Lyft Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 20 reviews
on December 7, 2013
I have loved the New World of Darkness. I love the lore behind Promethean, but honestly, even after reading this book, I am still uncertain how to play Promethean. It is a very high-concept game, and I am cool with that, I am not big on "combat games" anyway. My issue is with Character Creation. How do you make a character that is not an exact replica of the Progenitor of the Lineage. Each one becomes nearly identical in personality. For people who take a lot of pride in their character's back history, it will be hard for them to negotiate Promethean, because often, NO back history exists. I haven't played it yet, but I know that a lot of people consider it their favorite line because of the high-concepts involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2012
Unlike other World of Darkness books, the introduction of Promethean creates a new, albeit depressing, atmosphere for the story. Unlike most of the other types of supernaturals, Promethean's have little to no access to any social aspect in the game. If they try to gain a place in society, nothing but woe and hatred can come of it. While the powers of Promethean's (Transmutations) are an amazing interpretation of alchemy, the players will be more concerned with other things in the game. Combat takes a back seat to getting through each day, not making wherever the player goes a desolate hell-hole, trying not to awaken ravenous Pandoran abominations, and of coarse striving towards the goal of true humanity. Promethean is a great addition to any storyteller's arsenal. One recommendation is to have games either strictly, or mostly Promethean based to to the different nature of the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
In my opinion it doesn't mesh well with the other world of darkness books as these seem to be much more powerful than most of the other races i've seen. Probably the best book for 1 gm and 1 player out of them all, havn't tried a group of promethean players yet, but they work great for an enemy for other races
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2015
Nice take on not only the Universal movie monster and his literary counterpart, but on all stories of artificial men throughout the centuries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2017
he loves this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2009
The concept of this game is great. You play a souless creature seeking to understand the human condition and what it means to be human, as well as become human.

While a great concept, the game isn't for everyone. Due to the very presence of Prometheans creating Wastelands and inciting a mob mentality, hatred if they stay too long in an area, the Promethean troop or character always needs to be on the move.

So if you're not willing to have your chronicle on the move or playing with a mixed group of other Supernaturals, the very nature of Promethean will create some problems and based on group maturity, this can be good opportunities for rp or break the group.

I personally think Promethean does best as a stand alone chronicle. And it does involve some reading to fully grasp the concept.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2013
I wish this line of game was not limited run, as I really liked it. Being able to create a character that can be like Frankensteins monster is great (mine was made up of Elvis impersonators). I would say this game is a must have and play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2015
Promp shipment, good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2008
Had to pick this up with all the buzz on what an excellent game this is. Basically you play a Frakenstein type creature, a golem as such who is questing for mortality and a soul. This book uses the World of Darkness rules set, so you need that book to play this one. This game is also a limited run game, which means that besides this core book and the 4 supplements there are not going to publish any additional expansions. Also, when it goes out of print it will probably be gone for good, so probably best to snag your copy while its available (although you could buy it on electronic pdf).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2015
Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse