Spring Deals Automotive HPC Children of Blood and Bone New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry SpringEvent_Lawn_and_Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno

on January 11, 2012
The first chapter, although full of errors as everyone said, was really the best part of the book. I learn much better by example, and the 1st chapter was 160pages of it. The errors in the book, although inexcusible for something I paid money for, actually helped me learn more, because it forced me to debug the application and search for answers. I tend to learn more this way anyway, but it was pretty pathetic that these errors were published.

After chapter 1, I pretty much read the entire book in a couple of days, and learned almost nothing. Truthfully, I'm being a little biased, as I was reading Apress's Pro ASP.NET MVC 3 book at the same time. The only reason I bought this book was to see the difference between MVC 2 and MVC 3. I could've just bought Apress's MVC 2 book, but I wanted a different perspective. Unfortunately, it wasn't a very good one. Outside the first chapter, I really can't recommend this book. Look elsewhere. Apress's MVC 3 book is leaps and bounds better than this book, and goes far, far, far, into more detail than this book. However, it is twice as long. Both books fall short in that, like every other book, they only provide the simplest examples. It would be nice to see a book start like this book, right out of the gate, with a simple full web site example (btw, Apress's book spends the middle of their book and a full example as well); teach you meaning behind the example in the 2nd part, and then in a final 3rd part of the book, build a very real, detailed, hard-core, full-fledge website by example, just to nail it all down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 22, 2011
I bought this book almost 9 months back but now only got the time to read it.The book starts with a real world example and explains the theory later. I din't know anything about ASP.NET MVC .So what I did was read some of the theory behind Model ,View and Controller and started doing the Nerddinner project. Then I started realizing that as the authors say "The best way to learn a new framework is to build an application with it.". This is very true. You might see some errors in the code as a lot of other people complain.But if you ever worked with ASP.NET web forms, its all manageable.You can find the whole source code in codeplex [...].This is what I refferd to when ever i come across some error in the code.Of course , we don't expect the Gurus to make any mistakes in their book(lol)..
Also i found that they really explain very well all the concepts (Model,View and Controller).So my opinion is that if you want to get a real undestanding of what ASP.NET MVC is and don't mind searching codeplex or Wrox P2P forums for that matter, this book is all for you.

0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 7, 2011
The text is disorganized and the code is full of bugs. It seems like none of the code was tested before it was published in the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 15, 2010
Starting with the ViewModel section of chapter 1, there is plently of errata which leaves you wondering. This is confirmed on the books official forums filled with people asking for answers.

In short, the book tries to use "TryUpdateModel" which doesn't work because you aren't using the Dinner model any more, but rather the DinnerFormViewModel. You have to use one of the overloaded TryUpdateModel methods in order for it to work. You can visit the book's forums for more details.

There are also a lot of errors in the map section of chapter 1 -- mainly in the ids you have to select using jQuery (#Dinner_Address instead of #Address, for example). You also don't get the CSS to position the map correctly -- you must make your own css to float the map to the right and position it.

EDIT: More errata: The C# code for finding the nearest dinners within 100 miles is not present in the book or the downloadable code. You get the sql code. However, like another function that they give you, you need SQL and C#. You can get the C# code at the forums.

Overall, it's a good introduction; however, the various errata in the advanced topics of Chapter 1 leave me doubting the quality of the rest of the book. Given that the problems are fixable (if you are willing to try and understand what it doesn't tell you and visit the book's forums for help), I am giving the book three stars.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 16, 2010
I just purchased this book via the kindle store. It is pretty good. However, as someone who has been doing RoR development, the definition of models is pretty clear. But when it comes to ASP.NET MVC the definition of models get little bit blurry. I would expected to see a dedicated chapter for Model where it shows the best practices and how to use them in various scenarios (the book has dedicated chapters for Controller and View)
33 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 14, 2010
In my opinion, this book is a fast track to ASP.NET MVC written directly by the experts or rather ASP.NET team at Microsoft. If you are a professional ASP.NET web forms programmer and want to learn ASP.NET MVC then this book is certainly for you. However if you are novice to ASP.NET then this book is not recommended for you.

The book is written in a bit different style. Rather than starting with the hello world program, the book begins with first chapter dedicated to walkthrough of NerdDinner solution. For details about NerdDinner, please visit NerdDinner hosting site on Codeplex here ([...]). The first chapter of the book is also available free to download at [...].

Of course going through the walkthrough of NerdDinner and understanding its working would not be enough for you. So the next chapters digs down into detail explanation of each section.
What I like most in the book is that the authors have not only discussed the technology but they have also shared the perspective of the ASP.NET Product Team on different topics through "Product Team Aside boxes".

The sample code of book is available to download from wrox site. There are errors in the sample code and let's hope official errata will be available soon.

Overall if you have some experience working with ASP.NET Web Forms site and wanted to learn ASP.NET MVC or upgrade to ASP.NET MVC 2, this book is recommended for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 7, 2010
Chapters 2 and on are well worth the read to explain the concepts behind models, controllers, views, and what makes them work together. I absolutely recommend reading these, and read them first (5 stars).

Chapter 1 (which is 1/3 of the book) tries to talk you through creating the NerdDinner application, which would be great if you could do it from this book. However, there are so many errors and ommissions that trying to create the application is a long exercise in frustration; every step of the way leaves you experimenting or searching online because the code you just typed in didn't work (even once you feel you understand the concepts). It's enough to make you hate MVC, but keep in mind it's the instruction that's faulty, not the technology itself. Chapter 1, you get 1 star.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 14, 2010
You would think that our MVC gods could produce the definitive reference on this topic. The errors in the first chapter are very frustrating. I'd be willing to bet that alot of good programmers have given up on MVC because of this issue.

It's kind of ironic that the MVC gods advocate Unit Testing for MVC projects but yet they have books published that have not been tested.

The Wrox site has very little errata. The Wrox forums do offer help... but the readers should not be the ones finding and offering up errata. Go with Sandersons book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 11, 2010
What kind of professionals are these people? As many have mentioned, there are significant errors in the first chapter. The Errata on the wrox website (as of 10/11/2010) is severely lacking. You have to go into the wrox forums to find answers from other developers.

Yes, you can find the most updated NerdDinner at [...] but it's so overhauled it doesnt match the book anymore. A seasoned developer won't have much of a problem fixing these issues. But if you're a new to the web environment, the first chapter is a major pain, especially getting the bing map to show up correctly.

Although I did learn a lot, 1 star for numerous painful errors in chapter 1.

Most of the problems are listed in one posting: [...]

The rest of the issues are listed here: [...]
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 24, 2010
You may be tempted to read through the first chapter of this book (the famous NerdDinner tutorial) and then go off and code up a storm. Don't do it! This book has so much to offer - especially to someone brand new to ASP.NET MVC. Really, soak up what's provided in all of the chapters. If you wish to really understand ASP.NET MVC 2 development, work through the NerdDinner tutorial, read Professional ASP.NET MVC 2 cover to cover, write lots of your own code, read lots of other people's code, come up with your own ideas and keep learning from the many other resources which are readily available to you. I recommend Professional ASP.NET MVC 2 - it'll get you off to a great start. I've written a more in-depth reveiw on my blog, you can read it here: [...].
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here