Trade in your item
Get up to a $0.55
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Pop Yeh Yeh: Psychedelic Rock From Singapore And Malaysia 1964-1970: Vol. 1

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, January 22, 2013
"Please retry"
$69.99 $38.98

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Editorial Reviews

Until now, for some unknown reason, the psychedelic rock movement in Singapore and Malaysia, aka Pop Yeh Yeh, has never been given the worldwide attention it deserves. This compilation -- Pop Yeh Yeh - Psychedelic Rock from Singapore and Malaysia 1964-1970: Vol. 1 -- is the first of its kind to focus solely on the Malay rock groups of this region. The Pop Yeh Yeh era, which took place roughly between the years of 1964 to 1970, coincided with the rapid modernization happening at the time in Singapore and Malaysia. Sublime Frequencies has already released many incredible compilations from neighboring Indonesia, so it's about time that the Malaysian groups got some attention! Pop Yeh Yeh artists instinctively cross-pollinated electric sounds of the West with Malay melodies, and added their own local poetic voice to the lyrics they wrote -- sung in Malay and sometimes Bawean. The Pop Yeh Yeh musicians started out playing in styles inspired by Western groups like The Beatles and Cliff Richard, but they eventually succeeded in creating a sound all their own -- a sound that is not only accessible to the Western ear, but also retains an undeniable Malay personality. Nearly eight years in the making, this compilation was exhaustively researched and compiled by Carl Hamm and features 26 classic tracks of the very best bands and singers from Singapore and Malaysia's Pop Yeh Yeh era, including M. Osman, Orkes Nirwana, Adnan Othman, A. Halim, Roziah Latiff and The Jayhawkers, J. Sham, Hasnah Haron, Zaleha Hamid, and many more. This CD edition comes in a tri-fold digipak with gorgeous artwork, two 40-page booklets with insanely extensive liner notes including band/artist bios, an overview of the era, translated lyrics, and plenty of rare photos taken from vintage magazines, album covers, and the artists' own personal collections.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Budi Bahasa (Adnan Othman & The Rhythmn Boys)
  2. Kisah Disampang (M. Osman & Orkes Nirwana)
  3. Aku Kechewa (Roziah Latiff And The Jayhawkers)
  4. Oh Teruna (Fatimah Amin & The Clans)
  5. Jangan Goda (Afida Es & The Siglap Boys)
  6. Oh Ya Ya - Rajah Ahmad & Dengan Dendang Irama)
  7. Temasah Ria (M. Said & Les Remaja)
  8. Bersiar Siar (Fabians Boys feat. Halipah)
  9. Dara (M. Osman & Les Fentones)
  10. Syurga Idaman (A. Rahman Hassan & Orkes Nirwana)
  11. Jauh Pandangan (Halim "Janda-Ku" Yatim & The Sangam Boys)
  12. Nelayan Bersampan (Zaleha Hamid & The Black Cats)
  13. Kasih Tak Sudah (A Ramlie & the Rhythmn Boys)
  14. Bersiar di Taman Hiboran (Salim I & The Wisma)
  15. Bimban (A. Rahman Hassan & Orkes Nirwana)
  16. Mula Bertemu (M. Rahmat & The Teruna)
  17. Revolusi (Adnan Othman & The Wanderers)
  18. Ayah... Kini ku Bercinta (Nur Azilah & Desa Bersaudara)
  19. Kembali Lagi (A. Halim & De'Fictions)
  20. Rindu (Siti Zaiton & The Twilite)
  21. Bertemasha (Zaleha Hamid & Orkes Zindegi)
  22. Sidia Siapa (Noor Hamza & Band Mesra)
  23. Surat Ku Untuk Mu (J. Sham & The Wanderers)
  24. Kan Hilang Nanti (A. Halim & De'Fictions)
  25. Tak Mengapa (A. Rahman Hassan & Orkes Nirwana)
  26. Bintang Pujaan (Hasnah Haron & The Spiritual 70s)

Product Details

  • Audio CD (January 22, 2013)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Sublime Frequencies
  • ASIN: B00AO05H22
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #234,113 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Yes, this is just as cool as you imagine it would be, 26 slabs of very old-sounding psychedelic sounds, mostly sung in Malay, some songs with a distinct Indian feel to them, but all with wild guitar sounds, some cool organ, general grooviness. Yeah! "Budi Bahasa" by Adnan Othman and the Rhythm Boys is slow and grinding, "Kisah Disampang" by M Osman and Orkes Nirwana (love the band names) is slicker and based on a cool guitar riff. "Aku Kechewa" by Roziah Latiff and the Jayhawkers starts off with some beautiful guitar riffing before going into some hauntingly beautiful female vocals. Stunning!! "Oh Teruna" by Fatimah Amin and the Clans picks up where the previous song stops - quickening the pace a notch, with a similarly beautiful female voice. Nice. "Jangan Goda" by Afida Es and the Singlap Boys is cool, funky psychedelia, also with a female lead singer making it extra spicy. "Oh Ya Ya" by Rajah Ahmad and Dengan Dendang Irama is like the title suggests - boppy and happy, this time with male voice and chorus. "Temasah Ria" by M Said and Les Remaja has some seriously distorted fuzz going for it, very cool in an MC5 sort of way!! "Bersiar Siar" by Babians Boys featuring Halipah is a rock number with a little boy singing, with lots of "la-la-la-la-la-la-la-la", it's so-so. "Dara" by M Osman and Les Fentones is poppy and breezy. "Syurga Idaman" by Azizah Mohamed and Orkes Nirwana are back with a nice number with a swampy, surfy beat and more little boy vocals. Nicer, maybe a bit Arabic here. "Jauh Pandangan" by Halim "Janda-Ku" Yatim and the Sangam Boys is chanty with chorused singing. "Nelayan Bersampan" by Zaleha Hamid and the Black Cats is a more minimal song, with plenty of emphasis on female voices singing mainly in chorus.Read more ›
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: vinyl pop