Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $54.99 for a limited time only Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on September 23, 2017
the story stinks but the game play is real fun and the price is great if you like space fighter games this one will surprise you I liked it a lot and I have played a lot of flying games give it a try you really cant beet the price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 4, 2010
At first I was taken aback by the cheap price. However, I took the risk since it was so cheap of a game and I have some faith in SE. First of all, the videos in the game are shockingly pretty and are very well done! The music was also awesome! It was a mix of techno with very action packed scenes with crazy stunt dog fighting.

The story was well written (as expected of SE) with a killer ending that's really worth the time invested to watch. The game has replay value so you can unlock the best weapons in the game and easily get all the achievements (24/24). The laser surfboard weapon was a personal favorite of mine until I found out that there is even more FREE content available for people with X-Box live accounts. Go into game marketplace and download the free expansion! The bonus stages are very tough, but if you manage to win even one of them you are rewarded with killer new weapons to play with at anytime you choose.

The only let down with this game are the controls are a pain in the neck to get used to, but they do work. The best part is that you can totally customize the entire controller to be as specific as you want it to be. I turned the controls into something you'd see in the game H.A.W.X. then I had an instant winner of a game with no fuss over controls.

Give this game a try, you won't be disappointed for your money's worth. It (in my opinion) is currently the best deal for an X-Box 360 game on Amazon.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 10, 2013
I really like space combat games. I mean, I enjoy Ace Combat so why not take it to outer space? Though, there aren't many games like that nowadays for modern consoles and even the older space combat games such as Hellbender and Fury 3 for the PC aren't available anymore. So, what's to play? I saw the Square Enix logo on the game case, so I kind of expected it to be promising or disappointing. I bought the game and, well, it's quite promising. The gameplay graphics were astonishingly pretty for a 2007 game, CG cutscenes were very well made, sounds are like they should be in a sci-fi setting..but the story is..well, how do I put it, awkward? Your colony destroys a planet, so the inhabitants of that planet are declaring war on you, your closest friend joins them, and your colony retaliates. So, what was the point in attacking that planet, then? I watched all the cutscenes and they mention nothing about such thing. You can pick up the storyline somewhere along the game but something is still missing.

It's a good game with great visuals and sounds as well as gameplay, but the story is a little awkward.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 28, 2012
I bought this game to support Game Arts, the makers of Grandia... My favorite game of all time.

Their game direction has fallen a bit since the PS1 though...

This game is a cluster bomb of bright colors and trails, confusion, and obscure objectives.
Most of the time I had no idea what I was really supposed to be doing, and just shot down whatever enemy the game decided to highlight. Eventually though, you really have to focus if you want to progress, and I just found the process to not be all that much fun.

The controls are finicky and even on the lowest sensitivity I was jerking my ship back and forth trying to center it on a target. You have an overdrive, but it's only really useful when you are very, very, very far away from a target... So... It's not that useful in this game.

The story isn't all that compelling either, though the dialogue isn't bad, the voice acting could be better.

All in all, this game looks better than it plays..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 2, 2012
This game isn't nearly as bad as somw popular perceptions of it are. Yes, it's sort of broken when you first start playing it. 90% of the missions are the oh-so-dreaded and obnoxious escort missions, the battlefield is enormously busy, and you're expected to start sinking battleships and cruisers early enough on that you simply don't have enough firepower to deal with them in the alloted time limits (there are a lot of countdowns, despite missions that rage on for 40 minutes or more, they just split it up)

The solution to making this game really fun is quite simple - download the DLC and patch it (it's free, so no worries), play through the game on easy mode, and by the time you're ready for some epic space battles with a challenge to them, you've got enough credits to purchase the kind of weaponry you need to rise to the occassion. I totally stole this solution from hardcoregaming101.com , btw.

The story is bad, the charachters kind of obnoxious, but is that really why you play a game like this? Blow the $3 it costs to pick up a copy and prepare to dive into massive, epic space battles that showcase some really cool technical aspects - there can be hundreds of fighters and ships on screen at any given moment, and it's quite thrilling once you find the right pace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 6, 2013
I played Silpheed on my very first computer, so seeing this game available for XBox 360 made me want to check it out.

I just gotta say, for a $5 game, this was money well spent. I've only gotten to spend a few hours with it so far, but if you're looking for a fun arcade style game set in space, you really cant go wrong with Project Sylpheed. The graphics show their age, but for their time were top notch. The cut scenes are fun and if you are a fan of anime, this game is perfect. For the price I paid, I got a lot of value out of this game. Just in the few hours I have spent I already feel like I more than made out on my purchase price.

If you're looking for a fun game that isnt the same FPS made by a different company with a slightly different spin, pick up Project Sylpheed. In a game world that is increasingly dominated by the same types of games, it was pretty refreshing to play an action adventure 3d shooter with a little RPG mixed in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
After being a longtime fan of Square Enix Games I thought that this one would be just as enjoyable as the other titles released from this company, sadly while the graphics and voice cast as well as the CGI cutscenes are enjoyable the game play itself became to frustrating to appeal to me at all. There is no exploring or any interaction for your character really you basically just fly missions throughout the game with cutscene intermissions between them unlike Star Ocean Ex and The Final Fantasy games where you could explore and interact with the various people in those games, another big annoyance was the HUD display during the space battles in some situations you would have to protect a ship or carrier or something the problem was making sure where it was and while the control button was supposed to change your targeting points from enemies to enemies it didn't always work making you have to fly around and try to find the right ship to destroy or protect. Also you had command control of your wingman but they're pretty useless in the fights another annoyance it's almost like why bother giving me a wingman in the first place, You can replay previous missions to bring up your score from a previous mission if you want but after playing the migraine missions in the first place again it's almost like your thinking why bother. The game for $9.00 dollars was a reasonable price and somewhat sadly all I would pay for this game, So is it not worth getting? I say try a demo online or if a friend has it try playing a few missions first and make your choice if you feel the games worth it...
33 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 14, 2016
This is a great space flight simulator/rpg/arcade shooter. Enemy's come at you fast and in large quantity. Watching your screen fill with lock-on's and releasing a barrage of missile feels rewarding as you watch your kill count rise. On harder levels dogfights feel intense and frustrating at time. I recommend this game for anyone looking for that Macross feel in a game. (^ー^)ノ
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 24, 2012
I wasn't expecting too much on this one, given not many games approach sci-fi space combat in a realistic manner.

I was extremely surprised that this game exceeded my expectations in every particular. More to the point, this is about the first space combat game that uses principles of naval warfare in realistic fashion - a surprise and delight all the same.

The story has been covered in other reviews - I'll skip on that for now, except saying that it would have been nice for the story to be longer. Coming from an older 360 game, no big deal; this was one of the first releases, and the dev team probably didn't have a lot of time to flesh it out.

The combat is the major selling point. Your fighter, in typical super prototype fashion, can carry a rather massive arsenal and enough ammo to put a serious dent in an entire enemy fleet. This is, surprisingly enough, a very good thing - you will need that much ammo, and you will need to RTB for reloads and repairs frequently enough. Trust me on that if nothing else. You will have over 300 warships to slag in the course of a single run through on a game, and if you scrap half of those, you are doing good.

Of course, being a fighter in a game about fighter aces, you will have more time doing fighter-on-fighter engagements than you will be doing fighter-on-ship. This is where Sylpheed really shines in the realism department. In proper simulacrum of combat at astronomical ranges in space, very often you will not see your enemies before you shoot them down. Your radar is your friend; learn to use it properly, and you will prosper, young ace. Another thing that is properly realistic is your arsenal mixes energy, ballistic, and most helpfully, missile weapons. Chasing down enemy fighters and gunning them into salvage is possible, and in some cases is your best bet, but when doing crowd control against masses of fighters your missiles will be your go-to solution for clearing the unfriendly skies.

Replay value is extensive. It is effectively impossible to unlock all the arsenal in the game with one pass, or two, or even three. Thankfully, your unlocked weapons stay with you, allowing you to rack up higher scores on your second and subsequent passes. If you want to see the glorious heavy-hitter weapons, you will have to work the game over a few times to score the necessary points, but it will be worth it. And, if you are a compl33tionist, the tour-de-force challenge of the game is to sink 1 gigaton of enemy forces - yes, you read that right, 1 billion tons of bandits need to fall under your guns. Given that your average pass through the game will net you roughly 80-100 megatons of sunk battleships, you'll be at it for a while. On the plus side, it does count enemy fighters in your kill tonnage, so every little bit helps.

If you want a good immersion in futuristic space combat done as an extension of modern-day warfare principles, this one is a keeper. And, at around 4 hours a playthrough, with plenty to unlock on another round, you'll want to play it several times.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 25, 2017
Awesome game and a lot of fun!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here