Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Propel: Five Ways to Amp-Up Your Marketing and Accelerate Business
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Benjamin Leftwich Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
51
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 9, 2012
Social media is at the top of the obsession list right now. Many companies think social media is the absolute best way to reach people. It isn't, according to Whitney Keyes in this book. Social media tools are just some pieces of the ever-changing marketing puzzle, and effective marketing is not about the tools you use as much as it is about effectively connecting with clients.

A complete approach to marketing requires five elements, which the author lists as Strategy, Story, Strength, Simplicity and Speed. The Strategy element includes setting vision, mission, values, goals and objectives, and conducting a SWOT analysis. The Story element is about creating your brand package, finding customer segments and target markets, and customer relationship management. The Strength element is about managing the relationship cycle to retain current customers and obtain referrals, partnering with others in marketing efforts, and using the media. The Simplicity element includes creating an action plan and taking advantage of your existing opportunities. The Speed element is about monitoring results and making quick adjustments to gain optimal results.

Some years ago, marketing was mainly about convincing people to buy pre-defined goods or services and it involved the four Ps of price, product, promotion and place. Now, marketing as described in this book seems to be an integral part of designing the business itself, encompassing the business's strategic planning. The chapter on forming partnerships with others - including business rivals - contained some particularly interesting ideas.

Although the author has a background working with very large organisations, the book will be particularly useful for those who have limited marketing experience and are starting up businesses or running small or medium-sized businesses or non-profit organisations.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2012
Too many marketing books out there are either so abstract, they don't apply to the real world, so rah-rah that they don't offer practical action steps or so specific that they become outdated in a matter of months. Propel really dives into the strategy of marketing so business owners can make smarter moves without getting caught up in all the latest hype. Today's businesses could drive themselves crazy with all the new marketing channels available - and it really comes down to the fundamental, simple basics of properly targeting your customers, creating a compelling story and promoting the benefits of your product or service. Keyes really shows the value of keeping things simple yet effective. What I love about this book is that it shows you how to effectively build the foundation and strategy before blindly investing in marketing trends. Great case studies and fabulous examples sparked tons of ideas for my own business, as well as for my clients. A highly recommended read!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2012
PROPEL is the one business marketing book everyone must read! It provides in depth analysis of marketing, scholarly research and endless real life examples of marketing techniques for every kind of business from American Express to dog walking. There is something to be learned no matter how inexperienced or experienced you are. Even the smallest business owner can learn something from giant corporation marketing, just as the conglormeates can learn from small entrepreneurs. With all the information provided, Whitney still manages to organize and present information in an easy to access, understandable and useful format. Want to know how to market? Improve your marketing? Understand what marketing is all about in the 21st Century? This is the book for you!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
I am currently working with a company on re-branding and this book was an excellent first read. Just by reading the first chapter we had a checklist a mile long to get started on. Each chapter is full of expert branding information and the application of that information is broken down for you at the end of each chapter. If you are looking to be the number one business in your field, I recommend this book to get you started in the right direction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Using real-life, real-people examples from major corporations to a mom-and-daughter chocolate shop to an online magazine to a neighborhood restaurant, Propel is full of ideas on how to upgrade your marketing strategy and attract new business. Author Whitney Keyes shares principles and practices for building your brand, finding your market, forming powerful partnerships, and amplifying your message through the media and influencers. This book is helpful whether you're a new entrepreneur or have an established business that you'd like to take to the next level. It's accessible, practical, and to the point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2016
Great book for someone who is starting a business or has a business in need of additional revenues, which is just about everyone! Whitney writes in a very accessible way. Picked up the book and read it straight through. I also like the fact that she written the book in what she refers to as modules. You can start with Chapter 1, as I did, or jump right to Chapter 3. Your choice!

I especially liked the Marketing Mindset that is at the end of each chapter. Great reminder of how to put Whitney's suggestions into action.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2016
I'm working on developing a marketing plan and reviewed many books before I bought Propel—so glad I did. Instead of being overwhelmed by a million to-do’s, this book took me step-by-step through how to create and follow a marketing plan. The author’s easy to follow style made me feel like I could actually do it, instead of overwhelming me and making me want to give up (like some other marketing books I have read.) I recommend this book to anyone who wants to grasp the key concepts of marketing and actually apply them--I will refer back to it often. Easy read and great information!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2013
As a certified finance geek, marketing is absolutely NOT one of my fortes. It scared me, confused me and, as such, I ignored it. After meeting Whitney at a small business seminar and chatting with her briefly, I read "Propel". It literally transformed my way of thinking. Whitney's five key principles and wide variety of examples not only helped me get a better handle on what is (and is not) important about marketing, but also cleverly asked me to think afresh and identify what is truly special and unique about my firm. Whether you are building bridges, providing services, simply helping the community or passionate about furthering a global cause, you need to read "Propel". Not only will it launch your marketing savvy to heights you have not seen before, but it can, if you let it, ignite (or reignite) the passion for your business or making a sustainable difference in the world we all share. P.S. 'Tis the Season - "Propel" makes a marvelous gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2013
Had the pleasure of hearing author Whitney Keyes speak the Seattle Local Business Summit. It's a 4 1/2 hour long seminar event addressing marketing, social media and similar issues. Ms. Keyes presentation was clever and loaded with valuable information. Her 5 Keys to Marketing being the primary element in her teaching. Of course being so impressed of course I got her book. My early reading of it leaves me excited for what's to come. [...]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2016
Propel covers everything you need to build a solid marketing foundation for your business. Keyes clearly has years of wisdom and insights that shine through brilliantly in her simple explanations and step-by-step guidance. If you only take one thing from it, the advice on niching your target market is priceless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here