Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 70 reviews
on January 19, 2016
Science Fiction/Fantasy
Other authors who use a teleporter act like it would be a hi-tech gov't operation; yet Brin first sends one explorer through, equipped with camping gear from the discount store and a pistol. About what you expect from a small research lab. His assignment: find a problem preventing probes from returning to the lab. Repairman. Yes, Dennis is a Brainiac who is taking enough components to rebuild the unit on the other end, but he is no warrior.
Yet that is what they need, for the land is in turmoil... and he is not able to return. He must remake himself. I like his resourcefulness. Twisty plot- 4 stars. Interesting character development, cute love interest, problem solving by use of technology.
It could have been more; aside from Dennis, the protagonist, characters hardly change. The Princess Linnora is coldly beautiful -until Dennis invokes a magic spell. A small-time thief stays thiefy, Baron Kremer is venal and bloodthirsty.
Some hints of the social impact of 'zievatrons' made me think of springers in: A Million Open Doors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2015
I've read this book 4 times and it's still fun and worthwhile, totally, to read. I idea is original, refreshing if you've ever felt entropy was the enemy. Brin's two series of UPLIFT are fascinating and worth rereading but not as much as this simple single books. "Practice" is one of the great ideas brought forth by science fiction.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2016
Dennis has clearly slept through his classes on AI safety (he was nonchalantly giving orders to a self-improving robot without considering possible side effects like filling the universe/multiverse with paperclips) and linguistics (if his final theory were right, locals' English would be about as different from Dennis's English as modern English is from Old English).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2015
Really enjoyable read - Brin has always been one of my favorites. I know some have criticized The Practice Effect for its seemingly less developed style than Brin's later, award winning novels, but for pure entertainment value this one's hard to beat.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2016
This was a fun book to read. A different world, a different way a world could work. Adventure and a little bit of romance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2015
This book is science fiction, alternative history, anthropology, physics and fun. It is an easy to read answer to the question that you've never asked yourself: "what would happen if entropy didn't work?" I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2015
If you enjoy sci fi at all this should be in your list. When I started introducing my son to Sci-Fi this was right after Enders Game in his reading list and he is hooked for life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
I've loved Brin's "Uplift" novels for years, but this one's not in the same league. I bought it because I remembered a college buddy raving about it (many years ago!), but it never really grabbed me. Maybe I'd have enjoyed it more in college...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2002
I really liked this book alot. The plot was original and the human themes were compelling...heroism, adventure and achievement through understanding the laws of nature (in this case, those laws being a bit different, than usual). I would have given this book 5 stars if the author had left off 10-15 pages before the end, where he cheapens and weakens his efforts by attempting to explain, "The Practice Effect" as an artificially induced phenomena. Also, there is a lead in for a sequel that never happened...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2016
Amazing book and great quality product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here