Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Pratyabhijnahrdayam: The Secret of Self-Recognition
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
11
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 15, 2015
Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2015
Am so glad to get this book again after having lost the original in a house fire 6 years ago. Also like the new cover art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2014
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2014
Wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2013
When reading spiritual classics it is essential that the translator be a great swami or at least be a serious practicioner who has regular access to a great swami. The translator claims, and I believe him, that he had help and guidance of both his guru and Swami Laxmanjoo, the most famous modern luminary of his lineage. It is important that a spiritual system or way of looking at the entire creation be helpful, or at least a way to focus on the divine. This book delivers, though it is not necessary that all contents of the book be true. A great piece of music may have a story line that is part or all fiction, yet be true as far as getting you to experience what the composer was trying to convey. The original Pratyabhijnahrdayam was a masterpiece, the commentaries in this book are very helpful.
This book is excellent because it offers some understanding. Ultimately the mind needs to be transcended, but it is easier to do so if you have some spiritual understanding first, and most spiritual traditions are quite limited compared to this one. Reading this book is a kind of spiritual practice, like yoga, chanting, or meditating. Beats shopping.
Many people will not read this book because it takes more attention than reading for cheap entertainment. Spirituality is worth some effort. This book is one of the all-time greats. Every library should have one.
Please buy a copy, loan it to a brainy friend who can get engrossed in spiritual teachings, you can be of service to others this way.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2013
This canonical Kashmir Shavism text is “must” reading for serious students of esoteric spirituality. First, it describes the cosmogonic process--the process of manifestation whereby Consciousness coagulates into energy and matter—on a level exceeding any other text I’ve encountered. According to Pratyabhijnahrdayam (The Doctrine of Recognition), this coagulation, or crystallization and constriction, occurs through thirty-six hierarchically, or progressively stepped-down, constituent principles (“tattvas”). From the standpoint of humans, the end result of this emanational process is self-contraction, the imprisonment and shrinkage of one’s consciousness—and the goal of Kashmir Shaivism Yoga is to free, or infinitely expand, one’s bound consciousness.

According to Pratyabhijnahrdayam, what’s necessary to free one’s contracted consciousness is the recognition of one’s True Nature as Siva, Supreme All-Pervading Consciousness. But in order to achieve this recognition, or recovery, of one’s True Nature, Grace is necessary—and Grace is the descent of Divine Power (Shaktipat), which is the same Power, or Light-energy, as the Holy Spirit.

If you’re interested in “Cosmic Drama,” the terrible and tragic imprisonment of human consciousness and its heroic attempt to free itself via Spirit Power, I trust that you’ll find this text an enthralling read.
33 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2012
I ordered this book for a workshop and realized the night before that the book was completely flawed. Pages were out of order and some completely missing. It jumped from page 48 to page 87. Then from 87 it went to 88, 85,86,83,84,81,82,95,96,93,94,91,92,89,90,65 and then went on correctly from there. What??? Totally made a negative impact on my workshop as I was not able to read the book beforehand or follow along during it. I was extremely disappointed!
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2010
if it is this book you need to know about it is fantasticly interesting.However I am studying this with a Professor at LMU in Los Angeles. Shaivism is the oldest philosophy it says and I find it brilliantly written as well.It is sad so few people know or study these books.I am not a computer lover so I do not want to read any responses etc.thanks
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2009
I got this as another translation of the Pratyabhijnahrdayam. I am most familiar with that of I.K. Taimni, the Secret of Self-Realization. This book is harder to read because of its organization. Most of the explanatory material is in endnotes at the back of the book, so you have to flip pages a lot. Humorously, in the footnotes, the author bashes a translation by a white guy who apparently got it all wrong. In the main text most explanation of each sutra is via translations of other Indian writings that pertain to the subject of each sutra. This is good for getting a broader view of the Indian literature. Compared to Taimni, Singh's work is more technical. He goes into more detail of a lot of the concepts in Kashmir Shavism, -that is to say, lists of technical terms- whereas Taimni tends to paint in broader brush strokes. To really grasp the material will require several readings and serious attempts to memorize the concepts. While one can see the similarity between Taimni's and Singh's interpretations, Singh's is clearly more technical. If you are interested in a comparative translation, or want a more detailed understanding of technical concepts in Kashmir Shavism, and also a broader introduction to this literature in general, then this is a fine book. If you are a complete beginner to the concepts, I would recommend Taimni's Secret of Self-realization first, it's a lot easier to understand.
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2008
Sally Kempton's book "The Heart of Meditation" mentioned this so I got it.
It's not as easy to read as Sally
33 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse