Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(5 star, Verified Purchases). See all 31 reviews
on February 12, 2017
Andrew Hill, in his prime, became one of jazz's most interesting composers, along with Wayne Shorter and Woody Shaw in roughly the same period — IMO. If you don't know Hill's music, this is a very good starter CD. I love his trios and quartets (the trio plus Bobby Hutchinson on vibes, for instance, on the "Judgment" album, which was recorded in January, 1964), But "Point of Departure," recorded in March, 1964, is a sextet with Kenny Dorham (tp), Eric Dolphy (as, fl, bcl), Joe Henderson (ts), Richard Davis (bs), and Tony Williams (dr) plus Hill on pn. Rudy Van Gelder recorded and mastered these groups. What could go wrong?! (Nuttin'!) But, Hill's music is rather unique and challenging, like all important composers' works, so I recommend that you give this CD several open-minded listenings before forming an opinion. It will grow and grow on you, I think.

If you already know about Andrew Hill but not this particular CD, I've said too much. 'Cause you can easily guess what's in front of you: Dorham, Dolphy, Henderson, Davis, Williams in 1964 ... are you kidding me?!! (Check it out.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2015
I give this 4 1/2 stars, because I agree with one reviewer that there is something slightly off in the sound of the first track and once you notice it, it's kind of like a toothache. Otherwise, this is a stunning and powerful statement by an artist that could very well be a 20th/21st century classical composer.

Give it a try, once you "get" Andrew Hill's idiom you got some glorious music in your life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2000
This is quite possibly my favorite jazz recording, so excuse me if I'm a bit hyperbolic. Nonetheless, this album not only contains some of the best arranged/written jazz I have ever heard, but the musicianship is impressive. Some of my favorite Dolphy solos are on this recording (I've found I like Dolphy more on other peoples stuff than on his own), the drumming is super-inspired and creative and absolutely everybody is more than up to the task at hand. In addition, this is one of the more varied albums, in terms of feel, keys, time signitures, whatever . . . and on that note my only complaint (and some won't agree with me here) is the addition of repetive takes. Without the redundant takes, this album also had an incredible gestalt effect when digested as a whole. Seriously though, I'm not sure why this album is so overlooked, but it is The Real Deal, and you're only denying yourself if you don't pick this disc up.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2002
There are many kinds of music, all legitimate and serving a purpose. What I love about jazz is its emphasis on creativity and originality. A jazz musician who simply learns the different styles and assembles enough licks to build "improvised" solos may sound good, bring positive feeling to his listeners, but does not utilize the chances jazz music affords him.
All of the musicians on this CD are capable of creative and original jazz. From the more "traditional" Durham to the always modern Dolphy, they are all willing to experiment and create.
Andrew Hill is a musician who is never willing to "go through the motions" of playing jazz. Joe Henderson alwyas sounds like himself, and Tony Williams...
This CD is true to its name. It is not a complete departure from tradition, and it is never content with staying inside the tradition. It is always on the point of departure from tradition, on the verge of new discoveries, new possibilites. These possibilities concern different "Song Structures", different modes and chord changes, different voicings of the instruments - all different yet connected to what existed before them.
It is a pity that 38 years after this music was recorded - it is still regarded as "inaccessible" by most people, and even within those who do listen to jazz, already a minority, there are many who have not opened their ears to what was new in 1964. What does it take to change that ?
Anyway, I recommend this cd...
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2017
Amazing album. A must-have for any jazz fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2013
A wild, muscular excursion through the hard hop/post bop mind of pianist Andrew Hill. Though not as legendary as many of his then contemporaries, Hill deserves much much more than passing attention
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2016
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2016
Sounds great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2008
Absolutely a must have. I enjoyed this album even more than "Dancing with Death" and I thought that was his best album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$16.99

Need customer service? Click here