Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 223 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 318 reviews
on December 7, 2016
Rob Brezsny is constantly empowering, inspiring and invigorating me to live with deeper insight, imagination and wildness. His words are like someone took my inner most thoughts and dipped them into a cotton candy machine. If you are someone who is looking to live your life with passion, integrity and love then you will be thoroughly motivated through his compelling, hilarious and poignant book. Sign up for his newsletter Free Will Astrology if you haven't already. This book will rock your world.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2017
Rob Brezsny's book has influenced my life in such a profound way. Like a fruit concentrate ripe with empowering attitude vitamins, everytime i need a little dose i open up a page and take in the nectar which keeps me going for long periods of time....this righteous reference is perfect for people looking to take purism and dogmatic garbage out of spirituality, to bring sacredness back where it belongs, right here on earth in our daily lives and actions, AND to remind them (us) how our human antenna-like nature of embodying opposites and contradictions can be a tool for growth and effective action rather than a source of confusion. Oh and to have an abundance of ideas about how to stay positive!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2014
This tome is full of anecdotes, ponderings, carefully calculated diatribes logically dismantling the tyranny of reason, and whimsical tirades on the efficacy of intelligent compassion. In short, it is an inspiration of much needed light and joy when suffocating under the heavy monotony of the terrible mundane. I would recommend it as a pleasurable indulgence for anyone that feels there has to be a paradigm that overthrows the hierarchical mean spirited world view so many are raised to perceive; and I would recommend it as an absolute necessity to anyone who does not!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2016
But like cotton candy - too much at once might leave you queasy.
*Edited to change rating and review. The content of the book should be the focus, not the author's reaction to current events.
77 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2017
Ah THE BREZ! What's not to love about this delightful collection of thoughtfully collected notes and illustrations that immediately shake you into a consciousness you might never have reached without Brezsny's mischievous and playful style!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2017
The author is crazy GREAT! I love his work. I highly recommend this book for casual read. Random, wise, poetic. He is very intelligent, and unique astrologist and author ... love his work! Lots to ponder here!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2017
Good medicine for the soul! If I'm ever feeling down I can always pick-up this book, randomly turn to a page and have a good laugh. It makes me feel more positive in this world, reminding me to take a deep breath and explore my world, my perspective deeper.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2017
Everyone on the planet should have this book. A guide to truly loving yourself as a perfect creation. And loving ALL of the creation by extension. Thank you Rob Brezsny!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2017
Rob tells it as it is. Straightforward and at the same time twisted with a delicious sense of humor. Wisdom and entertainment for the ages.
I love this guy and his antidote for paranoia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2014
I was really excited to start this book based on some of the reviews. I love the concept of the title and was really hoping to get some fresh insights. Unfortunately, Brezsny presents material like a psychotic monkey on a vanilla latte binge. It was just out of control. However, if I spend the money on a book, I'm that type that white knuckles through it, even if I am not enjoying it. All in all, I did get a few inspirations (mostly from his use of quotes and anecdotal stories about others.) I also liked his little snippets of news stories at the end of each chapter, presumably to support the chapters theme. I didn't always "get" the relationship, but there were some well researched tidbits of information in these sections.

Brezsny seems to have a fixation on sexual metaphors and stories too. I'm no prude, but some of this stuff was not sexy or lovingly inspiring or gender empowering - but borderline bizzare soft porn. Relating some of his "potty mouth" terms and descriptive sexual accounts to tantric and Taoist texts was just kind of creepy to me.

Some of this stuff is just plain goofy, although I will give him credit for creativity. This is definitely unlike any other book I have read. There were a couple of chapters that really spoke to his book title and I liked them a lot, but the rest of the book is such rubbish it's hard to sink into the inspiration of those few bright moments in the book.

The other thing I really did not like about this book was it was huge, and way too long. Gigantic books like this are hard to read - I didn't realize it was so big when I ordered it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse