Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Predator (Ultimate Hunter Edition) [Blu-ray]
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Back to School

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 12, 2005
I thought that this was a great movie. I recomend anybody that is a arnold fan or a action fan see this movie. I am gonna talk about the stuf about the new collectors dvd.

IMAGE :

This collector's edition has been issued in a rather dissapointing 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen tansfer, one that dosent sppear that all different (if at all) from the previous Predator dvd release, which means its fair to middlin at best. The quality of the print varies dramatically during its run, moving from jarringly awful and grainy Fox searchlight logo opening to edge halos to fequen bouts of specking and other minor detritus. When the transfer is on its game, it looks fairly good, with its solidly reproduced fleshtones offset by often soft background coloring. Its a tolerable tranfer, but this title deserves better treatment, image-wise.

SOUND:

The paring of Dolby Digital and DTS tracks is a nice touch, but it was already done on an earlier release, so we're not getting anything new here. The good news is that the're both pretty active mixes, and though you can dicker and bicker about the subtle differences. you will rumble quotient. The minimal dialogue is presentable, and the rear channels are aggressively mixed, so when the big fight sequences take place the mood is appropriatly frenetic. The real winner, however, is the depth and fullness of the macho posturing of the Alan Silvestri score. A french 2.0 surround and a mono Spanish track are also included.

SPECIAL FEATURES:

Full motion menu with music

Scene Acess with 25 cues and remote acess

Subtitles/Captions in English,Spanish with remote acess

2 Trailers featuring Alien vs. Predator, Alien Quadrilogy

1 deleted scenes

1 documentary

12 featurettes

1 feature/Episode commentary by John Mctiernan

Packaging Tri-fold Amaray with slipcase

Picture Disc

2 discs

Layers: Dual

The first disc has a audio commentary and it is pretty interesting

Disc TWO:

If it Bleeds we can kill it" The making of Predator

Classified Action

The Unseen Arnold

Old Painless

The Life Inside : A tribute to Kevin Peter Hall

Camouflage

Welcome to the Jungle

Character Design

Predator Special Fx: This section offers a series of short pre-effects sequences

Predator Red looking down

Predator Red in Jungle

Predator Red Main Walking Layer

Camouglage Moth Test

Camouflage Effect Layers

Fleeing the Predator(This is the only deleted scene)

These are just three scenes that are considered outtakes(dont know why)

Chameleon

Building A Trap

Sliding downhill

This disc also includes a Predator Profile made up of nine screens of text and artwork explaining the dreadlocked alien's specialized weaponry.

Then there is also a Photo Gallery

AND LAST is a trailer of Alien Quadrilogy

THAT IS ALL THAT IS IN THIS DVD!

THANKS FOR READING MY REVIEW!

HOPE YOU ENJOY THE DVD !
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
The transfer is great, the sounds are loud and the 3D is nice. A great update to a classic action flick.

There are a few quarks with the transfer like Dillon looking like a CGI character in the opening scene with him and a few times some of the actors look like they are standing in front of a greens screen (twice) but apart from that, everything else is solid.

No real need to breakdown the film. It's Predator! I always enjoy more of a POP in the 3D but aside from the personal preference that's lacking, the depth is very nice.
33 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2012
First off, I was skepticle of this purchase, just because of what I read here. I bought the older Blu Ray, not the Ultimate Hunter Edition. As far as the picture goes, there is not as much detail as say a new Blu Ray for a movie released this year. I honestly have no complaints about this. I love the film, it gets 5 stars. The Blu Ray is not what people are making it out to be. I read that the people now looked like were made of wax in the film, not at all true. DO NOT believe anything from the negative reviews. Head on over to BluRayreview.com and look up this Blu Ray, they do not complain about things like AMAZON reviewers do. They found the good. Take it from me, a previous skeptic, this is a very decent Blu Ray and I imagine this is the best Predator has looked to date.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 15, 2004
The items on this special edition were released in foreign markets TWO YEARS AGO. That would not be bad except the transfer is also the same and not a very good one at that. Grainy is the order of the day. In high density color scenes shot from the Predator's point of view, it's really tough to discern shapes. The base transfer Fox has used for this release (same as the previous DVD) is just middling. It's not awful. But if you are buying this in hopes of a restored cleaned-up version of your favorite action film, minus all the dirt and grain, you're going to have to wait. This seems to be how Fox double-dips their customers, as with the non-anomorphic transfers on the "Planet of the Apes" set.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon June 27, 2002
Predator, the film which helped launch the career of director John McTiernan (who would later helm the first Die Hard movie), and the film which introduced us to one of the most terrifying and impressive movie monsters ever in the Predator. Arnold Schwarzenegger and Carl Weathers star as US commandos on a rescue mission in South America, but when they find a group of skinned corpses hanging upside down, plans change. Eventually, one by one each soldier is picked off by an unseen force, until only Arnold is left, and he comes face to face with the sleek alien hunter called the predator which takes his prey's skulls as his trophy. The design of the Predator itself is in a word, awesome. FX and makeup legend Stan Winston (responsible for Pumpkinhead and the dinosaurs from Jurassic Park for starters) outdid himself with the design of the beast, as Arnold puts it in the final fight, "One ugly mother......". While the movie is great, some more special features would have been nice. There is a rumor of a battle filmed between the Predator and Billy which would have been nice to see. All in all though, if you've never had a chance to see the original Predator, now has never been a better time, its one of the best sci-fi/action movies of all time. On a side note, future governor and former WWF wrestler Jessie "The Body" Ventura played one of the commandos, and Jean-Claude Van Damme was originally supposed to be the man in the Predator outfit, but he bowed out at the last minute to film Bloodsport.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2013
This review goes to the quality of the Ultimate Hunter Edition Blu-ray. I did not own the previous Blu-ray transfer, but the reviews of that version ubiquitously deplore the poor quality - graininess - of that edition.

In stark contrast, the Ultimate Hunter Edition underwent extensive computerized enhancement. That too has been decried, but apparently, given the previous transfer, which indicates the film stock itself was not in particularly good shape, the choice to radically improve video quality should instead be applauded.

The image quality is good, even though, doubtlessly, detail was lost, along with the insufferable graininess. Face shots sometimes look plasticized.

But the jungle shots, and most of the movie, look great. This edition is Blu-ray quality. All things considered, if you like this movie, this is easily the edition to own.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2004
More than two years after its international release, DVD collectors in the good old U.S. finally get their chance to own the special edition of "Predator". For some, John McTiernan's directorial debut about a team of commandos being hunted by an invisible alien hunter in Central America was just a cheesy B-movie that earned crediblity simply based on it being a Schwarzennegger vehicle. If you're like me though and you grew up on this one, you probably weren't happy with the previous practically bare bones DVD edition. Is this new DVD worth the wait though?

This special edition not only has upgraded picture with an amazing anamorphic widescreen presentation (1.85:1 ratio, for those who want to know). I was honestly quite impressed at how good this movie looks. McTiernan's audio commentary is pretty good as well. The director gives some interesting factoids about his first feature though he is a bit dry at some times. There is also a text track that includes information about the film. The second disc however is where all the best goodies are located. There is a cool new documentary called "If It Bleeds We Can Kill It" where the cast and crew share all their stories from behind the scenes. This includes both archive footage of Arnold, Jessie Ventura, and many others as well as new interviews with Carl Weathers, Shane Black, and McTiernan. There are also seven indiviual featurettes on the special effects and other things. The most unique of these is one dedicated to Kevin Peter Hall, the late actor who played the Predator and also showed up briefly in the end of the film as a chopper pilot. There is also a deleted sequence from the movie where Dutch is being chased by the Predator. The problem is the scene was never completed and the actual F-X shots of the creature are blue screen captures.

I do have a few minor complains with this special edition. None of the original trailers or TV spots were included and the only "trailer" on here is an ad for Fox's "Alien Quadrilogy" set. I would also have liked to have seen more info on Jean-Claude Van Damme's work in the film. There is one photo of him with Carl Weathers in the "Still Gallery" but no mention is made of him anywhere else. For those who are wondering, Van Damme played the Predator during the more athletic scenes that would have been too difficult for the massive Kevin Peter Hall to perform. Despite those small complaints, this is an amazing DVD and well worth the wait.

I encourage anyone who has never seen "Predator" to go pick this one up. With the recent release of the watered-down "Alien Vs. Predator" movie, you might as well see one of the films that inspired it. If you can sit through a mediocre franchise killer like that, you should at least go back and see the original. As for those who grew up loving "Predator", it's a no-brainer.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2004
I remember watching this movie in 1987 (when I was 12) and just saying, "Wow". Arnold was "the man" back in the 80's and it had a terrific cast of characters. And of course, it had the Predator.

Watching this movie just makes me kind of miss the 80's. Back then you had movies where testosterone was running so high on screen that it just made you feel invincible. While I have had a few female friends that enjoy Predator, it's a typical guy movie. The plot is about as simple as it gets. An elite U.S. marine force goes into the jungle to find and rescue a lost group of soldiers. Upon finding the skinned bodies of the missing, they start getting picked off one-by-one by a mysterious enemy who is hunting them. After awhile they figure out that what is taking them out isn't human and it's up to Arnold to do his thing.

The thing I love about this movie is that it doesn't pull any punches as far as what it's trying to do. You send in big, strong tough guys to use big guns to find other soldiers & fight an alien (The Predator). Every character in the film is interesting and has their own little style. One character has big glasses and tells sick jokes. One is a big-ass indian who is the trail guide, of sorts. One is a very dark-skinned black guy who is just a bit off. Then you get to Jesse Ventura's "Painless". The gatling gun he used in this movie has now become legend and still impressive to this day. Just seeing Ventura in the movie at all is quite amusing, but he plays the role very well. Arnold is actually better here than I have seen him in most of his action films. He doesn't have to carry the movie on his back and he seems to enjoy that. His fellow cast of characters spout off so many good, tough guy lines that he doesn't have to do it all himself.

And I haven't even mentioned the namesake of the movie yet really. The Predator is a fierce and incredible hunter. By now most of you know about the alien and it's weapons and what it can do. I must give a huge nod to Stan Winston for maybe saving this movie by creating an incredible Predator. If you watch the special features, you will be shocked at what the first Predator actually looked like. On top of that, Jean-Claude Van Damme was supposed to be inside the suit. Ugh. Guess they dodged a bullet there, eh?

Predator wasn't meant to win any acadamy awards or tug at your heart-strings, etc. It's a fun, big guns, blow crap up, fight bad-ass alien, testosterone filled flick. This is Arnold at his best and this spawned the directorial career of John McTiernan (Die Hard). This movie is so enjoyable to watch that I have seen it more times than I can count. Go get this nice special edition as soon as you can.

Special Features: Well, at least we finally get a special edition of this great movie. The supplements that are here, however, are pretty good but not great. There is a documentary on the making of the film, which is pretty decent. Most of the interviews and footage is from 1987 when the movie was made. I would've liked to see some newer stuff, but I won't complain. There are seven behind-the-scenes featurettes that delve into different aspects of the film. They are each kinda short, but are informative. There are outtakes, a deleted scene (which wasn't very good) and other various little features. Not a bad edition, but I was expecting a little bit more.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2010
I am quite disappointed in Fox's decision to DNR the crap out of Predator. I know a lot of you probably don't care, but Predator was never supposed to look as crystal clear as Avatar or a Pixar film. The problem with using DNR like this is that all of the fine detail of film is scrubbed away along with the film grain, which is why the actors and sets look like they are made of wax. One of the greatest aspects of the Blu-Ray format is it allows you to view films for the first time as they were intended to look: like films! What this release does is attempt to make Predator look as if it was shot on digital video yesterday, but of course a modern digital film wouldn't have the detail of the picture removed like Predator has.
Now, the original Blu-Ray wasn't great either, as it was an early effort from Fox that was delayed from release a long time, which is why it was poorly compressed on a single-layer disc with MPEG 2. However, I would still recommend that disc over this new one. What Fox should have done is create a new master going back to the original negatives, and perhaps SPARINGLY applied some DNR by people who knew what they were doing to sort out the inconsistencies of the grain in the first release.
The bottom line is I don't support releases like this and I hope FOX or any other studio doesn't continue to alter older films like this. I give this disc 2 stars instead of 1 because they included all the extras that should have been on the original disc, but for anyone that cares about film and the artistic intent of the filmmakers, stay away from this one!
1515 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2013
This movie looks GREAT in 3D...the clarity of it is absolutely beautiful...compared to the 1st blu ray version of this movie...it doesnt get interesting (3d wise) until they get into the jungle and you will say to yourself ((THIS IS COOL MON)) <<my best jamacan accent>>...so if you have any doubt about this release...just buy it ..you wont be dissapointed ENJOY THIS MOVIE AND ENJOY YOUR LIFE...arrivederci..
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.27

Need customer service? Click here