Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Listen for a chance to win Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
43
Probabilistic Robotics (Intelligent Robotics and Autonomous Agents series)
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$64.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on June 29, 2017
The books has a very practical approach to the issues of robotics. I wish economist could use similar probabilistic models to make their predictions/forecasts more realistic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 30, 2014
Short of writing your code for you, this tolme, provides general algorithms that can be applied to any sensor or configuration. It is not comprehensive in the number of variations on the basic algorithm, but allows sufficient background understanding to allow users to research specific variations from other publications with a modest chance of understanding the theory behind it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 8, 2017
The mathematical proof in the book is clear and easy to follow. Really good book for someone want to learn mapping and localization of robotics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 6, 2014
Excellent book for master degree students in robotics, it contains a large variety of topics which are just explored enough to understand and to allow you for further research. The conditions of the book were great, just a small scratch on a corner probably due to the delivery process. The book is totally recommended. Greetings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 13, 2017
Perfect place to start your SLAM career, provided you know your linear algebra and probability.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 23, 2017
Excellent treatment of Robotics from the probabilistic point of view. I'll be reading and referencing it for years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 21, 2017
very good book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 17, 2014
I work in avionics, not robotics, but I ordered this book because it seemed to cover a lot of the subjects that are now making their way into avionics systems. In particular, I was interested in its coverage of Kalman Filters and POMDPs.

I have to say that the other positive reviews are well-warranted. I have not before encountered such clear explanations of Bayes filtering, Kalman Filters (including EKFs and UKFs), even in spite of having encountered many books and papers on these subjects. The authors seem to go out of their way to present the material with a logical and clear-cut progression that doesn't skip essential steps with the typical "the reader can clearly see that..." kinds of hand-waiving I have seen in other texts.

To be honest, I can't comment on the parts related to robot dynamics and SLAM, but as for chapters 1-4 and the chapters on POMDPs, I would have to say that this book presents the material in a better and more clear way than I have ever seen it presented before.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 27, 2015
Wonderful book for those looking for an introduction to the topics at hand. The writing is clear and the authors do a perfect job of communicating the meaning of the methods and not just the formalities.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 6, 2017
I like the book a lot and fits perfect in what I am working! Thank you...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse