Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Pokemon Platinum
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$119.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 25, 2009
First off, I must address the numerous reviewers who are complaining that Platinum is essentially a remake of Diamond and Pearl versions of Pokemon.

Yes, it is. And everybody should have known that before blowing $40 on it, simply by reading the product description. The third installations of all 4 Pokemon series of games have always been remakes of the previous 2. Yellow was an enhanced version of Red and Blue; Crystal was an enhanced version of Gold and Silver; Emerald was an enhanced version of Ruby and Sapphire; and now, Platinum is an enhanced version of Diamond and Pearl.

This is how the Pokemon games have always worked, so it is beyond me why so many people are now complaining about it. Pokemon games typically get 4 1/2 star ratings on Amazon, and Platinum is now poised to have the worst rating out of any Pokemon RPG game, when in reality, it is the best.

Now that that's out of the way...

I partially gave Platinum a 5 star review to counteract some of these 2 and 3-star reviews we're seeing, but I truly think it is a great game. If you have a DS, Platinum will give you as much fun as any other DS game you have. Very casual Pokemon fans who already own Diamond and/or Pearl might not feel the need to buy this game. More serious Pokemon fans, and newcomers to the series, on the other hand, will love this game. I have played through all 13 previous Pokemon RPG games, as well as the Gamecube games, several times each, and Platinum still captivated me enough to get me playing for 5 straight hours without a break! (Not exactly the healthiest thing to do on a regular basis, but parents, think about the possibilities of getting your kids to sit quietly for a few moments...)

As mentioned above, Platinum is essentially a remake of Diamond and Pearl, but with enhancements. The storyline is tweaked a bit to keep things interesting, and there is a new legendary Pokemon for you to capture. Some places have been redesigned, and there are new characters. A very welcome addition is a new Battle Frontier, back from Emerald version. The Battle Frontier will keep you playing hours after you complete the main quest.

Besides all the new changes, the raw appeal of catching Pokemon, training them, and battling with them is ever present in Platinum version, and really, isn't that the reason these games are so loved, anyway? Ultimately I give Platinum version a heartfelt recommendation because it is fun, will provide hours and hours of gameplay, and is accessible, yet challenging. Platinum is the best Pokemon game. Newcomers, start here. Oldtimers...you know what to do.
1313 comments| 299 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2009
-New Characters: International Policeman Looker and Galactic Commander Charon

-New and Improved Graphics: Some locations have new graphics(i.e. Twinleaf Town has snow, Stark Mountain has lava). Some areas are different in other ways as well.

-Improved Story Line: Rather than revolving around Dialga/Palkia, the plot centers around Giratina

-Sinnoh Pokedex includes more Pokemon

-Wi-Fi Plaza: Allows users to play minigames with players around the world

-Distortion World: A world in which time and Space are bent. Giratina lives in this world.

-Elite Four becomes stronger after each run-through

-Ability to catch Articuno, Moltres, and Zapdos after obtaining the National Pokedex

-Battle Zone includes Battle Frontier, which has five different battling facilities as opposed to Diamond/Pearl's one.

-Ability to re-battle Riley, Leader Wake, Leader Candice, and Leader Volkner
0Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2009
Pros:

+Simple, yet addictive gameplay
+Deep, strategic combat system
+Touch screen controls make battling easier
+Wi-fi improvements
+Being able to battle trainers all across the globe and being able to trade with them is fantastic
+Game can keep you busy for hours with all there is to do, easily over 80 hours worth of gameplay
+Some new additions for those who mastered Diamond and Pearl

Cons:

-You can still only save one file
-Graphics and sound were outdated even in 2007, and they're still outdated
-The formula works, but there are bound to be gamers out there who are sick of the same old storyline
-If you mastered Diamond and Pearl you probably won't have much incentive to play through Platinum. This will change from one gamer to the next

When Pokemon Red and Blue came out, Pokemon Yellow followed just a year later to expand on the games. When Pokemon Gold and Silver debuted, Crystal followed shortly thereafter. When Ruby and Sapphire came out, it wasn't long until Emerald followed. It was only a matter of time before Pokemon Diamond and Pearl also got a third version into the mix. Pokemon Platinum. Just like the previous "third" versions of the games, Platinum adds in a few new things, though it's hard to say you'll ultimately want it if you've already got Diamond and/or Pearl and you've already worked your way through them. Then again, you might find some of the extras worthwhile.

Pokemon has been doing the same thing since it came about ten years ago. The formula is so familiar to gamers that there's a "been there, done that" kind of feel all over. You choose a starter and go off from home to collect several Pokemon, collect gym badges and ultimately defeat an evil team of Pokemon Trainers that are up to no good. All the pieces of the formula are there. If you've played any of the previous Pokemon games before then you've been here before. Yet it doesn't stop Pokemon from being an overall addictive game. While some will find Platinum (as well as Diamond and Pearl) to be a little too much of the same thing, the gameplay can't be denied. Pokemon has been doing the same thing for over ten years now, and it's still fun.

Pokemon is actually really strategic and in-depth. That is to say, it requires a lot of thought, and believe me, some of these battles require a lot of your skill. Battles are turn based, where you select a command and then watch a round of combat. There's a paper/rock/scissors effect here, however. Each and every Pokemon has a type, and some of the attacks they use reflect its type. This makes up what deals massive damage, what deals no damage and what deals just normal damage. Grass may be strong against water, for example but grass is also weak against fire, but in turn, fire is weak versus water. This effect plays through with seventeen and different types, and there is no best type because every type has a weakness. It's because of this element that Pokemon is so much fun to play. Just trying to construct the perfect team will take you more than a day, and with over 100 new creatures to collect, you can form endless amounts of teams. Just catching all the Pokemon alone will keep you busy for well over 50 hours. To add to the effect you'll face several other trainers as well, and you never know what they'll throw at you. Your strongest Pokemon may very well become your weakest in certain battles just because of its type.

The battle system itself is made even simpler by the touch screen. Where as before you were scrolling through menus, battling can simply be done by touching the different options on screen. It makes battling a lot faster, especially because the icons are pretty big. Luckily, there's never really a point where you have to use the touch screen if you don't want to, and battling can still be done the old fashioned way if you so choose.

As with Ruby and Sapphire there are also moments of two on two battles. Usually they come with either two trainers taking you on at a time, and you'll send out the two Pokemon in your top roster, or you'll be with another trainer who will send out his or her Pokemon with yours. It adds to the strategic feel of the game, but the moments of two on two battles are pretty few and far between.

Pokemon Platinum adds a couple of new things, though not much. Most notable is, of course, is the distortion world. Aside from this there's not that big of a motive to get Pokemon Platinum if you mastered one of the other two versions. It's great if you don't have either one, but it's hard to want to pick up Platinum just for the Distortion World alone. There are a couple of other little goodies sprinkled about, including improvements in the online factor of the game, but it's still essentially the same game you got two years ago. And for the most part, that isn't bad.

The Pokemon games in and of themselves are full of little hidden secrets. There's so much you can do after the main quest is over. You can also enter into different contests as well as go after legendary Pokemon. Pokemon can easily keep any gamer busy for well over fifty hours.

Pokemon has never really been a game you go after for eye-candy. There are some moments where some 3D effects come out, but not very many. The sprites are more or less the same sprites they've been using since the Red and Blue versions. Ideally, the game doesn't look all that much of a step up from Ruby and Sapphire, and they were not fantastic looking games either. It's really colorful, but the DS is capable of so much more than this. Likewise, in battle is still the same. Fun to do it, but the Pokemon still only flinch to attack, and there aren't a lot of animations going on, and we're still looking over the Pokemon's shoulder. Essentially, the combat engine hasn't changed since the series first outing in 1998. There are some move animations that look really good, but aside from that it's hard to look past the simple fact that the game's combat engine hasn't really evolved since the original games came out way back in 1998. This isn't the original Gameboy, this is the Nintendo DS.

The sound is also no exception. A lot of it sounds really tinny. Most of the sound effects such as the Pokemon's cries are ripped straight from--you guessed it--the original Gameboy versions released in 1998. That's not to say all the tunes sound bad, it's just to say that a lot of what you're going to hear is recycled. While the sound effects are dated, the music certainly isn't. It's upbeat and keeps you on your toes.

In the end, the production values aren't exactly something that'll disappoint you. Though it might still be nice if someday Pokemon could get an update. It's still an improvement.

Despite the games graphics and sound, Pokemon Platinum is still an excellent title. If you don't have Diamond or Pearl, you might as well pick up this one. If there was anything to fret about over Pokemon it would be that it's just too much of the same thing. Not to Pokemon Diamond and Pearl, but to the series as a whole. There are plenty of additions, but the truth still stands: We've been doing the same thing for ten years. But it's still a fun game regardless.
11 comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2009
This game is extremely fun and worth well more than $34.99.

I have played this game for over 100 hours and own the guide, so you can trust me on everything that is typed in this paragraph.

First of all, if you have ever played any Pokemon games before, you probably know how spectacular these games are. Especially if you have played ones such as, Pokemon Sapphire,Pokemon, Crystal Version,Pokemon - Diamond Version, or any other Pokemon catch-and-train games. Even if you have only played some of the spin-off games, you still probably had an enjoyable experience. If not... how about giving Pokemon another try?

Now I have to admit, some Pokemon have things such as psychic powers, but they do not go into this evil practice. Only, saying that some of the things in the story are related to this. They are born with these powers and do not obtain them from some other source. I just rename psychic with a far less evil name and be done with it.

If you are not allowed to go to chat rooms, you will probably find one major disappointment in this game. There is now a Wi-Fi Plaza, which includes parades, fireworks, minigames, and much, much more. The only thing about this place that stinks is that you, and other players from around the world, can chat.

The catch of Pokemon games is that, unlike most games, instead of getting set abilities and attacks for your character(s), you can build a menagerie of your very own Pokemon, based on your personal likes and dislikes. You train your Pokemon and battle them against other Pokemon, instead of simply winning levels like other games.

If you have played Pokemon Pearl Version or Pokemon - Diamond Version, you might be thinking about not buying this game because of the similarities they share with Platinum. I have Pokemon Pearl and Pokemon Platinum; they both have several differences. A lot of the stuff is the same in both games, such as the gym leaders (though some of them have a few new Pokemon) and the battle tower, which has not been updated much. The storyline has changed greatly though, the battle frontier has returned from Pokemon Emerald Version, and several other updates have been made.

Until you defeat the Pokemon Champion, there are 207 Pokemon to catch (Manaphy, Dialga, and Palkia not included), so just choose your favorite. You start the game with Chimchar, Piplup, or Turtwig, but later on there are many more to choose from, so just choose your favorite.

This game has lots of strategy involved, and a great good-versus-evil storyline.

In conclusion, if you are looking for the perfect DS game, your search has ended.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2015
Great game, a lot of content (game-in-game, like underground exploration), seems somewhat harder than later versions because pokemons are
allowed to have all sorts of moves, not just the ones related to their own type(s). A normal pokemon can hit you with a psychic move, for example.

The Pokedex has a huge (500) number of entries, seems like a combination of Sinnoh and Johnto regions.

Looking forward to battling and capturing the legendary pokemons.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2009
As the title suggests, I believe Platinum is the ultimate Pokemon game in town this year! I mean what sets this apart from the other two and make it better? Lets see....you get Dialga AND Palkia in this game, about HALF the Gyms got revamped with new graphics & style (Pretty much most of the game has gotten additions & some texture changes), all the trainers have different pokemon now, Distortion World which is a unique & interesting place not to mention the huge storyline built around it and Giratina. Also, you have the Battle Frontier with five different areas to explore...you can buy your own Resort House, a Top Trainer Cafe, five new Rotom forms and so much more!

So what are you waiting for? Quit listening to me now and go buy it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2011
This game is awesome! I bought diamond and platinum, knowing barely anything about 4th generation Pokemon. I have played many different Pokemon games over the years and noticed which ones are better than others. Encountering Pokemon Platinum was a totally new experience for me as I had been waiting forever to know what this game was, how it was, and I was practically dying to see the pokemon firsthand. Beginning the game I loved how it unfolded the story into the new world of pokemon in the Sinnoh region as you encounter the new people and then the new pokemon. Although this game is technically an expanded version of diamond and pearl, it is also filled with so much more. In platinum you'll encounter both Palkia and Dialga, the two major legendary pokemon that most everyone wants. Also, you get to encounter Giratina, a pokemon that guards, and is more powerful than, Palkia and Dialga. Sadly, however, you cannot get Arceus without a cheat code which is not advisable as it probably will mess up your game.
Also, there are some legendary pokemon I don't know about, so yes, there are more legendary pokemon than I've said. Finally, there is no pokemon in platinum where you must use a master ball to catch it.
Most awesome to me is the availability of pokemon and the new ways of finding them. The graphics also, now literally almost 3D, are off the charts amazing. Although this game, like diamond and pearl, bear the glitch functions to different codes and such, which cause damage to the game, the game in itself is a wonderful turnout as you really don't need the codes.
I have to be honest, playing 3rd generation pokemon games, and lower, and then playing 4th generation, especially platinum version, blew my mind away.
For anyone unsure of which games are best out of Diamond, Pearl, and Platinum, I highly recommend Platinum; as it contains all the pokemon on both diamond and pearl and much more. Platinum is filled with even more characters, events, and fun games as well. Everything in Platinum from beginning to end is totally amazing thing. Pokemon platinum, in my opinion, is a five star, need to get game for any pokemon fan.
In closing, a few last things:
1. The game has no original flaws or glitches without cheat codes or such.
2. Cloning, as I have found out from other sources can damage your game, and by damage, I mean it can erase your game file and make you start over again. Thus, again, cheat codes highly not recommended.
3. On a lighter note, take time to enjoy the game, it really is fun, and is probably the best, or one of the best pokemon games ever made. In my opinion, the best.
4. For the Global Trade Station, you will need to be connected to the internet via cable or possibly a routers internet connection. (Router possibility is unconfirmed by me so do not expect that method to work based solely on my word).
5. As the trainer tips in the game say, talk to everyone you see, trust me, the rewards are staggering. Although, not everyone you talk to will give you something or tell you what you need to know, trust me, you still gain something from the conversation such as advice in the game or a new admiration for something. (If you don't care about the admiration of things or advice, please don't blame me or the game for discomfort as these things are put there to show a personal side to the game and are wonderful bits within the game).

Even though, I'm sure that there is an even longer list than I have written here to explain game details and how awesome the game is, I hope this review helps others and explains well enough for everyone.
All in all this game is a great find for any pokemon fan, and I hope everyone, old and new pokemon fans, can enjoy this game as much as I have.
Thanks for reading.
Update 9/13/11:

1. I have recently found out that it is possible to trade from the union room trading any pokemon at any level with any item or move to any pokemon game that pokemon platinum can trade to. This rule applies also to Pokemon Diamond and Pearl. I do not know however if this rule applies to pokemon Black, White, Heart Gold, or Soul Silver.
2. Trading in the underground or over the World Trading Station in Jubilife City you must connect through a router. Although, I have read something about using a cable, I have no idea how that works, however, I have found that the game states that it must be able to pick up wireless activity. By necessary inference, this implies that a router is used. I also believe that the game itself states this fact. However, although the Underground is, I think, but do not know, okay for trading from, the World Trading Center in Jubilife has been proven a non-advised route for trading pokemon. My advise for trading is like the old days. Try trading through the union room only. I know this takes away from the whole world trading idea, but, this will save your game from damage and/or wipe. Sorry for any trouble, but I just advise you meet up with friends you know, meet in the union room and trade their.
I think that's all I have for now, if I find anything else helpful I'll be back with a future update. Anyway, in the meantime, I thank you for reading, and hope this helped you.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2015
Pokemon Platinum is the third part of the Diamond and Pearl Pokemon games. Being third it has a few features that the other two don't have and a few twist and turns. being able to work as diamond or pearl story wise you an have a choice between legendaries you will be able to catch. Being a little dated now it does not have the 3D looks of Pokemon X/Y, and OmegaRuby/AlphaSapphire, it is still a great game with newer concepts than the GBA games. Playing RPG games and collecting stuff really is neat in how the game can be made easier or harder by what pokemon you play with or how leveled they are. This is a good game series for light RPG lovers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2014
I very much enjoy the pokemon series and watching the progress of the games throughout the years is astonishing. i started playing pokemon games way back in 1999 and my love for them has never been lost. This game much like all of the others in the series is great!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
Okay, it's not quite as classic as the older versions, but this one is definitely just as fun! I am very pleased with this purchase and it arrived on time and in like-new condition. It definitely works, even though I had to delete the old saved data, so there are no complaints.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 19 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here