Industrial Deals HPC Magazine Deals Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Jon Batiste PCB for Musical Instruments $54.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on September 8, 2017
Read it long ago and reread it. Really is better the second time around
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 31, 2017
An excellent edition: great introduction, popular price, strong scholarly apparatus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 23, 2015
Ulysses was impossible for me to understand, but this book spoke personally to me.I understood his frustrations with his Irish background. I saw the Irish persons in his life, some noble, some cowardly, some obstinate in their Catholicism, some humorous and loving. His genius made his past alive and meaningful. I could identify with him, laugh too with him, and feel the desire to fly like Icarus.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 17, 2017
Good. Dubliners and Ulysses are both great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 9, 2015
James Joyce's A Portrait of The Artist as a Young Man is a classic novel. Joyce masterfully expresses the thoughts and emotions of his characters through prose with a seeming effortlessness, making the reading pleasurable and light. Joyce's novel paints a portrait of an Ireland entering the 20th century, and successfully imparts to the reader important issues of class, politics, religion, art, and coming of age that are relevant in every generation. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 1, 2015
This book requires unwavering attention! Esoteric to a fault!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 10, 2014
One of Joyce's classic publications, and slightly more readable than "Ulysses," for those just getting into his work. The language is floral, descriptive, and at times daunting. You may find yourself re-reading multiple pages (that all describe one scene), just to remind yourself of the plot line. However, it truly is a wonderful book, and anyone who wants to fancy them self a literary aficionado should have this in their library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 15, 2012
The last time I taught the Portrait I used Oxford's excellent 2000 edition. In 2008 this was reissued with a new Standard Book Number, but so far I've found no changes in the text. The bibliography hasn't been updated, for instance, and the typo on p. 134 of the 2000 printing (where the sentence "Once a priest always a priest" comes out "Once a priest ways a priest") is still there in 2008.

But there is a change in the cover design. In 2000 this included part of Gino Severini's "Self-Portrait," but in 2008 the picture has been cut further back and it's now misidentified as "A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man."

This edition is still excellent, but if you have a chance to buy the 2000 printing there's no point in spending more on the 2008 printing.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 25, 2013
First of all kudos to the Easton Press for a beautiful, high quality leather bound book. Lovely raised spines, paper that makes me want to touch it again and again, gorgeous real moiré cloth end covers, and sumptuous gilded page edges on all 3 sides, plus a generously sized ribbon marker.

This book is a biography of the forming years of James Joyce. Place and time period must be taken into account, as always what is happening in our world and in our space is definitive in forming our beliefs, ideas, morals, judgments, our immediate and future decisions.
Definitely one of the most difficult literary reads I have encountered to date. It took me over a week to read this book, and it wants reading again in order for me to gain more understanding. It was like walking at a quick pace through the grocery store and knowing I was missing part of what was on the shelves. Joyce seems to ponder things continually, it seems his mind is never at rest, even when he is observing something his mind is thinking, wondering, defining, a multitude of ideas and thoughts about that thing he is observing.
James attends a catholic school from his first school years all the way through college, the reader lives within the canyons of Stephen Dedalus' (ie - James Joyce) mind, indeed Stephen keeps us so close to his impressions, beliefs, emotions, and insights that the reader can catch a glimpse of the top of the canyon walls only intermittently. But this allows the reader to be lead right where the author wants us, we are given such an intimate portrait of the most formative years of Joyce through Stephen. It is impossible to miss understanding how Stephen came to his conclusions and it is impossible to miss the deep intellectual intelligence that James Joyce possessed.
This work is also a walk through history of Ireland from about 1895-1910/1912. A time of the beginning of a huge upheaval in Ireland and movements put in motion that changed the face of the Irish people forever. One wonders if Stephen/Joyce would have taken the same direction in his adult life if he had not been subjected to a far less intensive time during his most formative years. Much to ponder here, and a wonderful study into cause and effect.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 30, 2017
There are no page numbers in this book! I ordered the book for my daughter's AP English summer work, but I had to go out and buy a second copy because she needed page numbers to complete the written part of her assignment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here