Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$16.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 711 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 905 reviews
on October 19, 2015
Kathryn Bigelow [Strange Days (1995), Hurt Locker (2008), Zero Dark Thirty (2012)] directs this timeless classic. Johnny Utah (Keanu Reeves) is a fresh and green FBI agent, who’s teamed up with Pappas (Gary Busey) in the bank robbery division of Los Angeles. They are after the ex-presidents, who have eluded the the FBI for years. Pappas believes they are surfers and Utah goes undercover, where he falls for Tyler (Lori Petty also seen in Tank Girl, 1995) and befriends the endless summer living and point break catching, Bodhi (Patrick Swayze). Filled with a unique plot, surfing, skydiving, and great action that has been copied since, like the foot chase of Utah and Bodhi over fences and through the neighborhoods, and has gone on to be a cult classic. Although unbelievable at times, like Utah devoting his career to finding Bodhi and some of the FBI protocol, and has some cheesy but quotable line, it’s gripping and suspenseful down to the last scene. If you haven’t seen it, you may have been living under a rock for the past two decades. It’s definitely worth watching over and over with classic lines and characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2015
My favorite movie for many reasons, but mainly because the trio of Reeves, Busey, and Swayze on one screen all but guaranteed this was be a classic. Just a great script with many quotable lines.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2015
"If you want the ultimate, you have to be willing to pay the ultimate price." It's hard to believe that they are remaking a movie that still holds up today. Granted cell phones are smaller but the action is still top noche. I loved this movie back in 91' when it first came out and still enjoy it today.
A little about the movie without any spoilers:
Keanu Reeves plays an undercover FBI agent named Johnny Utah whose first assignment is to infiltrate the surfing scene and find out what surfing group is robbing banks costumed as "The Dead Presidents". This movie is filled with action and adventure while Utah deals with the issues of being undercover and having loyalty as an FBI agent as well as friendship.
As I said, the movie still holds its own weight in today's world and will continue to be a classic in my video collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2017
I bought this because it was one of the best surf movies ever and my girlfriend had never seen it. So I got it for her to see. She loved it too. Now I have this classic movie with several iconic cast members.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2017
Purchased cause this is my dads favorite movie. He will watch over and over! Wonderful story about a young hotshot FBI detective going under cover to bust a ring of adrenaline junky bank robbers. Patrick swayze is wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2016
Fantastic movie. Had to buy it after watching the awful "remake" to make things right again. This is a great movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2016
the original, the only. the recent remake would make patrick swayze roll over in his grave. this is the true and only film to watch with this title. as a woman i love that this amazing film was directed by a woman. congrats and bravo and standing ovations are due to Kathryn Bigelow who was married to James Cameron but proved SHE is JUST as talented. this movie is perfection. it's an icon with reason. it's so good it's the one and (thus far) only film i ever actually bought (not rented) on amazon so that i can literally watch it anytime anywhere i can log on to amazon. of course i now know every line but it still holds up. i bow to Bigelow....and Keanu R and Gary B of course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2015
This is my favorite cheesy 90s action/extreme sports/bank heist movie. You want star power? How's about o give you a Swayze in his prime, and I'll raise you a hot young Keanu? Sold yet? Well let's throw in a cameo from Anthony Keidis and Flea from the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Want manly sports? How about surfers...who skydive...

If you aren't sold yet, go watch 50 Shades of Grey - because you don't have an ounce of redeemable testosterone in your body, son. I am disappoint.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2015
Seriously? Does this movie even need a review? It's awesome. So there.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
Keanu is constantly, and will probably always be, lampooned as the quintessential dumb surfer. This is the movie that started it. Well, this and Bill & Ted. But that's another review for a later day.

Despite too many viewings with the film's initial release (WAY too many viewings), this BD release sells it dead on. The light off the water makes you feel right there with the waves rolling in at your face. Then there's skydiving, bank robberies, chases, etc. You've probably seen the film and you know just as well as I do that this is a really fun action flick. I haven't seen it in years until tonight. And it's still just as fun.

If you have it already on DVD but are fence-sitting about buying the BD, stop fence-sitting and buy it. The picture quality and the sound is simply amazing.... A five-star event.

But save yourself from watching the special features - they constantly say the same thing about everything and everyone. For 43 minutes. So, four out of five, just based on the BD release. It's a shame they couldn't do better. This is one of those films that deserves more than it got.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse