Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Shop Popular Services henriettalacks henriettalacks henriettalacks  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$26.55+ $3.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 17 reviews
on August 8, 2008
One of the reasons Ms Gupta's first book was so good was the simplicity with which she presented the whole system of needs assessment. Dr's Sleezer and Russ-Eft in this second edition have added considerably to the information and maintained the simplicity and systems approach. Things that work well for me are:
* Systems diagrams
* Applications orientation--lots of how-to's for each step of the way
* Clear pros and cons for each approach
* Check-lists, models and examples
* CD which includes forms and formats and web links

As a trainer of instructional design, this book is one I recommend for my classes and for anyone who does needs assessment.
A Practical Guide to Needs Assessment (Essential Knowledge Resource)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2009
This is an excellent title. The book focuses on the basics of effective assessments. It is well organized and provides an easy to follow step-by-step format for educators/HR professionals to utilize. The book is intended to be a guide and resource tool, not a magic solution to the age-old problem of what do we need?

The authors provide a list of common techniques for assessment problems and offers practical suggestions on how to handle each problem. Assessment has been one of the leading problems in training for the past 20+ years, which clearly indicates that needs assessments are an ongoing process. The outlines presented are practical, useful, and can be utilized by both novice and veteran personnel.

This book should be required by all organizations. The quick search format allows the assessor to go immediately to the format they should utilize. It could also be used as a staff development tool throughout the organization.

A solid investment for those who deal with organizational needs. It could greatly enhance their success. The practical experience of the author is evident in that the solutions offered are practical and workable, not just full of "words" and what should work. An fanfab read!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2007
Having attended a book review with Dr.'s Sleezer and Russ-Eft in Indianapolis recently, I was intrigued with the book and thought I would give it a go.

This work is very well-organized! My favorite part is that the authors make it easy to use the book as a reference to the Needs Assessment process by providing an index of what you're looking for and where to find it. Additionally, a CD is provided with a host of needs assessment tools that, so far, appear very useful!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2016
This is an older tool that was used in the late 90's for assessing organizational needs, however many of the assessments are still valid today. A few of them are in need of translation to reflect our current technological trends, but they contain a solid foundation for thought. I would not overlook this book's value. It's a good source to refer to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2011
I purchased this based on the reviews and they were right on the mark. I have training and course development experience but was going into an organization that had little to no training history or foundation to build on. An assessment was needed and quickly--this cut to the chase. If you buy used, make sure it comes with the CD. The CD has great templates to kick start your assessment. The book has great charts, pros and cons of assessment methods, and step by step processes. Some books (although good) only give you a taste of the acutal conducting of the assessment while trying to be all encompassing. This book stays focused on the building and conducting of the actual assessment. I think you can keep coming back to this book for all levels of training assessments--from full blown to follow up assessments. It also gives you ways to build your argument when it comes to getting an organization on board with conducting the assessment and the results. I don't think this is for those that want a lot of theory and pure academic approach to the process. This is for those already in the trenches.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2011
Although this text is well organized and easy to read and access information, I feel that the book does not provide discussions/case studies/examples regarding the needs analysis issues of nonprofit organizations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2011
I hoped to be able to buy this item locally to save on the postage, but the price could not be beat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
Very informative and handy Business Tool...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2015
Great book and easy transaction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2016
great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse