prevails, but this heaping helping of Capra-corn wins us over despite our better judgment, thanks to a heartfelt portrayal from Bette Davis and a cornucopia of great supporting performances led by the Oscar-nominated Peter Falk. Kino Lorbo's Blu-ray presentation once again skimps on supplements, but at least it has a very good video transfer, but sadly the audio is a massive big disappointment let down. 'Pocketful of Miracles' pales when compared to other Frank Capra's best works, but it's still worth a look for fans of this esteemed director, as well as Bette Davis, and warm-hearted period comedies. But despite the bad lip sync sound problem letting the film down, I am still glad I have this last Frank Capra film in my Blu-ray Collection. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller - Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2015
WOW I had been hoping for years to have a good copy of this movie. The DVD copy looks like crap and this spanking new transfer to blue ray finally does this wonderful film justice. The colors are true and the images sharp. The people who did this work really understood the value of this film. ( award winning performance by Betty Davis and a first one for Ann Margrate )
Also a BIG treat for fans of Peter Falk.
Highly recommended
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2008
Pocketful of Miracles is a charming urban fairy from 1961. It was the last movie directed by Frank Capra, who specialized in mid-century American fairy tales ( It Happened One Night,It's A Wonderful Life (Two-Disc Collector's Set) (B/W & Color),Mr. Smith Goes to Washington,Arsenic and Old Lace).

The movie is based on a story by Damon Runyon and features his usual cadre of well intentioned gangsters and ladies with dubious reputation (Little Miss Marker,Guys and Dolls). Capra himself told this same story almost thirty years earlier (Lady for a Day).

The plot centers around Dave "the Dude" (Glenn Ford), a very superstitious gangster who can't make a move until he buys a lucky apple from his favorite bag lady, Apple Annie (Bette Davis). Dave is in the middle of negotiating a big deal that will leave him Boss of the New York territory, but he can't go into the meeting without his lucky apple. However, Annie's secret past has caught up with her and she is nowhere to be found.

Apparently peddling apples on the sidewalks of NYC is more lucrative than we imagined. Years earlier Annie had a baby girl, Louise (Ann-Margaret), who she promptly packed off to a European boarding school to protect her from her shady origins. For years Louise and her mother have been exchanging letters. But now Annie has received a letter, in care of the posh hotel where she has her mail sent, letting her know that her daughter is finally coming home. Louise wants to introduce her aristocratic boyfriend to her mother. Annie is horrified that her daughter will learn the truth about her, and that she will be the cause of ruining her daughter's happiness.

Annie is in despair and going on the mother of all benders. Dave is in a panic because he can't make a move without his lucky apples. The rest of the underworld community is united in their efforts to devise a solution to their friends' dilemas.

There is a terrific supporting cast in this movie. Peter Falk is Dave's right hand man, "Joy Boy"; Hope Lange is Dave's girlfriend, "Queenie". Ann-Margaret is Annie's daughter, "Louise."

The DVD has an original theatrical trailer. You can watch the film with either an English or Spanish spoken track, and subtitles are available in Spanish or French. Too bad there aren't more features. A commentary track would have been a nice bonus, but the movie is delightful on it's own and really doesn't require explanation. Five star movie, but I'm deducting one star because of the bare bones DVD package and the less than stellar quality if the print. This classic deserves better treatment.

The film has been marketed as a seasonal movie at Christmas, but it's not as holiday centered as something like Miracle on 34th Street (Special Edition). You can watch "Pocketful of Miracles" in July and it's still fun!

If you like Damon Runyon characters and/or Frank Capra fairy tales, this is a terrific movie. Highly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
I liked this movie and though some of the video was not perfect, it was wonderful for me to watch a movie I liked from childhood. I also appreciate that I could enjoy something without hearing curse words all over the place being led to believe that it is comedy. Great film in my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2014
I rarely, if ever, give a "love it" rating for movies; just the way I am. But, this movie would be close with "a really, really like it" rating. Great cast and Peter Falk should have won Best Supporting Actor along with his nomination. The script is terrific so listen to Thomas Mitchell's lines. A lot of wonderful supporting actors and the star cast fit well into the scenes. This is a very nice movie to watch at Christmas time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2017
Got this for Christmas, but only made it about 3/4. I have to finish it, but lost interest. Maybe it will grow on me with second showing. Sometimes they do!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2017
I was not aware of a "Region 2" limit on this DVD. It was sent from Germany (?), a information alert was given. Still I did not know this meant I would not be able to play this Dvd on my player. So now I have missed my best movie at Christmas. I am not so much concerned with the great price, but I am mad that I could not see the movie. Give a better definition of Region 2 or any other term that will prevent a person from viewing the movie ordered. Amazon you can do better! Not happy at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
I watched this movie as a little girl with my grandmother who fancied many of the author's .books; and his colorful way of naming characters as well as intertwining plots and themes were some of her favorites.

I have wonderful memories of this movie and it is done excellently especially for the time. Peter Falk is an absolute hoot; and this must've been one of his very first films.

Betty Davis absolutely shines in this unlike other roles she is credited with shining in; and this one, she transforms almost miraculously onscreen.

This is a comedy mostly filled with a lot of puns like the old cartoons were.

I'm fairly certain this was also Ann-Margret's very first movie that she was in his well.

In the final scene of the movie both the scarecrow and the lion from the Wizard of Oz actors can be seen with the one who played the cowardly lion fainting.

While he is not fully credited for being in this movie because he was friends with the director he did a little cameo; but, since he belonged to another studio they were not allowed credited him or they would it would've created great complications---

I have only seen this little bit of trivia noted once about this movie--- though I had noticed it and always wondered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here