Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno

  • Prey
  • Customer reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 417 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,340 reviews
on May 7, 2017
This book delivered. The author has a way of making you understand the technical side of science otherwise I couldn't have been able to read this book. With that said the storyline was fantastic and well written . I gave this book the rating I did because it was hard to put down and I finished it in 2 days.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2017
Wasn't sure I would like this book. It it drew me right in. Remember Orwell's 1984, Big Brother Is Watching? And we all know how easily people can watch us today. Our technology is exploding exponentially in computers, programming, virtual reality, the bio technical sciences with transplants, artificial limbs, etc. This could happen. A good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2015
I've read four of Crichton's books so far - Micro, Congo, Jurassic Park, and Prey. Prey is easily the best of those. The central character is instantly relatable, and extremely likable. The backstory is well set, and the story flows beautifully. And when you finally get to the swarm, the book gets insanely good. In fact, it's the only of his books that doesn't feel like there are any extraneous events; everything is necessary. The plot only ever picks up speed until it's riveting finale, and the research by Crichton is so good I'm afraid it could be accomplished in real life by some rogue company! If you haven't, read this NOW.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2012
Exciting and suspenseful. Too bad it turned into a horror flick with the grossness of the dead bodies. That part when the hero got his foot stuck in the chest of his teammate was especially hokey.

The entire hive felt like it was out of a alien-like horror movie. I was kind of frustrated that it took them so long to figure out that the virus could defeat the e. coli assemblers. The plot dragged on and on as they tried to fight it with conventional weapons, blowing up things, etc. I had already figured out that Julia was colonized by the particles. I also don't like the loose end about the cause of the accident. Perhaps the real Julia wanted out, but the particle man caused her to crash.

A bit slow at the beginning, but picked up after the rabbit died.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2015
This book stands well more for the ideas it presents than the story. Crichton did a good job creating an interesting environment for the plot to transpire. A place so close, yet so far, from civilization. As the plot builds there are tantalizing little clues about what's really going on, but they're never followed up on. In the epilogue where the character looks back on these events and tries to figure them out, but even then, the reader's imaginary gap filing is laid to waste.

Overall, it's a good read reminiscent of Crichton's Jurassic Park in which Man uses science to make something he can't control. Most interesting is the included information on how computers and predators think (you'll see).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
For those of us who like something different and imaginative to read, Crichton always seems to fill the bill. This book was no exception. It gets into some techno/scientific subject matter here and there, but not to the point where I felt like skipping pages, and I think it was necessary for the story - so we could have just a little understanding of how the premise of the story might be possible. It left me wishing for more from Michael Crichton.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2017
Another thriller from Crichton who seems to be on the forefront of futuristic technology that is really happening in the labs and being tested in the field. Very scary stuff which keeps you glued to each page. Love his work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2015
This is such a great read. If you like suspense, mysteries, and truly thought provoking ideas.....you are going to live this book. I could not putt the book down! Michael Crichton does such a novel subject of nano tech and weaves a story that will have you on the edge of your seat. I don't want to reveal or spoil details from the book because I'd rob you of the pleasure of finding out the plot and twists that Michael Crichton has in store for you. I will say that I was scared at times when reading the book because science is a field that is still so vast and this whole nano tech really is really just mind blowing. The characters are well defined. I hated a couple of them but that just goes to show that Michael Crichton did a great job in his character details and truly did his job as a story teller. Buy the book!! You won't regret it!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2015
As I expected this novel was fantastic. Also as expected from this author it is a warning. A warning of what could happen if this technology is not carefully monitored by a committee with no financial or academic interest in the outcome. Nanotechnology can bring many benefits both in medicine and invention, but it has a dark side. Michael Crichton has given us a fictional example of one way unmonitored research could result in horrors that would wreak devastation upon humanity. If you like speculative fiction that it based upon scientific possibilities, you will love this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2017
The premise upon which this story is based is
horrific. The story moves quickly to an uncertain
ending, leaving a good opportunity for additional
tales.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.04
$11.59
$9.99

Need customer service? Click here