Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 176 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 326 reviews
on July 27, 2016
So at Castle Rock, we are in the process of creating a vision statement, or perhaps creating some stronger branding within the community. Of course, there are hundreds of books from the religious community on this topic, but instead of reading the same stuff repackaged, I always look to read for other sources to create more creativity within myself. A leader needs a wide variety of material to think outside of the box, and when you think about Starbucks, whatever you think of the coffee, but you cannot say that the company has not branded itself well. It is highly known in this culture. So wanted to read about this man that accomplished a lot. Howard Schultz grew up poor, and has done a great job leading the company. Even when he stepped away, the company started to fail, but he came back, and the company took off again. The book is really fun to read, and is insightful on the journey of growing the company. It is a great story, but there is also a lot of practical advice. You have to root your organization in values and principles because if you have to think through every choice, you are killing valuable time. I liked the chapters on growing large, and feeling small. I liked the people focused dynamics. A lot of the topics translate into the church world well. If you are looking for a light read, this is a good book, and will make you think about your church culture too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2016
let's see, I'd say the real life true stories of this man are mind blowing. Some people only dream of opening a store a day, WOW... If he can do that, surely we can do amazing things in our businesses. Being a solicitor of private financing to flip houses, it's very cool to see how this man raised money to sell coffee, unimaginable in that time period. I especially like the relation where in the 1980's, cold coffee was poured down the sink. Then fast forward to today, cold coffee is sold at premium prices at every restaurant. Thnx for all the insight, business and life tips.. oh, and wonderful quotes starting each chapter....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2013
This is one of the best books I read in a long time. It is basically a how to book for running a business. He talks about having a vision and giving more than you promise. Think long term, but make sure you are giving your customers a product, service and an experience that will be positively received near and long term. As you grow make sure you bring in people who have already gone through this growth so you can benefit from their experience. Don't cheapen your product or service or you will lose out longer term for short term gains. The stuff talked about in this book isn't brand new, but not many businesses follow this advice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2013
For years I was not a big coffee drinker. Somehow I survived college without giving into the caffeinated demon of the dark roast. However, a year after graduate school, I found myself working for a university that had me help manage the on campus coffee shop. Quickly I learned the science and art that is espresso making. Over time I was transformed from a delicate Frappuccino drinker to a serious espresso connoisseur (also known as a coffee snob).

Soon I began to critique the subtle nuance of every coffee shop I visited. Most were very consistent with being inconsistent. Depending on the barista, your latte could be delicious or terribly bitter. Only one place could give me a reliable tasty latte with great service. This is how I became very impressed with Starbucks.

Eventually I learned a lot more about Starbucks as a company. I heard about its lightning fast rise to the top, the way it hires and trains its baristas, and its community involvement. The man who transformed Starbucks from a coffee wholesaler in Seattle to the name brand mega-company was none other than Howard Schultz, Starbucks Chairman and CEO.

Pour Your Heart into It chronicles the history of Starbucks and how it grew into a national brand synonymous with great coffee. From the Schultz's account, you see that the success of Starbucks occurred not by well-developed strategic business planning or incredibly good luck. Starbucks rose to the top because everyone at Starbucks - from the part-time barista to the CEO - believed in the company. Each employee is passionate about working for Starbucks and Starbucks was passionate about each employee.

This book is a very interesting and personal account about the rise of Starbucks. I definitely recommend this to anyone interested in running an organization with passion and authenticity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2015
This is a great book that shows the true heart of not only Starbucks, but Howard Schultz as well. The writing style and structure conveyed as much information as the actual words; the narrative jumped around a lot and was set at a frenetic pace, but it wasn't bad thing. Rather, this scattered approach let Schultz's passion and true nature show through and made what you were reading feel even more authentic. If anyone has any doubts as to Starbuck's intentions, they need only read this book. If you are interested in the company's history and details of it's many quirks, but aren't very bothered by unique writing styles, then definitely get this book. Starbucks is everywhere, so why not get to know it?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2017
Very good read. It tells me how to not take no for answers and always be determined to chase your dream.
It's very inspiring and keeps me working hard at my work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2017
It tells you how a humble company from Seattle continued to reinvent itself, not just its products and brand, but also its people, the capability of its management and the company's vision throughout different stages of the company development. A great 101 to understand retail business and today's consumers. Innovation and investment is required for any business today even as dull as staple and retailing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2016
I'm a big Starbucks fan and it was great to read about the early days and what went into making the brand THE BRAND. I downloaded the book while on a trip to Seattle. Overall, there are some great life and business lessons in this book, especially for someone who is building a business, as I am. Sometimes, it's a bit self-congratulatory, but I guess when you look at what Starbucks has become, it's okay to rest on your laurels a bit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2010
Pour Your Heart into It is one of the best business book I've read. It covers the period between Starbucks beginning in the 1970's to its national prominence in the late 1990's. Howard Schultz, the founder of Starbucks, eloquently chronicles the beginnings of Starbucks. It started out as a coffee roasting company that focuses on selling high equality coffee beans to customers with rich and particular taste. Howard liked that and decided to leave his lucrative New York job to join Starbucks, then just a small company in Seattle. After a visit to Europe, he envisioned an expansion plan for Starbucks. It centered around bringing the Italian Espresso cafe experience to America. Unfortunately, the owners of Starbucks (the coffee roasting company) disapproved of this idea. This pushed Schultz to start his own coffee company, with Starbucks as one of his investors. This company succeeded in what it did and transformed the way Americans have their coffee. He created the precursor of modern day Starbucks. Howard Schultz ended up acquiring Starbucks with the help of venture capitalist investors and kept its name. After merging the two companies, he created the Starbucks we know and like. He does make it sound so easy and smooth ride through national and global expansion. As if everything just fell into it natural place. He credit the success of Starbucks to the focus on high quality in every thing they do; from the staff and setting of their coffee houses to the quality of the coffee their buy. It is one of the nicest business book I've read for sure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2016
This was a great book with practical business tips and information. As a person who doesn't like coffee, I felt compelled to go try the coffee. The author and CEO was vulnerable, witty, and honest. Although the book was written in the late 90's, many of the lessons still apply today, especially as the demands, skepticism, and businesses lacking integrity increase. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse