Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Politically Incorrect Guide to the Civil War (The Politically Incorrect Guides)
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Lindsey Stirling Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 8, 2015
Beaut book. Well researched. Mr. Crocker gave me the whole history of the war; generals, politics, reasons, logistics, strategies, strengths and weaknesses of both sides.
He gives descriptions of the major players, their histories, beliefs, morals, characters, strengths and flaws. Attitudes and reasons were not as clearly defined as we've been led to believe.
I'd recommend it to everybody.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2015
This work is a fantastically balanced look at the War for Southern Independence. The author does not shy away from addressing the questions of this period. However,the author answers these questions without committing gross oversimplifications or resorting to the usual rhetoric.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2012
This book informs readers of the truths of History. I am glad we have the Constitutional freedom of speech so that this book could be written and sold. All Southerners and Northerners interested in true facts should read this book. You will either get very angry or you will appreciate knowing about the Civil war from a Southern point of view.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2015
This is the text that rekindled my interest in history and the War of Northern Aggression. Several of my subsequent purchases in paperback and on Kindle were a consequence of my interest in following up on the curtain thrown back on the pablum that is taught as "Civil War history".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2015
Very strong defense of the South's right to succeed (if for less than noble purposes). (I view Lincoln's violent aggression as akin to a husband killing his wife because she files for divorce).

I fear our nation has become as divided today as it was in 1860.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
It's easy to fall for the old claims that slave retention was the only reason that the South seceded from the union. Any in-depth investigation into the matter of slavery shows that the South was, in general, already well aware that the institution of slavery was unsustainable.

This is ,thankfully, not the only publication to illuminate that the real reasons were the exact same reasons the colonies originally 'seceded' from Great Britain: political and economic persecution (tariffs and unequal representation) to name a few.

Wish I had been taught the truth in school.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2016
All of the Regnery Politically Incorrect Books are worth owning, sharing, spreading around. With the way history is constantly being revised and re-written, it is refreshing to just get the facts, without a lot of looking-through-the-rear-view-mirror. It makes me just want to come up screaming with what the media get away with twisting facts to suit their personal agenda. This is a very well-written, well-documented and FACTUAL book. Recommended for anyone who wants to know the truth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2013
Given the gross misunderstandings of the US Constitution in our present day, Crocker's Guide to the Civil War is very needed and an important read. He unearths the untold story of law, conscience and culture that led to succession and provides a needed correction to the politically correct and grossly oversimplified "histories" that have clouded this horrific time. He also details the great courage and phenomenal martial and civic resolve of the CSA. Quick, insightful and heartfelt, Crocker's Guide to the Civil War is a must for those who desire to better understand forgotten concepts of constitutional philosophy and why the "War for Southern Independence" came about and ended as it did.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2008
Americans believe in their hearts that the history they learned in school was largely objective and untainted by any prejudice, but in reality "political correctness" has become the rallying cry of a religion no less intolerant than the Medieval Church that imprisoned Galileo for his beliefs. This book unmasks the fraud of the modern historical view of the "War of Northern Aggression". That the victors have indeed written the history of the "Civil War" is no where more apparent than in the prevalent view of this conflict, and Mr. Crocker unmasks this deception with wit and charm. When I first read this book I thought perhaps Mr. Crocker had stepped a little over the line, but in reviewing this gem I must say he is actually exactly correct on every point. I would have liked to see more of an economic analysis since 30% of the U.S. population (the South) was providing at least 70% of the income to the Federal Government. This was because the only important taxes that supported the Federal Government were Tariffs and Customs Revenues, and Cotton and Timber from the South were America's only important exports. But, Government expenditure was controlled by the North who could out-vote the South, and this led to unhappiness and was certainly the basic economic cause of the war. Aside from this, Mr. Crocker has done a masterful job of shining light on many truths usually hidden in this modern "Dark Age" in which we live.
33 comments| 104 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2015
Very good look at the CSA, complete with lists of relevent books and sources yo investigate for yourself.

The author has written it to br easily accessible and hard to put down. Be aware, it does go into "politically incorrect" ideas, like Lincon's suspending the rights of Union citizens and allowing the Union forces to wage total warfare on the south, meaning citizens in addition to the soldiers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse