Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Garnet Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon thechi thechi thechi  Echo Dot Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now



on December 26, 2017
Excellent book with clear photos and instructions on Ashtanga primary series. A very engaging book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 27, 2017
The grand dame of Ashtanga practice for yogis, yogins, athletes. A thorough must-read, library necessity for Hatha yoga instructors, also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 1, 2017
I just take my time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 16, 2014
I enjoyed the book; didn't buy it to 'read' but to see about 'power yoga'.....I started yoga again after 25 years of doing other fitness stuff.

If you like yoga, and reading about Beryl Bender's adventures, and opinions I recommend you get this book.
It's been out for about 14 years, I think, so I am behind the times....
Even now, in her late 60s or early 70s (I dont remember her age) she is still fit. I saw a recent picture of her with her sled dogs, and she looks pretty good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 15, 2017
got it for class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 11, 2017
Great!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 7, 2017
Useful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 8, 1999
This book is a must have for anyone interested in realigning their body and overcoming injury. While most of us will never duplicate some of the more difficult poses, with practice - most of them can be achieved. The author makes it very clear that mastering this yoga work is not done quickly or easily. Do not buy this book if you are not willing to work hard. This book is geared mainly toward preventing and recovering from injury - realigning the body thru strength and stretch work. There is quite a bit of text dealing with injury and misalignment - explaining the benefits and process of healing. Also explained in great detail is the proper breathing technique for this practice. The breath is an important part of *heating up* the body. This heat enables the body to perform the stretch work safely. The only complaint I have about this book is that the picture labeling is difficult to follow. If the book is reprinted, this should be addressed.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 27, 2017
Perfect for learning the Ashtanga practice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 15, 2013
This is the best, most complete yoga book I've ever read. It is available in paperback and also for kindle. The pictures show the exact alignment of the postures and how dedicated practice can heal the body and prevent injury. Beryl explains the right way to practice yoga and the wrong way. This book is great for someone just starting out in yoga, as well as advanced yoga practitioners.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse