Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Preparing Instructional Objectives: A Critical Tool in the Development of Effective Instruction
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 1, 1999
This book is a quick and enjoyable read. The content is very easy to understand. Through the use of humor and skill testing questions, Mager has made learning fun! As a student, I survived many of the poorly written objectives that Mager describes in this book. It was nice to realize I wasn't the problem...the objectives were! I look forward to using this guide to develop clear, concise objectives so students can focus more on the joy of learning and be more successful at it.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 17, 2006
Written by the patron saint of trainers everywhere, Robert Mager provides a quick, humorous and easy-to-understand read in what is the heart and soul of training--objectives.

This book offers the readers choice solutions or answers. The reader then turns to the page choice to see if she selected the right choice or not.

Another essential about this book is besides being less than an afternoon read, it is essential to review time and again when you are writing instructional objectives.

Buying this should be one of your objectives!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 1999
As a graduate student in an education masters program, I found this book to be essential for writing instructional objectives. My professor suggested it, and it was a great recommendation.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2002
Very straight-forward and easily digestible read. Step-by-step instructions will have you creating meaningful objectives, which translate into meaningful instruction.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2006
This book is the easiest read I've had in studying education. It is a "choose your own adventure" in education. Read about how to write instructional objectives and then turn the page to find out if you understand what you've read. Very simple and to the point. You don't need any other book to help you write objectives!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2012
I got this book on a whim after seeing Mager's 6 pack referenced on a variety of professional websites that I am part of. I scoffed, thinking it would be just one more technical reference that I'd never open again. However, since I am preparing a presentation on objectives, I decided to check out this book. I'm a convert to all things Mager. This book was easy to understand, but at the same time maintained it's academic integrity. As an instructional designer working in higher education, I work with faculty designing online courses. I'm always amazed by how many faculty are unable to write objectives, and then more amazed (and appalled) by my lack of ability to intelligently discuss objectives in a way that will enable them to write them.

I will be spouting examples from this book from now on...good bye overly technical Dick & Carey book. This book scaffolds learning by allowing you to complete "self-checks" along the way. Pass the self-check and you get to skip whole sections of explanation. Fail the self-check and Mager takes a different approach to the same concept. Wow! This is instructional design at it's finest. No bells and whistles, just great instruction paired with instructional strategies that move the learner to demonstrating their master of the book's objectives.

I wont ramble on any further, but if you work in any field where you have to write objectives, then this book is for you. Yes it's 180 some odd pages, but that took me a whopping 3 hours total to read (with taking notes for my presentation). This is definitely going on my desk to reference frequently with faculty.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2009
This is a great book. it has been enormously helpful to me in the completion of my instructional design book. The writing style is very interesting (even funny at times!) and the author really helps the reader to understand what an instructional objective is (and isn't) and how to write an excellent one.

This was only suggested reading for my course but I can't imagine doing without it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2015
You wouldn't expect to laugh at a book on Instructional Objectives. But then you read Robert F. Mager, and wind up laughing throughout. Mager knows his subject, but he also knows it's academic and dry at the best of times. He's a wonderful writer and a keen teacher who uses wit, not sobriety, to get his point across. Should be recommended reading for all teacher candidates working with middle and high school kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
Great book. Excellent examples. Humor makes it entertaining too. It's written so that you can skip ahead to future pages if you have mastered the material, a unique feature that you don't see in many textbooks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
This easy flow, humorous guide has all you need to prepare instructional objectives. You'll find yourself at the back cover even before realizing it. It also has tests every here and there, on which if you score correctly you get to skip some pages!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse