Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 44 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 74 reviews
on October 20, 2013
This soundtrack, and the Order of the Phoenix also by Nicholas Hooper, suffer in some people's minds from the lack of soaring theme music like on the first Harry Potter CD.

But the theme song is already written, and these movies require more subtle sounds and songs. Which they deliver.

Both are darker, less childlike songs, also as required by the increasing dark and depressing world of the Harry Potter series. It's no longer a child's world of school tests and jumping candy frogs. Evil has been released, and is winning.

Highlights here include Opening, a dark and foreboding introduction, In Noctum, with a haunting chorus, Into the Rushes, a prelude to battle with evil, and my favorite, the haunting Slughorn's Confession. A silly name, through accurate. It perfectly fits the mood of Slughorn's confession - sorrow, loss, and guilt.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2015
I will be using the song "When Harry Kissed Ginny" from this album to walk down the aisle to next month. Bought this album and honestly love all the songs on it. You can close your eyes and watch the movie happening in your head as you hear the music!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2015
I imagine a lot of people hoped that the very delightful and sort of upbeat themes that John Williams penned would continue, but anyone who has read the books knows the picture grows continually darker. So it is with the sound tracks of the movies. Nicholas Hooper does a wonderful job of conveying this darkness without overwhelming you with it. His music very nicely accompanies the mood of the film from beginning to end, and I like it enough to give it 5/5.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2016
not the same without John Williams but music just as dark as ever to fit the theme of the movie. having seen the movie lots of times now, the scores are now helping me remember which scene of the movie it is from.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2011
I really like the ambient nature of the music in Half Blood Prince (sorry John Williams snobs). It's great to hear the subtleties in the music that are inaudible in the movie due to interfering dialogue or distracting noises. The sound quality here is crystal clear.

My only complaint is that two pieces of music were left off that I was really looking forward to hearing. Missing is the tense music played when Harry, Ron and Hermione are pursuing Draco and his mom in Nocturn Alley. Also missing is the haunting music played just after Dumbledore is killed. Really!!!?

There was plenty of room on the CD capacity to have included them, and they did include plenty of musical pieces that were rather less memorable, so I don't get it. Minus one star from Gryffindor, I mean, this soundtrack.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2013
Nicholas Hooper goes further/deeper/more poignant in Half Blood Prince. "In Noctem" sets the mood beautifully and, for me, communicates the tragedy of Draco, a boy who should be enjoying school life but is haunted and pressured by his mission. The simple guitar tune "When Ginny Kissed Harry" is exquisite. And there is of course that great crescendo when Dumbledore and Harry "Journey to the Cave." Breathtaking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2014
It is a soundtrack with some fun songs but also some sad, as an appetizer of things to come. Includes a song that does not appear in the film, is one of my favorites.
Excellent product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
I'm starting a Harry Potter and fantasy club. I ordered this product to use in that club. The club is for children ages 5-17. The seller was excellent. Everything arrived on time and for the cost we go more than we expected. The kids love this item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2014
This was a replacement for the album I lost. Loved it then still love it now. Liked John Williams music better but this guy is good too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2016
Love the soundtrack for this. So moving!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse