Kindle Price: $10.99

Save $5.00 (31%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Prey of Gods by [Drayden, Nicky]
Kindle App Ad

The Prey of Gods Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 60 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$10.99

Length: 400 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

"Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism, and Progress"
Is the world really falling apart? Is the ideal of progress obsolete? Cognitive scientist and public intellectual Steven Pinker urges us to step back from the gory headlines and prophecies of doom, and instead, follow the data: In seventy-five jaw-dropping graphs, Pinker shows that life, health, prosperity, safety, peace, knowledge, and happiness are on the rise. Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Lauren Beukes and Neil Gaiman better add The Prey of Gods to their reading lists! This addicting new novel combines all the best elements of science fiction and fantasy” (RT Book Reviews (June 2017 Seal of Excellence -- Best of the Month))

“This dense and imaginative debut is [...] a book like no other, with a diverse cast that crosses the spectrum of genders and races, and a new idea (or four) in every chapter.” (B&N Sci Fi and Fantasy Blog (The Best Science Fiction & Fantasy Books of 2017 So Far))

“You’ll need to clear your schedule as soon as you get your hands on a copy of Drayden’s debut novel!...Drayden has certainly made herself an author to watch out for.” (Romantic Times, 4 1/2 stars (Top Pick!))

Prey of Gods delivers on every promise in beautifully unexpected ways that leave you breathless, a little dizzy, and wanting more...Exquisite, fast-paced, and excellent fun.” (Fran Wilde, award-winning author of Updraft, Cloudbound, and Horizon)

“Drayden has knocked it out of the park with this novel. . . . an excellent piece of fiction that is levels above any of the summer reads coming out.” (New York Journal of Books)

“Drayden’s delivery of all this is subtly poignant and slap-in-the-face deadpan — perfect for this novel-length thought exercise about what kinds of gods a cynical, self-absorbed postmodern society really deserves. Lots of fun.” (New York Times Book Review)

“Thanks to a rip-roaring story and Drayden’s expansive imagination, it all coheres into the most fun you can have in 2017.” (Book Riot (Best Books of 2017))

“Nicky Drayden’s debut novel The Prey of Gods is a surprising cornucopia of genres and characters taking place in a futurist South Africa [...] It’s a little bit surreal, a little bit weird, a lot of fun and wholly impressive.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“A fantastic mix of science fiction, horror, fantasy, and humor, The Prey of Gods is a unique novel that defies categorization...Fun and engaging, The Prey of Gods is an unforgettable read.”
(Bustle -- “13 Science Fiction Books Starring Women For Your Summer Reading List”)

“Ancient gods, gene-tech, and gripping action - I love so much about this book.” (Cat Rambo, author of Beasts of Tabat and Neither Here Nor There)

From the Back Cover

In South Africa, the future looks promising. Personal robots are making life easier for the working class. The government is harnessing renewable energy to provide infrastructure for the poor. And in the bustling coastal town of Port Elizabeth, the economy is booming, thanks to the genetic engineering industry, which has found a welcome home there. Yes, the days to come are looking very good for South Africans. That is if they can survive the present challenges:

A new hallucinogenic drug sweeping the country . . . 
an emerging AI uprising . . . 
and an ancient demigoddess hell-bent on regaining her former status by preying on the blood and sweat (but mostly blood) of every human she encounters.

It’s up to a young Zulu girl powerful enough to destroy her entire township, a queer teen plagued with the ability to control minds, a pop diva with serious daddy issues, and a politician with even more serious mommy issues to band together to ensure there’s a future left to worry about.

In a style both fun and fantastical, Nicky Drayden takes her brilliance as a short-story writer and weaves together an elaborate tale that will capture your heart, even as one particular demigoddess threatens to rip it out.


Product details

  • File Size: 1436 KB
  • Print Length: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Harper Voyager (June 13, 2017)
  • Publication Date: June 13, 2017
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01LY7NUYQ
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #135,716 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Fantasy Books
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Science Fiction Books
4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Young Adult Books
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

February 12, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
February 1, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
February 4, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
September 10, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
July 27, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
August 15, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
June 27, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
July 8, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Prey of Gods
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Prey of Gods