Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 34 reviews
on April 25, 2013
I was waiting for Josef Prusa`s book to come out when I decided to buy this on Kindle. I was six months into my first build of a Mendel Prusa V2 finding it difficult to get a clear step-by-step guide all in one place. The RepRap community and Wiki are great, but not so concise. When I first started reading this book, I wasn't that impressed. As I progressed on my build I found myself referring to it more and finally relying on it. While the author tries to be circumspect this is clearly aimed at the RepRap Mendel. This is a good thing, as it doesn't try to be a generic and meaningless overview. There are an incredible number of resources, and just about every link is relevant and even exciting.The author takes you from basic hardware, firmware in enough specific detail to really be useful for for the most popular electronics. He introduces the best open source software tools and model sources and walks you through a very practical project. Lots of tips, like using a wet method to mount Kaptan tape on the heated bed, which is almost impossible to do any other way. I found it worth the price now that I'm actually extending plastic .
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2012
This is a "No Fluff" book full of first hand experience. I own the Makergear Mosaic M1 pictured on the front, and examples using the printer are throughout the book. I also own a Makerbot Thing-o-matic, and a RepRap Prusa which is also covered quite well in the book. There are a few things that aren't exactly right, but Cartesian printers and CNC in general can be exacting and complicated so there's no real faulting him for being a bit off.
He covers many of the new technology like Slic3r and Printrbot. I've read about half the book now and I'm quite pleased at the detail and currency of the book.
This is the best hobbyist 3D printing book available and will be a great place to start for many years.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2013
This book is a good general introduction to 3D printers, how they work and how to use them. It also serves as a forceful reminder of how undeveloped they are. Today's inexpensive 3D printers are barely to the Apple I stage of development. The equivalents of the Apple II and TRS-80 3D printers are still well in the future. The software needed to do useful things with them -- especially designing parts is even less developed.

Still if you want in on the ground floor of what may well be the next personal computer craze, this will help you get started.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2013
Got the "Kindle" version of this book and am reading it on both the Kindle Fire HD 8.9 (most convenient when waiting for Jr at the dentist) and on a Mac Book Pro (2009) at home. Graphics are excellent - detailed and full color. Agree with most of the positive reviews - this is a good starting point for those who have no prior knowledge of DIY 3D printer hardware and software. Giving the fast-moving arena for RepRap, its best to go to the links provided to get up to date on developments of interest to you (after you read this book). For example, the MendelMax 3D printer is now at build 2.0, but 1.5 is still a solid design (and less $$).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2013
This book is great. A lot of information is covered and it is presented in a logical and engaging order. The projects and examples are described accurately making all of the objects printable on my MakerGear M2 printer though the book doesn't focus on any one printer in particular which I liked. Many 3D software design tools are also described which was an added benefit for me having just entered the 3D printing world. I gained a lot of practical knowledge and also learned about a number of resources available via the 3D printing community. This book is well worth its price if you're interested in learning about this technology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2012
Great for the first time 3D printer buyer. It explains the hardware and software tool chain is such a way that you have all the basic knowledge necessary to purchase a printer and start churning out prints. A must have!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
Yup this was a good book.

I am new to 3D printing so just trying to learn the basics so I learned a lot.

I am also trying to learn 3D CAD so the instructions in using OpenSCAD were a real eye opener.

Ralph
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2013
This will be a short review and for the most part meaningless. My husband wanted to read this as soon as he found out about 3D printing and became excited at the prospects that this may be the next generation "Xerox". He is old at 83 and remembers the day when he would have bought one and experimented with it and tried his best to encourage it's use by others. He said he thoroughly enjoyed the book. Well written and understandable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2013
it was interesting as far as knowledge of the first types of 3-d and how they work but the book was not what i expected i wanted something more up to date i should of did more research first
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2016
Fantastic general information. Join the home manufactory revolution.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse