Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 51 reviews
on October 17, 2013
This is a phenomenal book, and very well written. It's about how and why we think what we think, what motivates us. Excellent insights into common methods that individuals and institutions use to indoctrinate us (starting from parents to religion, schools, and the list goes on).....Tricks cults use to steal away our sense of who we are, and how to reverse the damage and start living free. I think it's especially relevant for people living in the US. Great read I would recommend to everyone. This book made me want to read all Jim Loehr's books. I have them all and lots of my friends have borrowed them and found them very useful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2008
The Power of Story gives you the opportunity to challenge your current story and decide how you will define your story from this point forward. If the traditional self-help books have not produced results, perhaps it is now time for you to consider digging deeper to create the story of your life. Well...are you ready to write the next chapter...your way?? If you are willing, you will be guided by author Jim Loehr who has worked with Olympic and Professional athletes and the Captains of industry.
Why not take the next step...and see what happens!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2017
Good tool for re-writing your objectives and life's plan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2013
We all have stories that we tell about ourselves. This books asks us to look at those stories, and decide if we like them, decide if they help us or hinder us in the telling. We hold onto things that we call truths about ourselves. Some of those "truths" are things others have told us about who we are, and we just blindly believe. This books encourages self-reflection and re-writing stories that we don't like, stories that create integrity, character and strength within us. I enjoy reading and re-reading this book. There are things in here that every person needs to know.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2017
Good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2010
As I get older I have found a greater respect for the power of words and story telling.

This book helps you understand your story and yourself and the opportunity to put your life in perspective. This is a book for becoming or transformation as an essential guidebook for your life. It helps you build a foundation for life, understanding and happiness.

Changing where we are is a difficult task. This book can help. I am often reminded of the Buddhist Proverb, "When the student is ready, the teacher will appear." We are often way too busy to stop and understand it is time for that teacher now.

Ever find a book that you would want to buy multiple copies to share with your family and friends? This is one of those books.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
Why does our world seem so negative? Why do we struggle so hard to achieve our dreams only to see them disappear? Jim Loehr's book goes right to the heart of the matter, or the mind of the matter would probably be more accurate. According to Loehr it is our internal stories that hold us back. Our stories are flawed, filled with negative, false images of ourselves and those around us. In order to reach our true destiny in life, we must first articulate those negative stories and then rewrite them. Loehr walks you through the process step by step.

If you're tired of your negative story and you're ready to tackle it head on, this is the book for you. It helped me to rewrite mine. It's not a 'quick fix' but it's definitely the path to a more productive and happy life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 6, 2009
Best selling author (The Power of Full Engagement), Jim Loehr, followed his passion, and combined his love of psychology and sports to create a specialized business helping elite athletes achieve optimum performance by changing their story. His initial high-profile clients included Monica Seles, Jim Courier, Mark O'Meara, Grant Hill, among many others. In changing their stories, he redefined how they ate, practiced, rested, recovered and, most importantly perceived themselves. Since then, his clientele has expanded to include the Navy SEALS, Army Special Forces, the FBI elite anti-terrorist force, and high profile businesses and executives.

"The Power of Story" outlines the principles he followed and has applied to achieve "success." His own story was one where he felt he needed to focus his energy on his career to achieve maximum success. He then came to realize in the process of gaining professional success that he was about to lose something far more valuable - his family.

Loehr came to understand the key to almost all of our problems, faulty storytelling of the most important story we will ever tell - the story we tell ourselves about ourselves. This story drives the way we gather and spend our energy.

He provides this example:

"Losing a wallet or being in a car accident is factually what happened but the meaning or significance you give to either of these two events - `I am a careless person' or `bad things happen to me' becomes the reality you create... these form the only reality you will ever know in this life." These stories which we tell ourselves may or may not conform to the real world. "They may or may not inspire us to take hope-filled action to better our lives. They may or may not take us ultimately where we want to go." But they will influence as our destiny "follows our stories."

"The Power of Story" centers on the imperative that we must do everything in our power to get our stories right for personal happiness. The book provides the tools and exercises to identify and rewrite our story, and delivers insights on performance psychology, exercise physiology, and nutrition based on hard data.

Do you know what stories are speaking to you?

Are they good or bad? If yours is bad story, you will continue to give energy to a bad story, and you will almost assuredly beget another bad one, or ten. This diet of faulting thinking will ultimately have long-term negative consequences.

"The Power of Story" will help you seriously edit your story, and create the success and meaning you truly want.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2015
Excellent and encouraging. This book was written from a perspective of the importance of ones own life story and its effect on others and how it can change their lives for the better. I am determined to allow my story to stand on its own and allow the Holy Spirit to work it in other people's lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2016
Definitely a book to dive into if you're looking to change your life, but you have to be willing to be honest with yourself as well as making changes. This book arrived on time and was in great condition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse