Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Private Paradise: Contemporary American Gardens
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Dolly Parton Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$46.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 4, 2012
I found that the gardens showcased in the book were interesting, but I wanted to see floorplans and get some more information besides the glossy pictures. You can't really tell how the space is organized by the pictures shown.
33 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2011
Exquisite choice of photos. Very interesting, different choices of locations. Most of all I enjoyed the succinct, helpful descriptions alongside each garden of such things as name of architect, name of photographer, climate, existing conditions, and special considerations. I will be sending this as a gift to many friends.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2011
The gardens are unique and the photography is exquisite. The written bits as introduction to each chapter are beautifully developed. What a treat to own the book!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2015
Oh yes! The paradise created, discovered, and so beautifully presented in this book will inspire the architect, gardener, artist, and home owner who seeks to be dazzled.There is surprise and delight on every page. From romantic gardens, to sweeping modern landscaping; the element of awe lends the viewer to escape in all these beautiful properties. Over 40 properties are represented in this beautiful book. The photographs are gorgeous. I own this book and am giving one to my Aunt who is an avid artist/gardener for Christmas.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2011
Private Paradise is a pleasing size to hold, a great tour around the garden zones, and quietly instructive. It is a wonderful entree into some new ways of thinking about and planning a garden. Great photos. This is a book I will give to friends, too.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2011
Just what I want from a garden book- lots of great pictures with inspiring ideas! I have never seen any of these gardens published before- what a treat!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2011
This was an amazing adventure into diverse landscapes. What creativity!! This makes you think beyond the flower bed and patio.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2011
"Private Paradise" by Charlotte M. Frieze takes the reader on a picturesque daydream of beautiful gardens, pool-sides, mountains, land and seascapes. The book inspires and delights with an intimate tour of the most fascinating gardens with a blossoming triumph of floral and plant variety, accompanied by stunning architecture and horticultural creativity beyond one's imagination.

The author goes into great detail describing the various techniques in which gardens are created. From environmentally sensitive gardens, organic vegetable and herb gardens to enchanting gardens, filled with romance and peaceful serenity.

"Private Paradise" is a timeless collection of great ideas and is sure to make a wonderful gift to be appreciated by all who admire the care and investment of luxurious landscaping unlike any other.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2014
Nice book. Recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2015
Beautiful book/
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse