Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning animestrike animestrike animestrike  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
37
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 37 reviews
on March 30, 2017
Covers some good stuff, plenty of detail on setting up a legitimate civil defense organization for community preparedness. Also good references for army training manuals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2016
This book is really great! This is a must read for anyone in or interested public safety. If you are interested in understanding what a rural community needs to do to make itself safe, then this is your book! In fact, it is the plan that I am using to develop a non profit company named Civil Defense Virginia. Checkout my FB page by this name. Website coming soon at CivilDefenseVA.org.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2016
Well organized practical advice for creating a civil defense support non-profit to bolster government resources in a disaster of significant length.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2015
this one has some good stuff in it but is not an end all product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2015
This book is full of information that I did not know. That is a pretty major thing that makes a book of value to me. The author seems to really know his stuff and have a lot of first-hand knowledge and experience. His information is thorough for the most part.

However, I don't really think this book is titled correctly. This didn't really come off like a book aimed at preppers, such as the title suggests. There are no preppers I've ever met who are going to do any part of what this book is all about, and this book is all about creating a city-wide civil defense plan and organization. This book doesn't teach you how to make a wood-burning stove out of an old hot water tank, but it will tell you that you should have a section in your official civil defense plan that pertains to repurposing water heater tanks to use as wood burning stoves.

Like I said, it's thorough. But it should be titled, "How to Establish a Municipal Civil Defense Plan in Your Town." It's full of legal document examples and details about establishing a 501c-3 nonprofit group. This is not a how-to for preppers. It's a how-to for the bureaucratic process, with a dash of community-based survivalist theory. I suspect that you would have to be in a very, very small town in the middle of nowhere for almost any of this to be realistic for the average Joe.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2015
Every town board should have a copy of this book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2015
Another book I have picked up. Prepper books have become a sort of obsession as I think I know better (clearly I don't or I would have one). This whole section of disaster\prepping has a lot of useful information but attracts a lot of the mad max end of world themes. Once again I reiterate don't plan on that as its statistically improbable (makes for great entertainment) and a waste of someone's hard earned cash. Stick with the most probable threats in your local region like mine is a nuke plant. California would be drought and earthquakes. This fantasy of a glorified mad max riots and looting on a national scale is a waste.. and perpetuates paranoia along with negative steroids of preppers. This text has reliant information for certain disaster planning and mitigation. I did like the mention of a portable chainsaw for downed trees. . Something I skipped. This is an OK read but would recommend others like Rawls for more practical and less fantastical ideas.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2014
Good resource
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2014
good info
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2014
Well packaged, and promptly received. The material is worthy of reading, and offers points to ponder.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse