Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

  • Customer reviews



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 673 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 790 reviews
on May 3, 2017
These are a great, inexpensive solution for professional photographers using multiple small off-camera flashes. They have good capacity and provide quick flash recycle times.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2015
I don't know if I got a faulty batch or what, but these batteries rapidly die off after only a couple of uses. By that I mean, they work very well until they run out of juice, and then they hardly work after recharging them. After 2 recharges, they are all dead. Waste of money.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2016
While the description claims they'll take hundreds of charges after less than six months all four of them now after regular use with a mflb will not holding a charge and I've reverted to using the OEMs. The charger still shows they're charging and reach "full charge" but the amount of power they output now is next to nothing. Over the past few months I've had to cycle through them eventually getting to the point I'm at now of only a single battery holding a charge. While you could argue months of use should be worth the price tag the fact they're advertised as performing much better/longer than my real world testing/usage has proven I can't give them more than 2 stars and won't bother buying more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2016
I am far from impressed with these. I splurged and spent a good $5 more than the alternative rechargeable NiMH AAs on the market due to the high capacity advertised (2700mAh). After opening, I let them charge overnight and then put a pair of 'em into my bluetooth Apple Magic Mouse. A day later, they are at 39%. The previous NiMH recharcheables I used (Apple's 661-5690 1900mAh 1.2v AA) lasted more than a month per charge. At close to 50% additional capacity than the OEM batteries, I expect 50% better performance. That, I certainly did not get.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2015
Im a professional photographer and These are my go to batteries for my flashes. Performance wise they outperform anything else ive used Tip tho these arent meant to hold a charge for a long period of time so if you want to use these for that purpose id buy powerex's Imedion series batteries. These are meant for people that power through batteries daily as I do. I have about 10 sets of these as I sometimes shoot 3 times a day. Usually one set will last for 3 hours of shooting or about 700+ photos in a low light area on a canon 600ex. will last about 400+ shots in day light as fill flash.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2011
After charging these batteries using the Break-In/Forming charge on my Maha/PowerEx C-9000 charger, the actual AH ranged from a low of 2580mAH to a high of 2623mAH, with an average of 2599mAH. Although advertised as 2700mAH batteries, the manufacturer's published minimum guaranteed capacity is 2500mAH, of which they all exceeded.

After reading other reviews of this battery, I have not found the poor performance many others have experienced.

One conclusion may be that the batteries are being improperly charged. Improperly charging a battery is a sure way to damage it. Typically a battery can be charged two ways; either a trickle charge (with the typical overnight or 16 hour chargers), or fast charge (1, 2, 4, or 8 hour chargers).

When the battery approaches overcharge, a fast charger MUST reduce the charge rate. If the rapid charge rate is allowed to remain applied when the battery is fully charged, the battery risks damage, a blown overpressure seal, leaking electrolyte and so on. NiMH cells in particular are very sensitive to high overcharge current and can be easily damaged.

When a battery is trickle charged, the charge rate is not sufficiently high enough to damage the battery when it goes into overcharge. While charging for 16 hours is not as convenient, it is the safest method of charging, and will actually charge the battery to a higher capacity than a fast charger (unless the fast charger is a combination fast/trickle charger).

Since fast chargers must reduce their charge rate prior to going into overcharge, a method of sensing the battery's voltage, temperature, or a combination of the two must be employed so that the charger can detect when the battery is close to overcharge. For most fast chargers, there is a margin of of safety built into the charge profile so that the fast charge is removed well in advance of overcharge. This will result in the battery having less than 100% charge.

Some of the better fast chargers do switch to trickle charge at the completion of the fast charge to complete the charge. This still takes time, and often requires several hours of trickle charge to put a 100% charge into the battery.

Cheap fast chargers may not even sense overcharge, but simply provide a timed charge. With these chargers, unless the battery is fully discharged, the risk of high-current overcharge is significant.

The mechanism used in a fast charger to determine when a battery is at the threshold of overcharge is somewhat dependent on the manufacturer's battery design variances, battery capacity, and other factors.

Due to these factors, and efforts to keep charger costs low, a specific manufacturer's Fast charger may not be sophisticated enough to employ the proper circuitry to properly detect the overcharge point of another manufacturer's battery. Therefore, charging different brands of batteries on another manufacturer's FAST charger, while assumed as safe by many, may NOT safe in my opinion, and can cause battery damage.

One exception are the high-end Charger/Analyzers made by Maha/PowerEx and LaCrosse. These chargers use sophisticated overcharge detection circuitry to monitor voltage, changes in voltage, and temperature. Even then, if you incorrectly setup one of these chargers, you may still damage a battery.

Most battery manufacturers state that you will void the battery warranty by charging the battery improperly, which includes the use of other brand chargers. There is more to this than liability, there is a significant risk of battery damage.

However, it is generally accepted that overnight/16 hour/trickle chargers are safe for charging any brand battery, and notwithstanding any manufacturer disclaimer, may be safely mixed brand-wise. While there are always exceptions to even this convention, the charge rates are (hopefully) generally low enough that overcharging the battery will not damage it.

I am not sure why many folks are having problems with batteries, but perhaps it's due to improperly fast charging them.

To restate, I would never recommend FAST charging a battery on another manufacturer's FAST charger, unless it was specifically designed for that purpose (most of which are not).
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2013
I am always willing to pay a little more for a Powerex rechargeable battery. I have also used Enloop, Energizer, Sony and another brand I can't recall at the moment. These 2700mAh batteries are work horses in whatever I put them in, although none my rechargeables are champs in cameras or hot shoe flashes. But, in everything else I use them in, these batteries work great. The first Powerex batteries I have are some of the oldest rechargeables I own (5+ years) and they are still going strong. I use an Energizer brand charging station and they charge up in a few hours.

We also used these in our church's wireless wearable mic packs after having a poor experience with Enloops. The Enloops couldn't get through our three morning services. Based on my history with Powerex, I bought more of these and the problem was solved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2011
I've owned and tested everything out there, and this is the best in terms of mAh yield. I own a half dozen sets of these, and they all test at about 2600 mAh after refreshing. For reference, the duracell "2650 mAh" batteries test at around 2500 typically. Yes eneloops are great batteries, and HOLD a charge like nothing else (unbeatable for photographers who leave them sitting in the camera bag for long periods), but they can't match the raw output these batteries give. These batteries are designed for people like myself (regular scanner user)who go through a set of batteries every few days to a week, so that self-discharge isn't really an issue. You can't go wrong with these batteries if you rotate batteries at least every 1-2 weeks. If you want batteries that sit for long periods and hold a charge, buy eneloops, but realize they don't have the endurance these have. *****TIP: If you are serious about battery performance, you need a good charger that can refresh batteries, and can test them, display actual capacity, and charge at various rates. Remember that a set of batteries is no better than the weakest in the set, and unless you test, you might never notice that one is weaker than the others. A good refresh charger can often bring this weaker battery up to snuff with the others, and you can see the test to prove it. If it remains weaker, you can match it with weaker batteries for matched sets. Keep in mind, even great batteries like the Powerex batteries, sometimes need to be run through refresh cycles when new to get them to full capacity. Batteries that sit for a while also benefit from a refresh. Check out the AccuPower IQ328 charger that runs about $35 if you look around. It does all of this, and helps you get the full value out of top of the line batteries. Also, if possible keep charged sets in your refrigerator to slow self-discharge. Good luck.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2009
These Powerex AA rechargeables are the best I've tried.

I've tried several different brands of NiMH AA batteries (Delkin @ 2900 mAH, Power2000 @ 2500 mAH, La Crosse @ 2600 mAH, Duracell @ 2650 mAH, and DigiCam @ 1800 mAH). I use the La Crosse BC-900U charger on all of them so that I can see to what capacity they can be charged to, and even the La Crosse batteries that came with it can't be charged up to their own stated capacity. Duracell and Delkin both had a dud in each 4-pack of AA batteries. For all five manufacturers, the fully charged capacities of their AA batteries never exceeded about 80% of their stated capacities. None ever came close to a "full charge'. There was always at least one in each pack (excluding the dud in each pack) that would only charge up to about 50-60% of capacity, which would lead to a premature "Low Battery' shutdown of my camera.

The Powerex on the other hand, all charged to 95%+ of their rated 2700 mAH capacities and really last!.
88 comments| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Never seem to have enough rechargeable batteries, and bought these based on price and recommendations in reviews here on Amazon. They came fully charged, which is always a plus. They hold their charge fantastically, provide, solid power, and last long.

If you are looking for a solid rechargeable battery at a good price, you've found it with these Powerex.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse