Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
111
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 111 reviews
on July 9, 2017
The album stars whit the crushing and catchy "PRACTICE WHAT YOU PREACH"" this song starts with a great riff and it continues with another .
You can hear the bass CHANTING and grooving among with the guitars.
Chuck Billy shouts and snarls with frightening power as Petersen and Skolnick punish those guitars like only they know how to do.
The solos of Skolnick are especially grabbing and MELODIC, as his stronghold on varied styles, like jazz, comes out to shine.
Greg Christian is immovable as the bassy foundation and although Louie Clemente was never one of the flashiest or grooviest of metal drummers, there is nothing missing in the frantic thrash beats and tasteful double bass flurries.

The remaining nine tunes are great as well, with variety to spare. You want it slower with a bit more meditative grinder? Put on ENVY LIFE or GREENHOUSE EFFECT . Catchy choruses to bang your fist to? TIME IS COMING is for you. Quick beatdowns for the swinging heads? BLESSED IN CONTEMP and NIGHTMARE should do the trick for you with ease. Despite the very corny name,
The BALLAD, provided you like your ballads fast and heavy after some deceiving withholding. CONFUSION FUSION is very good for a thrashy instrumental, staying mostly content in blasting out great riffs instead of an all out widdle-fest.

If you dig melodic yet aggressive metal, it is definitely for you. I can’t find a weak song in the bunch and the balance between primitive rage and technical accomplishments is just about perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 17, 2013
When I think about Testament’s best albums, “Practice What You Preach” doesn’t come to mind, although it was far higher quality than a vast majority of bands that were playing thrash in the late 80’s. This is where Testament began to go soft, or at least softer, a trend that continued on their next two releases after this one. The speed slowed way down from their first two, “The Legacy” and “The New Order,” as only two songs on “Practice” have a fast-paced thrash beat. The second song, “Perilous Nation” could have been on “New Order,” and is an easy highlight. But the other fast song, “Blessed in Contempt,” is actually half-and-half. It goes back and forth between thrash and the more hard-rock leaning crunch that most of this album features. You’ll find far more thump-tap beats going on than those first two albums, and while the songs are still upbeat, they don’t have the blistering tempo of a “First Strike Is Deadly” or “Into the Pit.” Riffs and solos are good throughout, though to me not quite as memorable all around as “Legacy” and “New Order.” I don’t think Testament has ever done less than a four-star album, but the three they have done all come in order starting with “Practice” and followed by “Souls of Black” and “The Ritual.” After those three, they got back to their thrash roots, and continue in that style today, but for a while going into the 90’s, they were likely being pushed by their major label to start looking for that elusive “wider audience.” Luckily, the songwriting and playing skills of the musicians in Testament are such a high level that even their subpar material is better than most of their peers. This one’s not their best, but it’s definitely worth a few listens.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2017
great career these guy are having
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2014
Testament spit out thrash albums so rapidly in the late 1980s it's hard to imagine how they had time for two world tours in the same two-and-a-half year stretch that saw the release of The Legacy, The New Order, and Practice What You Preach. It's also wild to consider how drastically Testament's sound evolved from The Legacy to Practice.

It is clear right from the get-go that Practice What You Preach is a different beast than its predecessors. Most of the speed is gone. Yeah, Practice still thrashes, but in a totally different style. Chuck Billy's signature shrieking is also out; replacing it is his newborn growling, though in its Practice form it is still a precursor to his eventual death metal approach. Sadly, Skolnick's melodic enterprises also take a backseat. Gone are the haunting intros and the beauteous instrumentals that served so successfully as foils to Testament's broader thrash attack. Instead, the rhythm section dominates Practice What You Preach.

The guitars themselves sound much different. Part of this can be attributed to much better production than Testament's first two records saw, but part of it is also due to their new style. Catchy choruses and big riffs are the name of the game. Like I mentioned already, speed is no longer a main ingredient. "Sins of Omission" is the thrashiest track on the album and one of the few where Skolnick is allowed to really fly, but even it is a tortoise compared to material from The Legacy. Strangely, Practice also contains "The Ballad," which is exactly what the title indicates. Skolnick gets fancy with acoustic and clean guitars, and Chuck Billy sings cleanly for the majority of the song. It is not bad at all, but for fans expecting an album full of "Into the Pits" it's going to sound quite foreign.

On the plus side, Greg Christian's bass is prominent throughout Practice What You Preach, culminating in a featured role on the closing instrumental "Confusion Fusion." Compared to The Legacy, where he is barely audible at times, and The New Order, which is improved but still suffers from middle-of-the-road production, Practice finally does Christian the justice he deserves. His rumbling bass is a joy to listen to throughout the album.

Though it may sound like I am being highly critical of Practice What You Preach, the truth is I still really enjoy it despite it being a departure from the early Testament sound I love so dearly. Highlights include "Envy Life," "Time Is Coming," and "Sins of Omission." The title track is another definite classic, and "Perilous Nation" and "Blessed in Contempt" are also solid tracks. The only true downer is "Greenhouse Effect," an excruciatingly boring song with awful lyrics. Indeed, the lyrics are one of the major downsides for the album as a whole. Instead of growling about the occult and burning people to crosses, Chuck Billy gets political and offers social commentary along the way, two things I could do without.

In the end, 3 stars is probably a bit too critical of a rating for Practice What You Preach, and I do understand why it is some fans' favorite Testament album. It just took me forever to get into Practice, and the only song I really love is "Sins of Omission." I just don't get the urge to revisit this record all that often, whereas The Legacy and The New Order are permanent mainstays in my thrash repertoire. Nonetheless, it is worth checking out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2004
Testament was lumped in with all the Metallica "wanna-be"s back in the mid-to-late 80s, which was unfortunate, because this album resembled Metallica only in the sense that it was thrash metal. This album stands up just fine on its own, and comparisons to Master of Puppets are just unnecessary. The sounds are very different, from the bass guitar to the drums, to Chuck Billy's vocals.
The standout tracks on this album, for me, are: "Practice What You Preach," "Perilous Nation" (which has a nifty, jazzy little outro), "Sins of Omission" (an awesome, frantic thrash song), "The Ballad" (a nice acoutic bit that builds up to a great heavy ending), and "Nightmare (Coming Back to You)" (a blast of thrash).
The guitars, while generally going for that coveted late-80s "heaviest of metal" (insert sign of the devil here) sound, always maintain a subconsciously jazzy edge and Chuck Billy's voice is a nice compliment to them. The only thing I might have ever had a tiny gripe about was the "clickety"-ness of the kick drums. It would have been nice to put a little bass in there.
Overall, though, Practice What You Preach belongs on the shelf next to Master of Puppets, Peace Sells...but Who's Buying?, and Among the Living as some of great early thrash albums.
Get it if ya ain't got it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2004
Testament has once again proven that they are not a Metallica rip off band with this cd. I just don't see what the hell the big comparison is that they have with Metallica.Sure Metallica had this sound way before Testament came out,but don't forget that Metallica got their sound from the New Wave of British Metal(Mercyful Fate, Diamond Head,Budgie) that was coming out in the early eighties. So why the hell does everybody have to piss and moan and say, " Oh Metallica did it first" what a crock man. Testament's Practice What you Preach is an Awesome thrash effort with alot of great guitar work by the one and only Scolnick(who kicks the crap out of Kirk Hammet by the way). The great thing about Testament is that you don't get bored with their albums. They have you going all the way through banging your head in the middle of Five o'clock traffic and screaming all the way down the expressway. Greag Christian is also one of the best bass players I've heard since Cliff or Dave from Megadeth.So just do yourself a favor and ignore the reviews that say they copy Metallica and find out for yourselves if you think this is a rip-off band.Testament Kicks ass
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
God is Good, All the Time; All the time, God is Good ~ What a beautiful ending to rocky start. I especially enjoyed and appreciated the biblical teachings and lessons the story had to offer, in which I applied to my own life.

Very well done Ms Griggs, you definitely captured and kept my attention throughout the whole novel. I highly recommend that you read this book, you won't be disappointed!

Happy Reading.
LNichols
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2014
I'm all for good Christian fiction but each of the books in this series thus far is very very preachy. Several of the conversations between characters is forced and unnatural in order to get a mini-sermon in about one topic or another. Though I understand the spiritual life and death rationale behind such a writing style, it can be very off-putting and lends itself to disbelief in the storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2015
Reminds me of when I was a kid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2014
Practicing What You Preach is the fourth book in the Blessed Trinity series, which introduces Melissa, an event coordinator on the uprise. She is planning a wedding while praying for one of her own, but may not be prepared for whom God has chosen for her. A few familiar characters reappear in this book, and more secrets are revealed. Once again, Mrs. Griggs has awed me with her way with words. Not only was I entertained, but at one point, believed I was in Bible Study. I learned sooooo much from this book and the series as a whole. Up next... Goodness and Mercy, because i can't wait to see what God has in store for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here