Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Pop-Up London
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
29
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 16, 2012
The reader is floating down the Thames through five fact-filled spreads featuring many of the most well known sites in London. Each spread has a theme, like Power, Pigeons and Premiers which showcases the Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, Leicester Square, 10 Downing Street, The British Museum, Nelson's Column and Big Ben. The final spread is a wonderful recreation of Tower Bridge that actually lifts to allow a ship through and a tribute to the London 2012 Olympic Games. Not only do you see the splendid architecture of these iconic buildings from one angle, but just turn the book around to read dozens of facts about these glorious churches, museums, towers, columns, theaters, stores, homes and bridges. Each spread also includes mini-bios of famous Londoners: kings and queens, authors, composers, architects and artists. The author included a "can you find this game" and lots of fun facts about London - who knew there is a pair of Queen Victoria's underpants on display at the Victoria and Albert Museum? A definite must-see. Great book!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2013
While browsing through a bookstore (some still do exist), I ran across this wonderful book. When I teach "Romeo and Juliet", I bring in DK travel guides and other visually rich books to give my students a sense of the time and place when Shakespeare wrote. I saw "Pop-Up London" as a great resource for kids to get more interested in conveying this background information. Upon receiving "Pop-Up London" the other day, I was even more surprised at how well done this book actually is, not only on an artistic level (the pop-ups are visually stunning), but on an intellectual level as well. If one looks on the back of the pop-ups, there are inside views, descriptions of the buildings, interesting factoids. Other trivia and flaps also abound among the pages, so the Reader does feel like a tourist exploring, roaming, discovering this great city. Can't wait to share this book with my class! I know it will be a hit, and generate further inquiry for them.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2012
This book is amazing! I love everything London related and pop up books are my favorite type of book! This book is a combination of two of my favorite things and is absolutely amazing. The pictures are fabulous, there are so many interesting facts and the book is just great! I strongly recommend it!
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2012
Bought this for my Grandson to go with the Cars London set. He's only 6 but wanted to know more about London. We have fun reading about the various sites and customs. The pop ups are beautiful and the comments are very educational. Wonderful book!Disney / Pixar CARS 2 Movie Exclusive Die Cast 5Pack London Calling Set Exclusive Cars!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
I gave this five stars because it is so imaginative, well-made, engaging and educational. It's so much fun to look around at all of the details and bits of information found on each page.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2013
First grade class loves this! It also seems to be will built although all pop up books are prone to damage if not careful. It is quite accurate in my evaluation as we lived in London for some time and just moved back. After reading this and another children's book in my wife's first grade class the students checked out every England themed book at the school library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2013
I purchased this book for my 5-year-old grandson as a companion to the Big Ben nanoblock set also from Amazon. The book is well made, with great pop-ups that are double-sided. The information is interesting. My only objection is that not all information is factual. The book illustrates and describes several legends of ghosts, including one in which the beheaded victim carries around the missing head. Gruesome! It was difficult to persuade my grandson that the ghost stories weren't true since all other information was obviously based on facts, which is why I chose 4 stars instead of 5.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2016
'Pop-Up London' is an absolute joy to read, and engages the senses, being both enjoyable to look at with its beautiful graphics and pop-up constructions, and wonderful to page through and touch, making this a truly interactive experience. The book is full-sized, not quite coffee-table sized, but still large enough to enjoy in a purely tactile way, and to display for friends, family, and acquaintances, being a virtual tour of the 'highlights' of the city of London's most famous tourist attractions. For those who have visited London, it is a wonderful, quirky reminiscence, and awakens a yearning to return. For those who have always wanted to visit, it ignites the imagination and confirms their wonderlust. Highly recommended, and hope that there are more 'Pop-Up' city titles to explore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2015
WOW! What fun! I've traveled to London twice and must admit I'd love to visit again! Until then, this pop-up book is the closest thing to it! Great for kids and for adults who are kids at heart. If you love London, it will make you smile! :D
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
My adult daughter LOVES this book. She said it reminded her of her trip to England, and that there are places she didn't know about then that she wants to see. Looks like there will be another trip for her in the near future
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here