Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 20 reviews
on June 18, 2016
I think that this book is well organized and fairly comprehensive. It is easily understandable.

I had only one problem with it. The discussion of the HbA1c test results is missing. This test is used to diagnose diabetes by many physicians It is not error free. This test is used to determine the level of blood sugar over the previous 3-4 months. It is used as a screening device. It should be utilized along with daily blood results.

Some persons may feel the book is dated because of this, however. it covers the basics very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2015
in a snap!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2015
a lot of helpful hints for someone that has just been told "you are pre diabetic"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2014
Excellent introduction for the newly diagnosed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2014
I returned this book as it was lacking in good information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2013
Gretchen's books give you the philosophy & science to cope with PreDiabetes type 2 & learn what you need to thrive with this diagnoses. She writes in a humorous but scientific, understandable important way. I love her idea of "it's not how much you eat, but to eat small portions of the very best food you can find. You're a gourmet." I have lost 8 lbs in 2 months by just following her suggestions and all my blood numbers are in the normal range. I essentially gave up bread & sautéing fish with flour on it. Now I bake mostly my fish with herbs, lemon, & a little olive oil. I also started walking. Her First Year Diabetes type 2 gives one a good basic understanding of the disease, which if you are given the diagnosis of PreDiabetes type 2 is important to know to hopefully avoid Developing Diabetes Type 2.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
I am thankful for this book. With so many opinions out there on this subject of good health and health issues, this book is matter of factly and to the point. Straight on with good facts and how to keep diabetes far away from you and the ones you love!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2012
Very informative and written in language that is very understandable. This gives an excellent description of diabetes processes and what is happening in the body to cause the changes that lead to diabetes. It is also very specific about what you can do to improve your outcome. I would recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2011
This book has all the information you need about prediabetes, and how to keep it from growing into type 2 diabetes. If you were to chose one book for this subject, this is the book you should choose.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2010
This book is a little dated now but has very good medical inforamtion about prediabetes and what causes it. for someone who is not overweight and always ate at least somewhat healthily, it was a shock to get the diagnosis. This book explains the genetic component better than other materials I've read.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse