Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon startrek startrek startrek  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now



Pray for Silence (Kate Burkholder series #2) (Kate Burkholder 2)

while i can't give the author five stars due to some repetition and some questionable police behaviour, i have thoroughly enjoyed reading the first two of the current four available kate burkholder series, and i fully intend to read the rest.

some of the more negative reviews seem, to me, to be hyper-critical. this series is fiction so i had no problem getting past certain things even though i admitedly raised an eyebrow over them. (ie: a police chief sitting in her small town bar, drinking, in uniform...eh, no.) but, with my exposure to the amish culture being limited to documentaries on national geographic or, as someone mentioned in another review, the movie "witness," i can't complain about that aspect of the books.

again, i've enjoyed the series so far, i do both see and feel the suspense and, i will continue reading.

and no, i don't capitalize much at all. i know this so it's not necessary to point it out to me. it's a habit i picked up over years of entering comments while talking to customers over the phone. i'm not writing a novel or term paper. :]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 1, 2015
“There are monsters living among us. People who look no different than you and me. But they lack a fundamental component of the human species: a conscience.”

An Amish family of seven is annihilated at twilight in the tiny farming community of Painters Mill, Ohio. Kate Burkholder, Chief of Police, has her hands full trying to cover as much ground in the crucial first forty-eight hours of the homicide. Because of the cruelty and brutality inflicted on the victims, Burkholder immediately calls in for help. What follows is a dangerous venture into the dark, seedy underbelly of pornography, and the loss of innocence.

After reviewing my highlights and notes, I realized that this book didn’t quite measure up to the initial book in the series for two main reasons: repetition and repetition. See? It’s annoying. I’d have hoped that most mystery writers would take a cue from the Miss Marple, Hercule Poirot, and Nancy Drews series. It’s not necessary to rehash the plot of the previous book until the reader is bored out of their mind. Carolyn Keene’s books usually had a sentence that read something like: “Nancy, Bess and George had a close run-in with a ring a dangerous jewel thieves in an earlier adventure.” Done and done!

Apart from that, I just grew tired of Castillo’s same use of descriptive words, especially the word “sage.” Has anyone ever given you a “sage” look? What does that even encompass? Or her reference to Kate’s past and how it kept coming up in this investigation to haunt her. I get it.

Don’t get me wrong. This is a thrilling page turner. Could it have been better? Yes. Am I giving up on the series? Definitely not. I’ve already purchased the third book, although I’ll probably wait a minute or two before reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 22, 2017
This is the kind of book you could read if you think you could figure out who did this crime. It's impossible to figure this one out, I tried a few times and I was wrong every time. Love this kind of story, keeps your interest all the way to the end. Very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 23, 2016
I have read all four in the series. One would have been enough.

For a tough cop, Kate does some pretty stupid stuff that puts her in harm's way. Both she and her boyfriend deal with tragedies by drinking. She even carries a flask with her. She panics when in trouble and needs the boyfriend to help her. Kinda sexist. Neither grow as characters.

Castillo uses bad weather as a sign of evil about to happen. A reader might think all it does is storm in mid-Ohio. She is repetitive, telling the reader about where Kate is carrying her three weapons twice in two pages. Occasionally, the details are inconsistent or contradictory. Kate lauds the peacefulness of the small community, forgetting that in only a year she solved separate cases of a serial murderer and a mass killer.

The reader does learn some interesting facts about the Amish, but the same information appears in each book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon July 3, 2014
PRAY FOR SILENCE is an intense, gritty mystery that has the main character - Kate Burkholder - reliving some of the trauma that she endured as a young teen. As police chief in usually quiet Painters Mill, Ohio, when Kate is called to the scene of the killing of an entire Amish family, she is plunged into a case that creates echoes of her own past.

The Plank family has been killed from father Amos through baby-in-arms Amos. The father and two sons were shot in the home; the mother and infant were shot running from the house; and the two teenage daughters were tortured and killed in the barn. It is a brutal crime that, at first, looks like a murder-suicide with the father to blame. But inconsistencies have Kate looking further.

Kate calls on her friend, and sometimes lover, John Tomasetti from the Ohio BCI to help her. But Tomasetti is having his own problems. He is currently on administrative leave because of a positive drug test. He turned to alcohol and prescription drug abuse after the deaths of his wife and daughters by a career criminal. Tomasetti was barely holding on and keeping suicide an option when he first met Kate. He is in a little bit better mental shape now partially because he met Kate.

This was definitely a who dunnit sort of story as we watch Kate and Tomasetti investigate. The investigation takes a different turn when fifteen-year-old Mary Plank's diary is discovered and Kate learns that she had a secret English lover who introduced her to sex, drugs, and pornography. Innocent Mary was pulled into a situation she had no way to handle.

I enjoyed the intensity of this story. I ached with both Kate and Tomasetti as they dealt with the psychological pain of their pasts. I recommend this one to mystery lovers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 2, 2014
My attention was grabbed from page one and the tension never let up. Plan on not getting too much done until you finish this book. The characters are strong, interesting and believable and the peeks into the Amish culture provide insight that's important for understanding the undercurrents involved in solving the crime. Kudos to the author for her continued ability to grasp the reader's interest and not let go until the last word is read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 12, 2017
Purchased as a gift. The person that I bought it for has read several titles from this author and said that this book was as good as any of the others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 20, 2017
excellent read . . . fast paced, great characters/development . . . a very satisfying beginning, middle, end . . . definitely a Linda Castillo fan . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 7, 2017
I gotta say, every time I thought I figured out who did it, I got thrown a curve that had me guessing up till the end. Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 18, 2013
This is the second book in the series I've read. I like the characters, Kate Burkholder, the crew at her police station in an Amish country town in Ohio, and Jon Tomasetti, her friend and sometime lover who works for the criminal investigation unit. I gave it four stars because I wasn't completely satisfied with the story and the ending. I would recommend it, but not as highly as the first book in the series,and I do plan on getting the next in the series. I recommend this more because I like the characters and it is very well written toggling between first- and second-person accounts. But I was not fond of the lovingly detailed graphic description of torture and sadism that occurred in the book - the murder mystery at the center of the book. I had to skim through some parts because of the very stark images painted. If you like Chelsea Cain and I've only read one of her books, I this book would be right up your alley. I think it's better written and the characters more appealing than the Chelsea Cain book I read which was part of the sweetheart seriers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse