Industrial Deals HPC Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Start your Baby Registry



on April 9, 2018
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 4, 2015
Some good material to "chew on". The ONLY criticism would be there is too much discussion of couples in therapy. I think most of that is just filler to meet some publisher's requirement of number of words submitted. BUT the basic thoughts for striving for the middle ground are worth the price of the book, no question!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 28, 2014
I'm not overly impressed with this book and think the advice given is pretty generic. I'm also not a fan of the writing style, but that is generally unique to each reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 11, 2013
...I think this will be great, but I haven't used it enough yet. I do like how the author has written this from today's perspective---I'm straight but I really like how there are stories and techniques applicable to gay, lesbian and trans-gendered couples.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 15, 2014
Excellent for anyone struggling to communicate and resolve issues in a relationship. Most helpful book I read by far and made a difference for us
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 15, 2009
With this important, intelligent, and accessible book, Marty Babits does more than demonstrate his expertise in helping couples heal; he suggests a rich and meaningful theoretical concept--the Middle Ground--that will resonate with and give hope to anyone who has ever felt trapped, stymied, or at a loss about how to connect with a partner. The stories of real couples transitioning from pain to progress with the author's compassionate and insightful guidance, will move you; and the author's interventions and suggested exercises will not only motivate you to take action, but also show you how to go about it. The book will also help you to truly know yourself and your partner, no easy thing and the key to building a lasting, flexible and strong relationship that grows as partners do. As someone who has interviewed many dozens of couples for my own research, I believe that The Power of the Middle Ground has important lessons to impart, not only to the lay reader, but also to therapists, researchers, and relationship experts. Moreover, it is rare that a book for couples suggests a paradigm so rich that it can also be helpful to couples in a remarriage or reparternship with children, that most fragile of unions. The Power of the Middle Ground is just such an unusual book, and I recommend it highly and without hesitation to couples in general, and also to the many people who seek information about how to resolve conflict and find fulfillment and mutual understanding in their remarriages with children. *****
Wednesday Martin, Ph.D.
Author, Stepmonster: A New Look at Why Real Stepmothers Think, Feel, and Act the Way We Do
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 16, 2009
Fantastic book - should be an invaluable resource for couples (of all kinds) who wish to bring renewed vitality to their relationships and to reconnect with the feelings of love and attraction that brought them together in the first place. Mr. Babits has devised a novel and highly effective model that can be used by couples to create a safe space (his Middle Ground), where communication, understanding, trust, and mutual acceptance can flourish free from the light-blocking canopy of anger, fear, frustration, and hopelessness that so often obscures the still viable bond between partners. While the Middle Ground paradigm Mr. Babits has constructed is a profound one, with the potential to be applied wherever there has been a breakdown in communications - even on a global scale - this remains a practical book, a nuts-and-bolts approach complete with step-by-step instructions, exercises, and stories of couples who have used the Middle Ground concept to their benefit. For anyone who feels that his/her relationship has stagnated in an atmosphere of cynicism and despair, this book, The Power of the Middle Ground, is serious medicine. With a true commitment to applying the principles it outlines, couples can restore a feeling of openness and possibility to their shared lives - and rediscover the room to breathe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 3, 2009
Marty Babits' book The Power of the Middle Ground is a find! This insightful book on couple communication will motivate and teach couples how to pave the way to more open and supportive relationships.

Mr. Babits is a communications expert par excellence as well as a skilled couples therapist. His book is chock full of stories and examples that couples can relate to easily. He offers a creative strategy for guiding them to the "middle ground." His method breaks down the impasse of anger and reactivity. With Babits' technique, described very clearly, the couple can begin to listen and hear each other in a different way. There are moving examples of couples relating in a deeply caring and respectful way, which before reaching the "middle ground," seemed impossible.

This book is an important contribution to couple counseling. I will certainly recommend it to stepcouples where the challenges of adjusting to stepfamily life are difficult and dicey. This will be a valuable resource for them.

I give it a five star rating without a doubt!

Susan Wisdom LPC
Author of Stepcoupling, Creating and Sustaining a Strong Marriage in Today's Blended Family
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 3, 2010
The book, Power of the Middle Ground: A Couple's Guide to Renewing Your Relationship is a self-help book that teaches couples how to settle differences, point out the positive, look at each person's point of view, reduce anger, and refresh the relationship. So what is the Middle Ground? According to the author, it is a place where a person can share their emotions freely and feel very safe with their partner. There are numerous exercises in the book that help couples to identify the positives in their relationship and teach them to appreciate each other. The author explores each topic with a case scenario, and shares the feelings of the couple to help explain the topic. The book is easy to read and teaches us that communication is important in maintaining a relationship that is honest and fair. (Reviewed by Eileen, Melissa's mom)

I received a free copy of the book from FSB Associates for my honest review. I was not compensated for the review.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 5, 2009
Power of the Middle Ground: A Couple's Guide to Renewing Your Relationship
Marty Babits has written a terrific book, for both couples and therapists. It is a user friendly guide
that has many practical exercises and unique examples that both make sense and work. As a couple's
therapist, and also someone in a relationship, I can attest to this. Mr. Babits gives communication, anger
and keeping love alive a new framework. The "Middle Ground", is, indeed, powerful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse