Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Doppler $139.99 All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis dm3 Shop Now toystl17_gno_dm3



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on January 18, 2017
All global warming fanatics should read this book, it will enlighten them and make them
question some of the propaganda they have been fed by the liberal media!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2010
My criticism first: I thought the author's writing style was a little hard to follow at times. Also I could do without the occasional sarcasm. I'm more into "textbook-style" non-fiction books. That being said, I gave the book 5 stars anyway because these criticisms take away nothing from "Power Grab" as it's an important, informative, and well researched effort.

Every American should read this, especially those concerned with the environment and the future of this planet. If you know absolutely nothing about the "green" movement "Power Grab" will seem almost unbelievable. But it's not hyperbole. It's all real and documented.

Again, every American should read this immediately.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2010
Stunning (and not in a good way)! I wish every American would read this book (or listen to the CD set). It's an incredible indictment of the apparently ever-growing and influential "green/renewable-energy" movements, which may well destroy our country and the entire globe. This book is well-researched and documented. It exposes the hatred radical environmentalists feel toward humanity and how their movement will destroy American jobs and decimate our standard of living.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2014
Chris Horner makes good arguments and the information to confirm is referenced. This is a very helpful book for anyone who is active in the real conservationist and solution minded efforts because the left is not real in this - that is, their self proclaimed nanny-role. To be clear, the left is in it for political advantages. They care not for how the real results end up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2011
This is a great book. I would have given it five stars, but I am reading the Kindle version and the end notes are not hot. This makes it extremely difficult to switch between text and notes. Given the large quantity of end notes (a testimony to the depth of research and documentation) this is a major flaw.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2010
As the U.S. Senate prepares to rush through legislation whose champions now hail as an "energy" bill - but from early indications it happens to include the same tired "green jobs" schemes like cap-and-trade, mandates and subsidies for uneconomic technologies - Chris Horner's"Power Grab" could not be more timely.

Horner lays out the truth about the economic costs of "green jobs" schemes, citing what ought to be obvious first principles but which are proving so elusive to politicians claiming we will repeat Europe's glorious successes. Green jobs represent some of the worst ideologically driven misinformation ever. As Horner details with extensive sourcing, Europe's experience is anything but one which we should replicate. It is instead one that contributed greatly to the unfolding European bankruptcy. Greece will certainly not be the only statist trouble spot in the EU and energy policies along with suffocating entitlements are at the top of the failed European experiment that American politicos want to emulate. Horner makes the case against these boondoggles in language the layman will understand.

This is similarly useful to the typical voter, generally unconcerned with these issues but increasingly sensing something wrong with America's new course, specifically this agenda being promoted by a broad array of usual suspects. "Power Grab" provides the research of what this collaboration, if it succeeds, will mean for the average household, and an individual's liberties.

The book similarly strips bare the strange talking point that this agenda benefits America's national security. One example Horner invokes is the supposed peril of China "eating our lunch" in what is apparently a strategic race to perfect the windmill, what President Obama calls a "new technology". That it is per se a strategic good to be the world leader in something, for the sake of being the world leader, is facially absurd yet is invoked by politicians today.

Horner addresses this - developing countries like China will always have a comparative advantage in supplying such gadgets to rich countries that mandate them, one reason being that they don't drag their economy down with such mandates. And China is installing the contraptions because western mandates pay China to do so, to avoid the impossible task of actually reducing emissions on their own shores.

Also important to the debate is the reality behind Obama's praise (in a vacuum) that "some of America's biggest companies support" his green agenda. Indeed they do. Horner answers the question "why?", and what these rent-seekers hope to use the state to take from you in this latest twist on the old model of using the state to create scarcity, imposing the statists' will on you while keeping competitors away from the state's business partners.

For exposing and detailing these realities at this critical moment "Power Grab" is a strong and important read.

Prof. Michael J. Economides
Editor-in-Chief
Energy Tribune
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2010
Great educational book regarding the "Global Warming Crisis" and the fraud being perpetrated on energy users by Al Gore, the defunct Enron and the US Government.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2014
Get this book and read it to prepare for the direction that Obama's EPA Radicals are taking this country.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2010
Excellent book! Clearly and with humor lays out the real agenda behind the entire "green" movement. Well supported and will change your views.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse