Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Pro Evolution Soccer 2013 - Playstation 3
Amazon Vehicles GoldBox Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now STEM

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 4, 2012
So you're probably asking yourself - which game should I buy this year...PES or FIFA?

Having played both in previous years - and becoming frustrated with the issues of PES 2012 (online play, players with superhuman speed outpacing any defence), I decided to pick up a copy of FIFA 13 and see what the fuss was all about.

To be honest, FIFA 13 is a really great game. I'd played FIFA 08 and 09 a few years back and was amazed at just how much the game play had improved!
The modes, licenses, commentary and music are all superb - and are easily way better than anything PES has to offer.
The stadiums look terrific, player movements are smooth and nicely animated and online gaming is top notch.

But after playing it for about a week and having read some positive reviews about this year's version of PES, I decided to try out the demo.
& that was the tipping point - the demo just felt more fun to play than FIFA and the game play seemed more realistic.
...Long story short, I sold my copy of FIFA and bought PES - and I've been a happy camper ever since.

So what's different?

1) The pace is slower - you actually have time to pass the ball around to your other players while trying to break down a defence (like Barcelona would). I felt that was missing in FIFA, where the pitch just seems more crowded for some reason, and you're constantly rushed to either dribble past defenders or quickly rush a pass to another player so as not to lose possession.

2) Passing seems more crisp and responsive to the controls - so an errant or intercepted pass is more likely due to a player's mistake or carelessness.

3) Defending has been improved - you won't see as many unstoppable sprints by Ronaldo or Messi as you did in PES 2012.

Yes, the commentary's terrible and the lack of licenses is a bit of inconvenience - but those are quickly forgotten when you start playing a game. It's just that good.
...So go ahead and pick up a copy of PES 2013 - you won't regret it! Must buy.
55 comments| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2012
This game is great, it is by far, the most fun and enjoyable soccer game I have ever played. The improvements are amazing and outstanding, gameplay is very fun and REALISTIC. You just feel something different than when playing FIFA, even FIFA 13 (which I bought and played with for a couple of days, after that I sold it).
Definitely recommended, 100% recommended.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2012
I bought Fifa 12 after not having a football game for a long time. I played it for a year, and it did have a lot of nice features. The greatest positive of the Fifa franchise is content. Because they have exclusive contracts they can include all the teams you want and more. They have so many players that you can spend hours looking through players. They have a lot of different "modes" which remind me a bit of Facebook games. If you want a role-playing game and not a football game, Fifa is the game for you.

But the current generation 12+13 have issues. It is really hard to be competitive on Professional level or above, frustratingly hard. Defenders are way too good, way to fast. Passers rarely make mistakes. A opponent player can be under severe pressure on the touchline and still deliver a cross field pass right to a team-mate. This never happens in real football. There is a lag between when you press the button and your player takes action. This is the biggest deal-breaker with the current generation that still persists in Fifa 13. You may get few chances a game and this will blow many of them. The players rarely make any smart runs unless you bump your mode up to attacking and beyond. The through-pass system usually makes the wrong decision (PES overcomes this with total freedom passes on a play-by-play basis). The goal celebrations are completely unrealistic. The commentators spout random facts over and over and often call a pass a shot. The crowd are card-board cutouts which from certain angles becomes very distracting and cheesy. Manager mode will sell big players like Rooney and Messi behind your back. The injury/ card system is way to over-happy when you designate the computer to simulate a game. Players like Neymar are rendered useless because they have the stamina of a small child. The best feature of Fifa is that what it lacks in actual fun, it makes up back for in addictiveness - That is - in between the frustrations that make you never want to play it again. It is addictive because it is expansive.

PES 2013 while obviously lacking in content makes back up for this in game play. It is NOT hard. As a Fifa 12 player I was able to play a game and actually score *gasp*, even on professional level. The computer actually makes mistakes. Players make good runs. I can manually slot a pass through if I doubt the computer will choose the right path by pressing the L2 button. Even if I don't, the through-pass system is pretty good. Key players actually move like themselves - quite amazing to see considering the players in Fifa all seem like cardboard cutouts of 1 or 2 generic players. Celebrations are realistic. For example, Neymar dances. Just last night, I was down a goal close to the end and Rooney grabs the ball out of the net and runs to the center for the restart. Passes and shots are surprisingly delay-free, if not 100% of the time, most of the time. The crowd is sufficient and not obviously cardboard cutouts. Stadiums are beautiful and the shading/lighting looks less cartoony that Fifa 13 does.

PES is NOT complex or hard to play on a superficial level. I'm not sure why people keep saying this over and over again. Could it be because the game starts up with an extensive tutorial you can chose to skip? This was one of my main frustrations with Fifa. There were 4 tutorials in the whole game and no instruction booklet. It basically left it up to you to figure out what to do, as if every Fifa owner has been playing the game for years. And as for tricks, Fifa Street will teach you they keys but NOT Fifa. So they are trying to co-opt you into buying Street as well, make Fifa your whole life and game library.

The main thing, in my view, is that when I played the PES demo, I smiled and laughed and was excited again about football. This is something that Fifa 12 has yet to make me do. PES is just fun to play.

Of course, coming from Fifa, the funding issues are apparent as Fifa is an EA big seller. EA is able to throw a lot of money at the game. The subtitles in master mode could have been replaced with simple dialogue. The wrong team names can be mostly fixed with updates published on the Internet by enthusiasts in the PES community.

I have not played PES 2013 yet as much as I have Fifa 12 in the past year, but the frustrations that PES fixed for me have been well worth paying the opening-week price in my opinion. After playing the Fifa 13 demo, I realised that Fifa had not fixed the most glaring problems.

Pros
- Fun
- Realistic
- Seems like you are watching a game on TV
- Key players behave like themselves
- No key-press delay
- Players are more intelligent
- Opposition will actually make mistakes
- Fan community
- In-game and in-manual help

Cons
- Changed team names
- Lower budget means not as flashy and less time-waste content
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2012
Finally Konami did it this time, they got the formula of the failure of 11 and 12 right this time, with the utilization of Fox engine Smooth game gameplay, amazing graphic best one of the series and much better than the Arcady Fifa
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
Always the best, FIFA does not come close IMHO. PES is just FUN. I give it 4 stars cause i believe that the online experience still is not up to par. But the game ROCKS plus it bring Copa Libertadores teams!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2013
i cant expend a day without play pes... i am not from usa but i always bought from amazon... the awaiting kills me...

but konami lets be clear, easports is doing a nice job, everygame have improvements.. and pes doesnt.

if you dont make this game better you will lost people, i lost two friends that bought fifa this year...

please move it!!! improve... you need to update players... almost always i play with venezuela and doesnt have license, you dont improve and update players... konami if you need help to do it, give me a job! it is my dream to work there hehe, i love football and it make me angry that you dont update teams... not everyday like fifa but once a month...

i will but my ps4 and pes, i will give you one more chance before i buy fifa...

the other thing, here in america we wait a lot to play with copa santander libertadores teams... my favorite team is caracas fc, but the players are from 2012... not updated, they get better playing and the stadistics are wrong... we cant play versus uefa teams...

i dont know konami, i will give you 5 stars but im not very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2013
i was really excited to get this game because i was hoping for something new and more indepth as far as the become a legend mode... nothing has really changed to revolutionize gaming here... its still the best soccer game around... i was just expecting more as far as the modes. it was a little to easy... as soon as you win world player of the year there isnt much more to accomplish... that and even when you win that, you dont even get a cool cut scene or anything.... just a popup that says congratulations you won world player of the year. on the game play, its the same great quality you would expect from pes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2012
Great improvement from 2012 version.
Still has some bugs that show that developers never played futbol (soccer) in their lives and some other where players freeze or jump back without any reason or logic.
Other than that is a mucho better version than 2012
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2014
Love it. Great selection of tunes and solid football. The licenses are bit thin on the ground, and only soccer die hards will know most of the leagues on here, but hey you get to learn. The meat and potatoes are solid though. Fun game of footie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2013
This game is great, it is by far, the most fun and enjoyable soccer game I have ever played. The improvements are amazing and outstanding, gameplay is very fun and REALISTIC. You just feel something different than when playing FIFA, even FIFA 13 (which I bought and played with for a couple of days, after that I sold it).
Definitely recommended, 100% recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here