Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$17.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 226 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 496 reviews
VINE VOICEon November 5, 2015
This 1976 release found the group in a bit of a rough spot – evidently Robert Plant sang the entire album in a cast after an accident. To make matters worse, a large slug of material had been used for the excellent Physical Graffiti album (1975), which left them with little new material. Surprisingly though, in spite of it all, this is actually a pretty good album. That and it has one of my favorite Zeppelin tunes – the near epic Achilles Last Stand.

Musically, Presence has some really excellent compositions, although I caught the faintest whiff of arena rock on some tracks – the “sword and sorcery” mysticism of earlier albums was definitely wearing off. Then again, this was 1976 and flower power was ancient history. In terms of the performances of the group members, they really are very good –John Bonham in particular does a fantastic job on Achilles Last Stand. I guess my only regret is that they didn’t save some of the Physical Graffiti material for this album – Presence would have been spectacular. Then again, had they done that, we would not have Physical Graffiti.

This remastered album is not bad – it has good sound quality and some generic liner notes that include the track listing, production credits etc.

All in all this is a good album by the group and has enough to offer the Led Zeppelin fan that it should provide some good listening. Recommended along with II (1969), III (1970), IV (or ZoSo) (1971), Houses of the Holy (1973) and Physical Graffiti. Although I enjoy the 1979 follow-up album In through the out Door, it does not have the energy of Presence.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2017
This review is for the vinyl release. The pressing is of high quality and as quiet as the others that have been issued. A real pleasure to put on my turntable. I know some feel this album was a weaker release than their previous material, but this album has some real good songs on it. Tea for One has always been one of my favourite songs they made. You can never go wrong with Led Zeppelin and this album is no exception.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2015
Being a Zeppelin fan from the very beginning, when this came out in '76, it was instantly my favorite. It represents, to me, the very essence of where/why they became inspired in music. Jimmy's guitar, and Bonham's percussion are both free, yet refined at the same time. There are not 10 seconds on this piece uninteresting. Had not listened to it in a long time, and my old vinyl looked a little rough, so purchased the MP3's, and listened on the way home from work tonight. Wow!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2015
Created at a time of intense turmoil for Led Zeppelin -- they scrapped a planned international tour in the wake of Robert Plant's car accident in Greece in August 1975 -- Presence is a strange, misshapen beast of a record that pulls upon its own tension. With Plant somewhat on the sidelines -- he recorded many of the vocals while in a wheelchair -- Jimmy Page reasserted himself as the primary creative force in the band, helping steer Presence toward a guitar-heavy complexity, perched halfway between a return to roots and unfettered prog. This dichotomy means it feels like Presence sprawls as wildly as Physical Graffiti even though it's half its length: the four epics tend to overshadow the trio of lean rockers that really do hark back to the Chess boogie and rockabilly that informed Zeppelin's earliest work. Each of these three -- "Royal Orleans," "Candy Store Rock," "Hots on for Nowhere" -- plays as snappily as the throwaways on the second half of Physical Graffiti, containing a sexy insouciance; the band almost seems to shrug off how catchy Page's riffs and how thick the grooves of John Bonham and John Paul Jones actually are. No matter how much fun this triptych is, they're lost underneath the shadow of "Achilles Last Stand," a ten-minute exercise in self-styled moody majesty and the turgid blues crawl of closer "Tea for One." In between, there are two unalloyed masterpieces that channel all of the pain of the period into cinematic drama: a molten blues called "Nobody's Fault But Mine" and "For Your Life," as sharp, cinematic, and pained as Zeppelin ever were. Added together, Presence winds up as something less than the sum of its parts but its imbalance also means that it's a record worth revisiting; it seems different upon each revisit and is always compelling.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2016
i ordered this vinyl as a surprise for my husband who is in the process of finishing up his led zeppelin collection. he was so excited and surprised to get it. The vinyl sounds great and was just what he wanted
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2015
Oh my. "For Your Life" and "Nobody's Fault But Mine" in vinyl is why you buy a turntable. Page's and Plant's (harmonica) solos in "Nobody's Fault" are exactly what define this band, the genre, and the era. Bonham's drums in "Nobody's Fault" are fantastic. Page's layered guitars in "For Your Life" fill the room.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2015
Love the deluxe set here, bravo Jimmy Page! While this album does not have the balance between rock and folk that some of the previous albums had, it is the last remaining Led zeppelin album to rock hard and passionately. Miss these guys.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2016
Page has done a fantastic job of remastering this album. The outtakes are great; I loved the Royal Orleans version with Bonham laying down the guiding vocals - hilarious! That's what I love about Zeppelin - they knew when and how to take their work and themselves so seriously.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2013
Led Zeppelin brings down the hammer of the gods HARD on this one! Fueled by the FEROCIUS drumming of the late, great John Bonham, this album ROCKS from beginning to end. Led Zeppelin proves once again that they are still the greatest Rock Band in history!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2017
As always...FANATASTIC! Jimmy did a good job and I'm glad the extra tracks were put in the cd. A reason to buy it right there! Another wonderful thing? When you purchase the cd, you get to download the music on your device. So you can listen to it immediately!! I started with this one as a gift and have bought IV and Physical Graffiti. Want to listen to REAL music? Start off with the LED ZEPPELIN cds!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse