Buying Options

Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR
Digital List Price: $8.99
Kindle Price: $6.99

Save $3.50 (33%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Pretty Ugly Lies: A Gripping and Chilling Domestic Noir by [Pamela Crane]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Pretty Ugly Lies: A Gripping and Chilling Domestic Noir Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 263 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$6.99
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE
Amazon Business: Make the most of your Amazon Business account with exclusive tools and savings. Login now

Editorial Reviews

Review

"A thought-provoking domestic noir novel perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and B.A. Paris ... A chilling look at the secrets mothers will hide for the sake of their families, and the gruesome reality of what can break an everyday woman." - Literary Lover Reviews

"As a mother who has struggled with depression, this book hit home for me. The writing is outstanding--the prose eloquent, powerful, drawing me in from the first page. The characters represented people I can relate to. I think we all imagine we're all so likeable, but in reality there are ugly sides to us all. We can be selfish, depressed, exhausted, irritable, and act crazy. I've never read a book like this before--one so raw and gripping where it ripped me apart and sewed me back together with a completely new understanding of what people deal with, what hurts we hide, what skeletons we bury, and what small and big things can cause us to break...a perfect book about imperfect people. About what could make a woman snap and hurt those she loves--and this is reality. It changed the way I look at life and people, and I realized after reading this that no one is alone in the abyss. 5-star story. 5-star writing. 5-star impact. Every woman and mother needs to read this!" - Southern Editor Reviews

From the Author

You've heard about it in the news or on Facebook. You've read with shock what another mother has done to her child. One mom leaves her baby in a dryer. Another mom duct tapes her toddler to a wall. Another woman drowns her niece. A grandmother leaves her grandson out in the freezing cold for hours to teach him a lesson he won't live to learn. With every nauseating newscast you think, "How could she do this? How could she kill a child?" It's revolting and chilling, the disturbing actions people are capable of.

And yet it's real life for many.

In the United States alone more than 200 women kill their children each year. That's a lot of victims, a lot of suffering, a lot of pain that had been buried so deep that no one saw it coming ... until it came. It came in a mental snap that the nation would soon hear as the cries of those children reached us beyond the grave. But in most cases it's a short snap on a very long branch of suffering.

We easily hate these maternal murderers, yearn to watch them suffer like they caused these children to suffer. But something tells me that anyone capable of harming a child was already suffering quite a bit. We just didn't see it.

I have four beautiful children. Children I cherish, children I would give up myown life for, children who give me purpose and joy. But they're also children who take more than give, who demand sacrifices of my time, my energy, my sleep, my health, my every waking minute, even my sanity. It's the call of motherhood. Some of us embrace that call and remind ourselves that it's something precious, to enjoy it while it lasts. Others crumble under the weight of motherhood in depressed silence, barely able to make it through to the end of the day.

For those who are searching for peace or struggling, your voice is heard. Don't give up on yourself or your children. This book is written to remind you that I see you, I hear you, I understand you. We all feel bound by our lives at some point or another, tied to a life that can feel grueling. But the chains are not our lives or our children; the chains are the mental battles that we face. Our choice is how we will conquer those destructive thoughts. Pretty Ugly Lies is based on real women I know and love--even their ugly parts. They aren't always likeable--because this book isn't about the likeable women out there. It's about the strugglers, those who have lost their way, those people you might not see but who do exist and need to be seen and heard.

For those of you who can relate to the weariness of life, my hope is you find joy in the little things--like reading a riveting psychological thriller (wink wink). Embrace the healing hug of a friend. Relish the smile on your child's face. Inhale the fresh scent of nature. Taste the euphoric blend of food you love. Find something to get through today. And let tomorrow worry about itself.

Here's a hug from me to you! --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08B7YC5RY
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Bloodhound Books (July 18, 2018)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ July 18, 2018
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 2091 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 186 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 263 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
263 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on February 2, 2018
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 22, 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 9, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 6, 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 10, 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

patricia dixon
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Judith Baker
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Book!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 5, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Intruiging storylines
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 8, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
W. A. Burt
5.0 out of 5 stars Pamela makes this one fly
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 22, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Pam
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Ugly Lies
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 3, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse