Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by M + L
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: LIKE NEW! Shipped in 2-3 working days from Germany by TRACKABLE First Class Priority Airmail. Very fast shipment!
Trade in your item
Get up to a $0.40
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Private Parts & Pieces 1 & 2 Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, February 16, 2010
"Please retry"
$10.41 $13.31

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Editorial Reviews

Two CD set containing a pair of releases from the veteran guitarist and former member of Genesis: Private Parts & Pieces Pt. 1 and Private Parts & Pieces Part 2: Back From The Pavillion. Private Parts and Pieces was originally released in the UK as a free bonus album as part of the Sides release. It was released as a stand alone album shortly afterwards in late 1978. The album is almost all acoustic based material that had been written between Ant leaving Genesis and the release of The Geese and The Ghost. Pt. 2: Back To The Pavillion was released in early 1980 due to the incredible success of the original Private Parts and Pieces album.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Beauty and the Beast - Anthony Phillips
  2. Field of Eternity - Anthony Phillips
  3. Tibetan Yak-Music - Anthony Phillips
  4. Lullaby - Old Father Time - Anthony Phillips
  5. Harmonium in the Dust - Anthony Phillips
  6. Tregenna Afternoons - Anthony Phillips
  7. Stranger - Anthony Phillips
  8. Reaper - Anthony Phillips
  9. Autumnal - Anthony Phillips
  10. Flamingo - Anthony Phillips
  11. Seven Long Years - Anthony Phillips
  12. Silver Song (Demo) - Anthony Phillips
  13. Movement IV From Guitar Quintet (Bonus Tracks) - Anthony Phillips
  14. Salmon Leap
  15. Parting Thistle
  16. Electric Reaper

Disc: 2

  1. Amorphous, Cadaverous and Nebulous
  2. Salmon's Last Sleepwalk
  3. Back To The Pavilion
  4. Lucy An Illusion
  5. Postlude: End of the Season
  6. Heavens
  7. Spring Meeting
  8. Romany's Aria
  9. Chinaman
  10. Nocture
  11. Magic Garden
  12. Von Runkel's Yorker Music
  13. Will O' The Wisp
  14. Tremulous - Anthony Phillips
  15. I Saw You Today - Anthony Phillips

Product Details

  • Audio CD (February 16, 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: 101 DISTRIBUTION
  • ASIN: B0031KSLBG
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #248,388 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By James H. Kidder on March 23, 2010
What is missing from both the listing of this item and from the product description below is that this is another in a line of remastered CDs from AP. He is slowly going through his catalog and remastering the discs. Some have been dramatic, such as The Geese and the Ghost, while others, like this release, have been somewhat more subtle. In fact, this remaster is so subtle that it is difficult to tell the original from the remaster, apart from the drop in noise. This is nothing like the Genesis "remasters" which were altered, sometimes dramatically, from their originals. Both of these albums provide an excellent introduction to Anthony Phillips and have a light, laid-back air about them. The first PPP is the more cohesive of the two, which much taken up by lengthy twelve-string and classical guitar pieces, all of which are very enjoyable. The second PPP, while being somewhat more eccentric than the first one, is more varied in its arrangements, with shorter songs. Each of these discs has its strengths but both are eminently enjoyable and one can hear still hints of Ant's days with Genesis in each.
1 Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
This is a wonderful set compiling the first two releases in Anthony Phillips long running Private Parts and Pieces series. For my money part 1 hits the ball out of the park and is never bettered. In fact aside from Geese and the Ghost I would say it is my favorite Ant album. loads of wonderful instrumental tracks capped off by the beautiful seven long years. actually if i have one complaint here it is that the remaster puts the bonus vocal track strangers in the middle of the album which to me disrupts the original flow (I used to listen to it on vinyl before i got this remaster). not to say strangers is a bad track but i would have preferred it on the end with the other very nice bonus tracks.

the highlight for me is Flamingo a incredible 12 string epic piece that blows me away everytime i hear it. as much emotion in their as any vocal piece out there.

PPP II follows much the same pattern as I but as the other reviewer mentioned its a bit more fractured with a lot more songs also i find the long keyboard improvisation of K2 a bit derailing its nice but doesn't go much of anywhere for me. still there are some lovely moments on this album the scottish suite is probably the best starting the album out with some real energy of a whole band performing. the vocal piece at the end is very nice as well. I think I like Ants vocal pieces cause on most of his albums they are few and far between so when they come they are special especially coming at the end of albums like they tend to do.

Overall my personal favorite of the PPP re-releases but the others all have much to offer I'll try and review them as well.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Look for Similar Items by Category

Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: vinyl pop, easy listening